Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Union High School

Public | 11-12 | 3300 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2004

I am originally from Jenks High School, but I transferred to Union for a short time (not by choice). I think that the atmosphere is too tense, and the a lot of the people at the high school were really full of themselves. I found myself wishing to be back at Jenks High School. Union is strong in athletics, but for the time that I was there, that was all. I do not see how anyone could get comfortable at that school, and in my opinion, how can anyone be expected to do well in an uncomfortable position while in school. I felt that the people there were very closed up, and did not really feel the need to welcome any newcomers. At Jenks I felt challenged in my school work, but not overwhelmed. I was happy, and not everything was so tense! That is why I say go to Jenks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2004

I'm not a parent, but I'm a junoir at Union HS and I believe I'm getting the best education available in the state of Oklahoma. I attended Jenks for a semester and found myself longing for Union's more rounded teaching methods. The level of caring from the teachers is overwelming and I love it here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2004

My son, a jr., participates in marching band, AP classes and foreign language. He has the opportunity to participate nationally in music with top caliber directors. His AP instructors have made sure that he has developed the skills to pass the AP exams. There is something for everyone to become involved in if they choose. Ethnic and cultural diversity compliment the academic excellence emphasized at Union. It seems that most of the students are there to become skilled learners, not just there to grab a diploma. I am very pleased that we are a part of the Union family. Although we pay higher taxes than most other school districts, I find that I would most willingly pay even more to help fund the programs offered by the school. My son is becoming a truly well-rounded individual because of the opportunities offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2003

Both my children graduated with a high quality education. Diversity tolerance is a big plus, along with athletic excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We consider ourselves very fortunate to be part of Union Public Schools. My son is a graduate of Union, and my daughter is a Junior. The school not only provides the best in education, but the emphasis they place on character development and traditional values is superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

For a public school, it offers varied opportunities for all students to be involved and find their niche. It provides excellent blend of academics and extracurricular. The superintendent is awesome and for the student!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Union truly exemplifies excellence. The combination of highly skilled teachers, and the total commitment from the support staff, and administration has led Union to be one of the best public high schools in the nation. Excellence in Academics, Arts, Athletics, Extracurricular activities, Spirit, and the community at Union make Union the first and last place needed to look at when searching for the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2003

Union is an amazing school that promotes school spirit, character, and a quality education. It is the best high school in the nation.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 77% in 2012.

564 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English III

The state average for English III was 92% in 2012.

854 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 87% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2009.

1043 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2009.

1002 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
80%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 77% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 54%
Hispanic 18% 13%
Black 15% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 17%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6636 South Mingo Rd
Tulsa, OK 74133
Website: Click here
Phone: (918) 357-4323

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Holland Hall
Tulsa, OK



Grace Christian School
Broken Arrow, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT