Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thomas Edison Preparatory High School 1

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
worst school in tulsa ok, two many little clicks, two many problems, kids wonder the halls like they were at a social function. you go in ask quesiton and you can not even get an answere.. sometime you talk to the staff and they have no idea how to ansere your questions. they have a magnet progeam which simply devides the average with the so called smart. creates and atmosphere of class distinciton. my kids will not be back in edison next year...

Thomas Edison Preparatory High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
I recently overhead a lecture from the athletic director emphasizing the importance of honestly and looking out for each other.

Thomas Edison Preparatory High School 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
I have been extremely impressed with the educational options as well as the sense of community and the overall kindness of my son's fellow students. I also like how much the athletic coaches emphasize student first then athlete.

Thomas Edison Preparatory High School 3

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
Having moved from Ann Arbor, MI to Tulsa, OK several years ago, I have to admit that the public school system here is pretty abysmal. The general population in Tulsa is sorely lacking on the educational front. Fine Parenting is a rarity. Too often, parents rely soley on the public school system to teach their children the differences between right and wrong, left from right, and the most basic of social ediquette. Edison Prep. is an average American High School. It does it's job, but nothing more. I won't boast about how fantastic it is, but I will tell you this...our student is happy there. No longer bullied or picked on, he is making friends and working hard. We have rescued our teen from a bad situation. He has been out of school for almost 2 yrs. Getting him caught up this summer was a challenge, and it is a blessing in disguise that they have lowered expectations. He is doing surprisingly well, and I will be exceedingly proud to see him graduate from this school. I only hope, that when my own daughter is old enough to attend High School, that they raise the bar a little. I want her to be challenged; I want her to grow. Sincereley, A person who loves children

Thomas Edison Preparatory High School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
As a prior montor and acting coach in the athletics department. I had some of the best years of my life working with MS and HS students in my son and daughters classes.The mindset and commitment to Edison and it's extracurricular activities are commendable.The parents are also the true force behind these events getting off the ground.The support systems are amazing and the time dedicated to the activities are ongoing.You need only ask,and these parents will deliver.This support is felt also in the students.A win win for the parents,students,and school.

Thomas Edison Preparatory High School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a community member
Post on February 29, 2008- I am glad that you enjoy tearing down Edison, but upon reading your grammar I don't think you have any room to talk! To large? If your in TPS? I went to Edison and graduate college next week! I am making good greats and don't feel disadvantaged to my friends who went to Union, Jenks, BA, or Owasso!

Thomas Edison Preparatory High School
no rating

Posted November 20, 2009
- a parent
this school is amazing.since my daughter has went there her grades have been inproving (:

Thomas Edison Preparatory High School 3

Posted March 10, 2008
- a community member
decent school, but you're better off sending your kids to booker t. my son had a much better experience there than my daughter did at edison, and he got a significantly better education. edison has some bright students but the students overall attitude about learning seems to be quite poor.

Thomas Edison Preparatory High School 2

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
Tulsa public schools are a bad place to put any child trying to get an education. The system is to large and your child becomes lost in the beauracratic shuffle. Every bad thing you can think of, from these educaters, happens at TPS. If you are moving to Tulsa to work or live, dont take a chance, move into an outlying district. Do your child a favor if your inTPS and move get out before something bad happens. I regret very few things in my life. I regret sending my kids to TPS. I am 50 and have two children.

Thomas Edison Preparatory High School 5

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
edison is so structured in the academic dept..mr mayfield is the best. the athletics (basketball)is awesome.coach neil is awesome..edison middle and high does not tolerate anything that brings down confidence..u can talk about any thing with mr. mayfield..positive or negative..hes open ..edison has the most school spirit ..in tulsa..hands down..proven..come see.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Edison Preparatory High School
2906 East 41st Street, Tulsa, OK  74105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (918) 746-8500
Last modified Thomas Edison Preparatory High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top