Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Darnaby Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 540 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2014

As a mother moving into the area, my first experience at an Union school (Darnaby) was not very satisfying. The lady who work in the front office is very rude, but I noticed it's only to certain parents. If you are not a part of their social clique , you aren't really welcomed to participate in the PTA...which I personally think is a joke because it's only about money. I cannot tell you one thing the PTA has done with the money they constantly ask for. The children are always wrong, so regardless of what the problem may be there is no need for the children to tell the adults. I think most if them are just there for a check, and some people take pride in the school but they aren't the ones that some of the staff are rude to. My daughter loves her teacher, but that is the only good thing I can share abexperiencemy experience.I hate that a few bad apples has ruined my experience with the school, but as a result I am moving my children out of the area so they don't have to go back to Darnaby.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

Darnaby Elementary is absolutely wonderful. The teachers and staff are very hands on and encouraging. The Parent involvement at the school is amazing. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

This school has been wonderful for my two children. They are getting the best education from many wonderful teachers. The parent involvement is amazing! In my first year as a parent I was included in so many activities I stayed busy the whole year! I could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

My son is in kindergarten and last year in pre-k. He is very bashful for a kid and never moves along with others thanks to the efforts of the teacher he is now so much social and his english vocabulary is so awesome . We talk indian lang at home and he is very adept in his english and math skills of the first grader back in india is not a match to his . I really appreciate all the efforts the kindergarten teacher has taken and the overall academic excellence of darnaby
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

Our son attended all of Pre-K and 2 months of Kinder until we had to move out of state for a job move. Our experience at Darnaby has been nothing but the best! Teachers are wonderful, competant and very involved with the kids; academics are top rate; parents are very active in school, in the PTA, and become close to other parents; Mr. Carson is a great principal and stands out front almost every morning greeting the students; the sports programs are excellent, even for Pre-K; the extended day program (EDP) and EDP staff are wonderful! We are so sad to have to leave Darnaby and hope we find another like it at our new city. But even so, we believe we and our son have made best friends for life through Darnaby. What more can we say?! We highly recommend Darnaby!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

Before going to Darnaby our son attended a private school that cost approximately $10,000 a year. Naturally, we thought that we would be giving up a lot when we transferred our son to Darnaby. We were surprised and happy to find that we gave up nothing and actually received more from Darnaby than the private school. Upon entrance to Darnaby, our son's academics tested as one and a half years behind the norm. Afer one year at Darnaby, he tested out as one year and seven months ahead of the norm! He now participates in sports, ARC, and other extra curricular activities. The parents and other students are awesome. The staff at Darnaby cannot be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

Darnaby is a disappointment. The reason the test scores are high is the treaching to the test. The social cliques among students is incredible, and it is the same ofr the parents. It is all about appeaances at Darnaby and problems are not dealt with properly. It is the parent who screams the most that gets the attention and what they want because they do not want a blemish on their record. I have 3 children at Darnaby. All with different strengths and weaknesses. One just elected to student council office. All in ARC, and bored academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

We are in our 1st year at Darnaby. My daughter is in Pre-K and we could not be more pleased. She is fully enjoying her experience there and all 19 of her new friends are just terrific. The parent teacher communication in terrific. The parent involvement is amazing. Darnaby is really 1st rate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

My son has changed from a homesick, school frustrated kid onto a honors roll in two years. We are gratefull to Darnaby, the staff, counceling and teachers for their unconditional help to Henry. Darnaby has impacted our family lives in a way that no other institution has before and we are extremely gratefull for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

I live a few blocks from the school the neighbors all seem to keep watch on whats going on,the teachers have all been realy sweet, i have not one negative comment to say about the school or the staff my daughter sydnie and i are ver pleased and we are willing to get involved in anything possible.Thanks so much for being #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2004

Darnaby is without question the best elementary in Tulsa - period. This school is highly commited to excellence - teachers, prinicpal, parents all work together to benefit the children. There's extensive parental involvement, a very active PTA, and a real sense of community. My oldest made the transistion to middle school this year and he was well prepared. We're very thankful we discovered this area and this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

Both of my children are currently at Darnaby, one in first and one in fifth. The teachers have been excellent since pre-k and kindergarten. They work with parents to help meet the needs of each child. It is an academically challenging school. My fifth grader just took an entrance exam to a private school, and she had the top score in 3 out of 5 categories, beating out mostly private school children. After Darnaby, your child is well prepared for whatever comes next. The specialty teachers are very hands on and the kids love them. We have loved it here and would highly recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 59%
Hispanic 10% 14%
Black 7% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Native American 4% 16%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A61%
Special education 9%N/A15%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7625 East 87 St South
Tulsa, OK 74133
Phone: (918) 357-4333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holland Hall
Tulsa, OK







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT