Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lewis And Clark Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 616 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2011

my kid did bad here he was on honor roll before transferring here they dont care about the kids. do not send your kid here at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Lewis and Clark overall is a decent school. I had problems with the adminstrator's and some teachers. I would recommend this school compared to other schools in the Tulsa Public School system. As a parent it is crucial to stay involved concerning the welfare and education of your chil(ren). They need us most when the hit middle and high school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

If you are trying to figure out what school to take your kid to, don't pick this school.. Last year i was in 6th grade and i will never go to this school again. This school is horrible and every kid is bad. I made streight As my whole life and this year only cs and ds. Nomatter how i dressed or looked i could never consintrate on my school work because the kids were sooo mean. And the teachers... Oh my gosh, don't even care about us.. And some too much... A parent might tell you this school is good but only because there kids havn't told them the truth.. If you want to know the facts.. You should hear them from an actual student..(Like me).. Do not even consider this school... You will regret it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2008

My sister goes to lewis and clark and she likes it so much I am actually exited to go. She says that she loves all her teachers and she likes the facillity. Overall she likes the parents,students,and staff. I am exited and reccomend it to anyone. Hope to see you next year.


Posted September 27, 2007

I want to thank special ed teachers for teaching my daughter she is doing very well my daughter has only been there for 1 week . The teachers are very good they take care of action when needed to be taken I like the after school programs for tutoring for kids that really need it . They get the right level for the kids where at on there school work . I think this school is very great for children when a child be bullying other kids the teachers and principal and teachers takes care of of it right away. They want the children feel safe and comfortable there at the school . I like the teachers their. If the teachers have a concern they will call me right away I appreciate Lewis and Clark .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

The teachers are great and extracurricular activities abound. Safety and discipline are just okay though. There's no order when school lets out, so the kids are extremely unruly! The kids definitely lack manners. Also, I have lunch with my child on occasion, and the tables in the cafeteria are always covered with food crumbs, spilled beverages, and other debris. I think it's terrible that the principal and counselors turn a blind eye to this problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2007

The faculty at L C is outstanding my potion at LC is custodian the teachers are committed to the student body way to go faculty
—Submitted by a staff


Posted October 19, 2004

We are most impressed with the Special Ed teachers at this school. Our daughter is an 8th grader on a transfer to L&C and has the greatest teachers: Ms. Davenport, Ms. Walker, Ms. Riggs, Ms. Smith, Ms. Dodson & Ms. Sparks, you gals are wonderful! The Paras are fantastic too! Our daughter has had 3 great years at L&C because of all of you and we will deeply miss you all next year. You are more than teachers, you're friends with a great love and compassion for our special kids. Thanks for everything! P.S. Ms. Webb in the office is always so pleasant on the phone too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

the faulity and staff was outstanding I want to say a special thankyou to all the special ed teachers. one that sticks in my mind and will mean alot to me. that is ms davenport thank you mrs bunell mr holdeman and counilors for the excellent job you have done with my daughter if you should forget her name her name is brittnee dawn chailer /elam. the ball is motion to get her trainig after high school if there is anything you need please let me know thank you these last 3 years were fun but also challanging.once again thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 13%
White 16% 58%
Black 11% 10%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 17%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Native American N/A 17%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Special education 20%N/A15%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

737 South Garnett
Tulsa, OK 74128
Phone: (918) 746-9540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT