Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kendall-Whittier Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 1037 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, July 28, 2014

My nephew attends this school who also has a disability, and from what I know most parents should be concerned if they child has a disability, this is for the education and our future, what I do like is that my nephew still attends Kendall Whittier elementary so far, they could focus more on disability's to improve, thank you to whom it may concern. Rate this school


Posted February 15, 2011

I am an education professor (preparing young teachers) and a neighbor of the school. This is an outstanding school. The teachers, staff, and principal are committed, well-trained, hard-working, and creative. Parent involvement is growing as the principal and teachers reach out to a whole community, its kids and its families in all sorts of ways. The school is a vital community center. The academic programs are challenging and move kids along well in their academic career. If I had kids, they would go to Kendall-Whittier School.


Posted May 25, 2010

My son has been attending Kendall-Whittier Elementary for the past two years and I have been very impressed with the quality along with the diversity of this school! They are always having fun events for the entire neighborhood community and families that are great ways of letting people get together and make a difference in our child's life!! We will me moving soon and most likely changing schools but I will always remember this school when he gets older and tell everyone I know its one of the best schools for this area!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

This is a great school! my son is now a fifth grader. And because of the great staff and support to us as a family he will be attending an academic middle school this fall. I am also looking forward to sending our four year old to pre k there later this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

My son has been at Kendall-Whittier since Kindergarten, and all of his teachers have been wonderful. The school offers so much to the students, families, and community. I love the year round schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2007

I have been teaching for over 25 years and have taught in 5 other schools. None of these schools can even begin to live up to the quality of Kendall-Whittier. The staff at this school is dedicated to doing whatever it takes to give the students a quality education. Teachers strive to learn all they can and work hard to grow professionally. We have more National Board Certified teachers that any school in the state of Oklahoma! I feel honored to be part of this staff and to get to work with these children and their families.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 21, 2007

My daughter just finished Kindergarten here, and her teacher was great! Very hard-working. I liked the fact that many of the students were bilingual because my non-bilingual daughter got a great opportunity to hear another language and learn some vocabulary. I do not like the year-round or 'continuous learning' schedule, however, because I am a professor and would have preferred a similar schedule to mine. But that was just a personal thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

I like the year round school it has been great for my daughter who is now in the 5th grade...The intercessions are really helpful. This school is absolutely one of the best in Tulsa. The parent teacher conferences are the best and I love the fact that so many parents attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

This school provides the best year round schedule for their students. Durring their breaks they offer a very unique experience called intersession. Here they receive an non triditional learning experience. The school is bi-lingual and provides a great community servece teaching the hispanic parents english. They have put on a 4th of july parade. The student decorate bikes and win prizes. Overall this school takes that one step further and works with the whole family and not just the students. I wish there were more schools like this in tulsa. There are only a few year round schools and this one is the best.They are basicly self supported and in a class of their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 63% 13%
White 17% 54%
Black 10% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 17%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2601 East 5th Place
Tulsa, OK 74104
Website: Click here
Phone: (918) 833-9900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT