Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thoreau Demonstration Academy

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

This school was the best thing that ever happened to my son at that age. The staff in this school, from the janitors to the high admin staff was so kind and helpful to my son, who has special needs. I am so very glad that my son had the opportunity to learn and grow. The school nurse was a wonderful advocate for my son. I am forever grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

Thoreau provides a very hands on learning enviornment. The students work in groups and are assigned many projects, not just reports and worksheets. My daughter is a 6th grader there and has excelled beyond my expectations. They have so many things to offer, it's hard to decide! The staff is caring and the discipline is handled effectively and swiftly. I cringe to think of my daughter having to go to another middle school in the Tulsa Public School system. Thoreau is the choice for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I have two children at Thoreau. One with a learning disablity and one who excells in everything. At our previous school they treated my LD child differently not in a good way causing him to feel stupid in his words, at Thoreau he has been just as successful as my other child who never has any education problems. Thoreau has been such a great experience both of my children feel successful and intellegent. My son made the honor roll for the first time in his life his first semester at Thoreau and has continued to know he to is very smart. Thanks to the staff at Thoreau for all you do for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

Their is no better school than thoreau the kids and staff are all nice and willing to help anyone. My son likes so much better than cascia hall!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

thoreau is a great school. thoreau help me alot to get readly for life. Micro is away for student to get readly for life. we work, pay taxes, just like life it self. I'm taking a high school class with the teacher of the year. when i was in 6th grade i though that it would be a scary class, but my tacher made it to be a fun way to learn algbera. the teacher here and readly nice. they help me before and after school. the teacher have a fun way of teach us. thoreau is a great in sports. here we have football, basketball, soccer, volleyball, golf, tenis, and clubs. thoreau made life not that scary no more. if you want your kid to be readly for life they should go to thoreau
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

At Thoreau your teachers are not only your teachers but they are also your friends. After you have attended Thoreau you take school and life more seriously and have more fun doing it. Instead of having pages and pages of homework you have inquiries (projects) that you actually learn even more about the subject while doing them. Overall its the best school I've attended.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2007

It's a wonderful, delightiful school. My daughter attends there and thinks its delightful and wonderful. And yes it is the best school in Tulsa! It really is a great school and you should apply your child for it, if you think they are up for a challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

Thoreau I think is one of the best schools in Tulsa. If your child needs a little bit of a challenge or needs to improve in their school work this is the school for them. Thoreay has greast programs like micro society is one of them. The teachers are great they really do care about how your child is doing in their school work. I really do recommend your child going to Thoreau it will be the best 3 years of their lives guranteed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

This school is an incredible school. I came in a timid 6th grader not knowing anybody, and now with help of teachers and staff I feel like I'm a part of a greater family within the Tulsa community. I would reccomend this school to any student. Parents this school would be great for your kids. Mr.Padalino is a wonderful principal, who really cares about each individual student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2005

This is a wonderful school. All of the students are well educated and very kind. I took a tour and was very lost when a student who helped in the office helped me out she was very helpful and extremly kind. The school not only teaches its students about the normal core subjects but about life. Any student that attends thoreau demostration academy will leave an educated and chararistical a better person. I would also like to recomend the wonderful Drama classes lead by Mr. Leyva, if your child gets in make sure they take his class.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2004

It is one of the best schools in tulsa. Especially the micro society program. In this program the students develope skills on how to work in real businesses. They type up resumes and we get to use real food handler's permit! this is the best school I have ever gone to. If you would consider this your child's education will be greatly improved!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

I decided to try to get my daughter into Thoreau after taking a school tour and noting the complete poise of students selected at random to answer questions from the principal and our group. After two years there, my daughter and I are delighted with the innovative techniques and the overall learning environment. Any student whose parents stay highly involved in their education will thrive in this unique school. Check out the expanded day programs and the microsociety opportunities for great examples of innovative learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

159 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
86%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

143 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 54%
Black 19% 10%
Hispanic 15% 13%
Two or more races 12% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7370 East 71st St
Tulsa, OK 74133
Phone: (918) 833-9700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Holland Hall
Tulsa, OK




Union 8th Grade Center
Broken Arrow, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT