Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Tulsa, OK
Students enrolled: 555
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Daniel Webster High School 5

Posted July 19, 2010
- a parent
As a DWHS alum I am very excited to see my oldest child starting his freshman year at Webster. The new programs they have are amazing and I can honestly say my son is actually excited about starting school this year!

Daniel Webster High School
no rating

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
Webster is now a magnet school. They have the best technology I've seen in any high school in Tulsa.

Daniel Webster High School
no rating

Posted June 01, 2009
- a student
Webster is a great school and gives a great eduacation and reflection towards the students. Im a proud graduate of 2009.

Daniel Webster High School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a student
As a former student (graduate of 2007) I enjoyed the experience I gained from attending Webster High School. Many people that perpetuate the negative stereotype have never even set foot on campus. As far as Tulsa Public Schools go, Webster in certainly the worst. It is located in a low-income area but a school should not be rated by the socio-economic level of its students. Activities are certainly not non-existent considering that I took part in Band, Academic Team, and Drama. The campus is gorgeous and well-maintained. As a college freshman, I feel that I was completely prepared to pursue a degree thanks to the teachers and faculty at Daniel Webster High School.

Daniel Webster High School 1

Posted June 03, 2006
- a parent
Best kept secret, best worst secret... Not friendly, teachers are biased...

Daniel Webster High School 5

Posted August 26, 2005
- a parent
Webster High is one Tulsa's best kept secrets of schools. As a parent of a recent grad. I found the students can be as invovled as much as they wish to be in extra activites. I have been involved with the West side schools since the start of her kindergarten & find that parnets are very welcome in Webster or any school (TPS) on this side of river. Did you know taht stucents who pursue some courses at Webster can enter the college level with many hours of classes acheived on campus at Webster. Where else is this possible in high school. We are also proud to say we have 2 young ladies to recieve the Gates Scholarship this year --- more that any other school in area can say. Come over the river & check us out--- We would love to have you visit. Best is in the West.

Daniel Webster High School 5

Posted August 26, 2005
- a parent
my daughter goes to Webster and loves it! She hasn't had any problems with the teachers, students, or faculty. They all seem to be very helpful. The school gets a bad rep. from one or two people, but what people don't look at is there are several outstanding students there! People need to realize that! The new principal is outstanding and has made Webster a much better place. He trult strives to make WHS the best.

Daniel Webster High School 2

Posted August 04, 2005
- a student
This is a small school in a larger metro area and it has been forgotten and bad students from other schools have been shoved in. The school is old with alot of add ons. Activities are almost non-existent. The teachers are o.k., but beat down by the odds against them. I guess in the past it was a pretty good school, but I think it has outlived it's purpose. The people who live nearby are in need of social services.

Daniel Webster High School 4

Posted August 01, 2005
- a student
As a former student (1985 graduate), and as a parent of a Webster student, I can honestly say that Daniel Webster is one of the better high schools in Tulsa. Although we are in a low income district and standardized test scores are not the best, Webster is a very 'community oriented' school. The children who want to learn can, and do so very well. Many scholarships are awared to Webster graduates for academics, etc. The teachers know their students, the parents and teachers know each other and communicate effectively. With a graduating class of between 500 and 600, Webster can give a personal education experience for those who truly want to learn.

Daniel Webster High School 3

Posted June 23, 2005
- a student
webster high school is not as bad as its reputation. yes, it is a lower income school, and it does have relatively low test scores. one must ,however, consider that these are not the only factors that make a school successful. there is a community feeling at webster that is unheard of in the larger schools. the teachers know their students and truly care about their success. webster is not just a name and a number school, it is a community were every one is given the opportunity to succeed. it is not the school's fault that some of the students chose not to pursue these opportunities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Daniel Webster High School
1919 West 40th Street, Tulsa, OK  74107
(918) 746-8000
Last modified Daniel Webster High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Daniel Webster High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top