Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Kelley High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tulsa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $131,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

My children have been at Bishop Kelley for the last 4 years. We have two graduates and one attending. Our two who are off to college felt very prepared for college. We have been very impressed with BK. It is our first Catholic School experience and we think it has been a great investment in our children's education and spiritual development. Our kids have loved the comfortable environment they are in at BK. As a parent I like big things like the small class size and small things like that hand holding is the only form of public displays of affection allowed. I would like to see more school Mass. Otherwise, my family thinks BK is perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

Bishop Kelley is truly a "life preparatory school." We have been blessed to become a part of this amazing, caring community. Teachers and administration take an interest in the students as people, as individuals. Students are encouraged to become actively invloved in their education and extracurriclar activites. There is a way for everyone, students and paretns, to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

Both our children attended Bishop Kelley and received an excellent education. Just importantly, they learned that success not only comes from personal achievement, but how you give back to our community. I really think Bishop Kelley is about helping kids prepare not only for college, but for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

Fantastic institution that not only prepares students for the academic rigors of college but also for life in the real world. I am forever indebted to Bishop Kelley High School for the wonderful memories, friendships and opportunities it has, and continues to bless me with every single day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2010

Bishop Kelley has someplace for every student to fit in, as freshmen students may not realize this and be quick to want to leave. I have made a home with the school and so has so much of my family, my brother came as a complete outsider with no athletic ability and a positive attitude and had the best four years of his life. There really is not mold to fit in there. You just need to have a positive attitude and look for oppurtunites to get involved, i've learned this the hard way and am sad to leave the school in a week to graduate. I will most certainly be sending my children here
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2009

As a student currently attending the school, I must say that I am very unsatisfied with the school. I am a transfer, (having moved to the Tulsa area 2 months ago) and am basically ignored as I move through the hallways, just because I don't fit the stereotypical mold that most other students fit. My teachers seem nice and helpful... Although not to me specifically. Again, I feel like I am ignored, as the teachers seem to care more about the students they know or athletes that do well on the school's teams. I'm hoping to transfer out of the school asap.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2007

Bishop Kelley is a wonderful school that allows students to be heard. They are people and not numbers. Students and parents are treated with respect.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 23, 2006

As a former BK student, I found they offered plenty of Advance Placement classes and extra curricular opportunities for every interest! A lot of people participate in some sport, but I, along with plenty of others, did not play a sport and did not find that a huge deal either way. This school offers a great education for what ever your intelligence level/learning ability/disability. As the only diocesan high school, it serves the diocese very well. The philosophy of educating the whole person: emotionally, academically, spiritually and physically is successfully carried out.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2006

Bishop Kelley is a nice school for students who are gifted athletes, socially aware, socially adept, and socially connected. Those who do not fit this mold have a hard time finding school-sponsored activities in which they can participate. As the Catholic Diocesan school for the Eastern Oklahoma, this school should put the student before sports, activities, and convenience. In our experience, the student does not have a place in the school's priorities or stated mission--it is built around the convenience, budget, and inclinations of the existing staff, alumni, and parents of athletes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

Without doubt one of the finest schools in Oklahoma.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2006

I attend Bishop Kelley right now and I feel that it is a good schoool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2004

Great School! At least 2 years ahead of any public school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2003

I have 3 children who attend/attended BKHS. For the most part they received a good education, however the teachers seem to try to mold all students into a certain stereotype. There is very little regard for individuality. Also, student athletes are given preferential treatment when it comes to how the students are treated by teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

A wonderful learning environment that allowed me to develop socially, academically, and religiously.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 54%
Hispanic 11% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Black 1% 10%
Two or more races 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Tulsa
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3905 South Hudson Avenue
Tulsa, OK 74135
Phone: (918) 627-3390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Peace Academy
Tulsa, OK







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT