Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mingo Valley Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Tulsa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $167,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2013

MVCS is so AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The BEST school EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have been there for six years!


Posted May 2, 2013

This is an okay school, but ever since i came to mingo, my grades started dropping. All my life i had been a straight A student. something was wrong. the way they teach is confusing and not everyone can absorb the information. Their arts program is terrible and small. No photography class, and you can only learn one language; spanish. I have worked so so so hard to bring my grades up, but its just too much for me. i don't know why. they teach in a left brain sort of way, and i am 100% right brained; they dont undertand that. The teachers can be great and caring and there's a sense of community here. but I always feel like im constantly being judged and picked on. I don't fit in well whatsoever. I have sox=cial anxiety and fear going to school everyday. The environment of the school just isnt okay. My advise would be; if your kid is artistic and open minded, DO NOT send them here. send them to TSAS or metro if you want them to be if a safe christian like environment.


Posted April 30, 2011

I was a student at Mingo Valley for eight years and graduated from there. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The academics are not as challenging as the school would like to think they are, and, like any high school, not all of the teachers are going to be first class, but both the academics and teachers are certainly better than most alternatives. I personally found very few of my courses challenging, but I was always ahead of the curve on that front. They teach the Bible well, but are not adept at getting kids to understand what goes on in the rest of the world while all the while assuring them that they do. This area may require parental supplementation. What I loved most about Mingo Valley was its strong sense of community. Due to its small size, most everyone knows who everyone else is, and you are constantly interacting with the same people and their families. The sports programs are fun and (occasionally) competitive. I particularly enjoyed the drama program. From beginning to end, the students are responsible for making the production a success. Nate Madden directs the plays and does a fabulous job.


Posted August 19, 2010

MVCS is a blessing to all of those fortunate enough to attend. I moved my son here out of frustration with the local public schools. College prep is excellent. Graduation requirements are far beyond the public schools in Oklahoma. God, leadership and personal character development are focal points with the teachers, principal, superintendent and school board. The staff of MVCS handles each student and their needs with a personal touch. The teachers are engaging and involved. If money is a concern, tuition at this private school is extremely reasonable. As for the 01/28/10 review of this school, there is no doubt in my mind that was a student who was dismissed due to inappropriate behavior. The comments are very similar to comments made to my child by someone who was asked to leave the school. Parental involvement is not only welcome but strongly encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

As far as learning the Word it's a great school. As far as academics go its a horrible school. Except for maybe 2 classes I was never actually taught anything. I had to take refresher courses in college to get through and my parents even admitted to regretting sending me there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2009

Mingo Valley Christian School is a huge blessing to our family and exactly what my children need! As a Christian family, we became very disturbed by the things happening in our local public schools. We made the decision to go private and Mingo Valley was our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

I am a 2003 Graduate of Mingo Valley Christian School. The teachers are very good to work one-on-one with students. This school will give your child a great opritunity to learn not only reading, writing, and math, but also the Bible. The teachers encouraged me to follow my dream. Mingo Valley empowered me to be able to work harder to be a youth minister. Thank You MVCS and I recomend this school for anyone who is looking for a solid Christian school to send the children to. I know that I will send my children there when the time comes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 16, 2004

This is a truly amazing school, the education is amazing. The teachers are excellent and the students they produce succede in life far beyond those of other students. I have been blessed by this school so much and my other famly members have too. They have given me a superior education to anyother. They make learning fun and inviting for all types of students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 54%
Hispanic 4% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 17%
Black 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8720 East 61st Street
Tulsa, OK 74133
Phone: (918) 294-0404

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT