Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
372 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Pius X School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Halfway through our fourth year at St. Pius, I know this school was the right choice for our family. We are also excited that next school year, our 3rd and 6th grade daughters will both have brand new, state-of-the-art classrooms in the new Early Childhood/Elementary and Middle School buildings. So in addition to awesome teachers, an inclusive community of faith and rigorous curriculum, St. Pius now has top notch facilities to match. Our kids have experienced great personal growth by participating in programs like Academic Bowl, sports (volleyball & basketball), Middle School service hours (volunteering at our local Food Bank, school events, selling concessions, etc.), Library Club, Student Council and even the new after-school Running Club. I think St. Pius is one of Tulsa's best kept secrets. Glad we found it!

St Pius X School 2

Posted November 20, 2015
- a community member
I am a very unhappy parent at Saint Pius X school in Tulsa, OK. The school does not recognize the Oklahoma laws for a sole custodial parent, and this causes much havoc for me as a single mom with more than one child at the school. It cascades to the children negatively affecting their young lives. The non-custodial parent has the right to see grades, participate in school activities, etc. However, by Oklahoma law the sole custodial parent makes decisions for education, medical, and counseling for the children. Again, at Saint Pius school the custodial parent is not recognized properly according to OK statutes. If you are a single mom with sole custody think twice about putting your child at this school. The principal will turn against you with charming communication from a non-custodial parent in a heartbeat. Also the school refuses to follow visitation orders from the court, and they will allow your child to be removed from the school without confirmation from the custodial parent. It is not a matter of nicer buildings or fund raising, it's a matter of a school not recognizing the rights of the primary/sole custodial parent ... even when you are the one paying tuition.

St Pius X School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
We have been very pleased with St. Pius. This school provides an excellent, affordable Catholic education. Yes, as the previous reviewer noted, the administration and dedicated parent volunteers are working very hard to raise funds to complete our new school. The first phase will be completed by this summer! Rather than complaining about the fundraising efforts, did this previous reviewer volunteer to help? Perhaps this parent doesn't understand that at a private school, the school must raise its own funds for buildings. I am glad that our principal and Father Matt are going to bat for our kids every day to raise the necessary funds for a state-of-the-art school building. I want a principal and pastor who advocate for our children like Mrs. Bell and Father Matt! We are blessed to have our children at St. Pius.

St Pius X School 2

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent at this school. I'm glad the school is getting a new building but we really need a new principal. I'm sure some people will defend her but I have seen/heard about the way that she has treated many parents if they get on her bad side. The priest is a nice guy but responsible in that he does nothing to stop it. The school seems desperate for money and panders to those who are the "big donators".

St Pius X School 5

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
St. Pius X is an excellent school with dedicated and caring teachers and administration who strive to bring out the best in each student. The proof? Smiling faces all over campus; students who respect one another, themselves, and their school; and a community of families that are happy and proud to work together to continue the mission of this wonderful school. If you want well-rounded, self-confident, well-educated children, check out St. Pius X!

St Pius X School 5

Posted May 22, 2009
- a parent
I have two children at St. Pius and one that will begin there in a year. I absolutely love the school and the community that comes with it. My children are very happy as well which is important to me. The leadership at the school is excellent and I've found the principal to be very good at communicating with the parents. I'd highly recommend St. Pius X.

St Pius X School 5

Posted October 09, 2008
- a student
I am a student at St. Pius currently and I think the school is wonderful, but some of the teachers doesn't exactly teach clearly and gives us homework that has nothing to do with what they are teaching us. Anyway I love this school alot and I don't think I want to graduate yet!

St Pius X School 5

Posted March 20, 2008
- a parent
St. Pius is definitely a 'great school' - my children are recieving an exemplary education, but at the same time they're amongst a wonderful group of children that are learning to become contributing members of society. The principal, who has just been with us for a year, has done a wonderful job and has really gotten everyone excited about the future of our school. If you're interested in the school, I would recommend you just check out the website, because it is full of information.

St Pius X School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
I have children in preschool and kindergarten and absolutely love the environment. The teachers are caring and easy to get along with. My son is being challenged in kindergarten which I appreciate. St. Pius has an excellent Academic Bowl team that won the competition in the northeast region. St. Pius X won first among the Catholic Math Counts team in Tulsa. My point is that even the brightest children are challenged at Pius.

St Pius X School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
We have three children at St. Pius X School and we are very happy to have them there. Our children are not only getting a fantastic education, but they experience a safe, caring, disciplined, spiritual-based environment. Our St. Pius X School community is unique because of our new energetic and visionary principal, our intelligent and nurturing teachers, and also our wonderful, involved parents. We feel strongly that this is the best place for our children to go to school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Pius X School
1717 South 75th East Avenue, Tulsa, OK  74112
(918) 627-5367
Last modified St Pius X School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Pius X School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top