Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Central High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2010

I am a class of 1969 graduate and believe that East Central deserves to win. My son is a 2001 graduate of ECHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

My second kid just started attending EC, They got a new and stricter principal. Dont get me wrong, I loved O'Malley, but he didn't enforce the rules. They have a great new rule list and things are changing for the better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

The school is pretty much as easy as it gets when it comes to grades. I make straight A's pretty much through the year, pretty much by just doing the work. I sort of wish it was more of callenge to me, because I tend to slack off this year due to it being EASY to pass. The students are alright, some get a little annoying and the fights are pretty dumb, but over all i suppose its alright. The teachers I believe are push overs. I dont think they have adequate privileges they should have to punish students, save for a few I've had over the years, one of whom left last year :'(. Honestly, the same kids over and over, bring back the paddle? It won't bother me. Why? Because I don't do anything stupid. I give this school an average, but barely that. O'Malley is a great principal
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

The principal at East Central obviously doesn't know how to control his students. This school is horrible
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

East Central is one of the best schools! I love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

The School has imroved much in the last several years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

I been associated with EC since 1997 and back then the school was a little rough but still had an open door policy(if a student,parent needed to talk they we're there for you)I served on the PTA board for several years and , I tell you being on the board and being involved with my youngest sons schooling at EC. Sure made a difference. to me Mr. Omally has done a 200 % change for the positive with the school. the secretaries,teachers and administration I give all a AA++. They deserve so much (Go cards gooooo )
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

Overall E.C. is a Good School. My daughter is a current student and in the band. I for one am pleased with the Band/Sport/Extracurricular Activities they represent the school with pride. I think the Big Red Sound is a Fine Marching Band & Gives a Fine Concert every time they appear. Sure parents need to be more involved in their children's education/school, but that is everywhere. As for the teachers, a few bad apples don't spoil the whole batch. Most of my daughters teachers are doing a good job. Every time I have been in the school everything seemed fine. O'Malley is a fine principle he cares about the kids. This last year the Football Team/School Band/Girls Basketball Team/All Sports represented the school & their community with pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

I really love EC. I see parents complaining about it on here like crazy. Let me ask you this: What have YOU, PERSONALLY, done to change it? Have you talked to teachers? the principal? I didn't think so. Complaining on a website is not going to get anything changed, if you really want to make a difference: get involved. Most of the parents out there are in no way involved in their children's education, and yet they come here and complain. I am going to graduate class of 2009, and EC has been one of the best experiences of my life. If your child complains about the teachers not helping them, then maybe you should talk to the teachers about your child not participating in class. Don't always blame the teachers, the students are just as much at fault, probably more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2007

East Central High School has been a great experience for me and my brothers.Even though the building needs some redecorating, overall its a great school.The athletic programs at this school are great.Im proud to be an east central cardinal!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 12, 2007

I'm currently attending East Central High School and the school is great they have a great staff and they deserve some credit. The sport programs at the school are awesome. I'm proud to be an east central cardinal!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2006

I have been going to EC since 97 when my oldest was there then I had my youngest son graduate from there. Mr. O'malley would give you every opportunity to help the student or parent to make the right choices. We as parents expect so much out of our kids. As far as I am concerned they all need a pat on the back! They are the one's that have to correct our children when parents give up at home because they are out of control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

I currently have 2 students at EC and one that was in the class of 2003. For me, EC is great. The post talk about the administration lacking, Mr. O'Malley won one of five top administrators in the country by MetLife. My child, who was in the class of 2003, played sports, was in student council and many other activities. He is currently starting his senior year of college, and is planning on getting his MBA. I have watched the scholarship money continue to come in. An EC grad last year received a full ride to Harvard. You want a quality education, reach out & grab it. I know to many kids, if they had been at another school would not have excelled like they did at EC. The building is aging, but TPS needs to correct that. The sports complex is one of the best in the area. Go Cards!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

In short, East Central was a terrible experience for my student academically and socially. Save for the presence of a handful of outstanding teachers (no idea why they're working in such a slum), the school utterly lacks in guidance, discipline, pride, sanitation, safety, and academic quality. *Coaches doubling as teachers spend more time concerned with sports than actually teaching the subject at hand. One teacher had taught so little, for the final she sat the students around her and told them what answers to bubble in on their final. Not good education. *Distructive/disruptive students are not dealt with; I know kids will be kids, but for every surface of the school to be marked up with permanent marker is ridiculous; the defacing takes place during regular class time, when the students are allowed to practically riot instead of being instructed. The cycle has gone on so long, the teachers just don't have control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

I think East Central is a pretty good school. Some would say the teachers are bad and don't care but I think it's both teachers and students. The overall attitude of the school is I don't care and I don't want to be here. So they constantly disrespect the teachers and it can wear them down. Some of the teachers there are below average but many of the teachers I have this year are wonderful. They give me many opportunities to receive help or understand. Other then that I believe is a pretty good school. Sports at E.C. are wonderful. I played footbal this year and I am not playing soccer. I have enjoyed playing for E.C. We've won 2 state championships in one year. The students are decently easy to get along with. Security is nice and tight. Overall I think East Central is an above average school. -Zach
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2006

The courses that are offered are great,the art and extracurricular programs are great, they need improvement on their music programs and the parents are hardly involved
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 9, 2005

I have been at EC for 3 years.I am now a Junior. Personally I do not like the teachers at the school. In most of the classes that I have been in the teachers have not taught me anything. With the acception of my math and family and consumer science teacher. Most of the teachers give you the work and it is up to you to learn it yourself. Kids are not going to learn that way. I am desperatly wanting to transfer out, so maybe somewhere else I can get an education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2005

I personally, think east central is one of the best high schools i've ever gone to. The school has a great staff and they have great football players and sports to play.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2005

East Central Is a great school, and it is very educational. The teachers are informative and well educated, the building itself is also very well layed-out. I'm proud to be an East Central Cardinal! =)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2005

I was only able to stay at East Central for one semester, but that was long enough to see that students arent happy. Security needs improved, then it would be a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
33%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
24%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
47%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
59%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 14%
Black 22% 9%
White 18% 59%
Native American 8% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 195%N/A61%
Special education 216%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12150 East 11th St
Tulsa, OK 74128
Phone: (918) 746-9700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT