Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carver Middle School 1

Posted April 05, 2014
- a community member
I went to this for one year, one year only. I hated it so much that I wanted to write a book to vent about it. If I could I would rate this school a zero. You know why? Not many will hear this in a review, but the school had the streaming of obscenity that teachers seemed not to notice. As you will see in other reviews it talk about cherry picking - picking high grade students- what they don't tell you is they don't pick their students very well. For teachers and all people that don't know about carver and people in carver, the kids at carver and teachers cussed, talked about porn, teachers not being aware, distractions like crazy; students distracting me and other students in class, bully a lot, discrimination; students using racial slurs, teachers that don't really like their job; which I would prefer them to for other students that are still there, it put me under tremendous stress; the students would call me buck head and nerd,and etc... I can't say anymore , there is much more, than that because I'm running, but I'm running out of characters. All I have to say is don't go to this school if you want to be bullied and desensitized to violence a crude stuff.

Carver Middle School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
George Washington Carver Middle School is a great school to attend. The learning skills of these students is unbelievable. Carver does have "groups" but it's not like a bullying group or anything just like a group of friends to hang with. Carver is a great school for your children to attend. Also I do not believe that there is any bullying going on that the teachers don't know about. There are constantly teachers and staff members in the hall. Students will love Carver and I'm sure you would too! Come visit our website www.carver.tulsaschools.org!

Carver Middle School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a community member
I am an eighth grader at carver middle school and I have really enjoyed my last three years here. This school is not for everyone, but for many kids I think it is a great fit. I have had teachers all three years that really try to get kids to be interested in the subject. They offer a wide variety of challenging classes. I think this school is a really great match for the right personality.

Carver Middle School 2

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
I am very disappointed with this school. My son has been enduring repeated episodes of bullying and others taking his things and the teachers so far have done nothing but give him 75 pushups to do in gym for missing his uniform because it was taken that same day. The teacher was told this before giving the pushups. Other similar incidents have occurred with my son and other kids as well. Some kids swear and talk obscenely. Some have been heard soliciting inappropriate behaviors from others in the hallway. Academics are OK, but not much better than other schools. My other son goes to a public school in the area and is in advanced classes and has way less trouble with bullying or other problems.

Carver Middle School 5

Posted August 08, 2012
- a community member
Well I am a 7th grader going to carver middle school.I have been to al l the summer events so far and i think the school is strict which is a good thing and the teachers tell it how it is. This school is a very succesful school and i am really happy to be going there.

Carver Middle School 3

Posted September 19, 2011
- a parent
Carver is a good school so far as academics but some of the teachers and staff are not held accountable for the way they talk to the children. As a parent I feel like certain children were able to get away with some things while others were not. Academically I recommend carver but some of the teachers and staff need to be checked. One of the janitors was allowed to take things from the children.

Carver Middle School 2

Posted April 08, 2010
- a student
I am a sixth grader at carver and let me tell you, some of the boys there need to learn a thing or two about manners. Risque is not an appropriate word for these boys. The teachers just watch! Even though I love the acedemics and that it's bully free, these teachers need an attitude adjustment!!!

Carver Middle School 1

Posted February 28, 2010
- a student
I'm an 8th grader and carver is ok but teachers have bad attitudes and students are bully-ish.Janitors and teacher staff also take your things if you buy from the vending machines or if they see your cell phone.Teachers pick on the 'good kids' and barely say anything to the 'bad ones' also they have students there that have repeated grades and have football players playing with grades below a c average. And no I do not reccommend carver at all...and by the way they let every single athletic student into Booker T. Washington and some of them had 2.0 gpa when your supposed to have at least a 2.5 gpa to get into Booker T. Most of the students with good grades did not get into BTW. BTW is not as good as there were if they let students in that do not have the academic standards.

Carver Middle School 4

Posted November 25, 2009
- a student
I think Carver is a pretty good school. I'm currently an 8th grader there. But I feel like they don't give you the chance to express your individuality. If you try to wear out of uniform socks, jeans that aren't blue (on the few jeans days that we have), or things such as arm warmers you are forced to take them off. But the teachers actually care about your grades. They aren't just there to baby sit you. But there are teachers that I think should be fired because of their terrible attitudes.

Carver Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a student
this is my second year at carver and being here has been really great so far though they are way too uptight on uniforms but oh well but yeah the teachers are rreally good way and they have a great way of teaching and were probly a great group of kids cause its not like we have fights every day but they seperate the grades way too much its a good school though.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carver Middle School
624 East Oklahoma Place, Tulsa, OK  74106
(918) 925-1420
Last modified Carver Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carver Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top