Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Victory Christian School

Private | PK-5, 7-12 | 1000 students

Our school is best known for offering a quality Christian Education.
 
 

 

Living in Tulsa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $176,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 23 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2013

Victory Christian (High) School has been an amazing choice for our family. From the first day when my kids transferred from public schools they were openly welcomed by other students at VCS. At my first parent teacher conference the teacher prayed with us and for my child. When my kids go to school each day they know that there are adults and friends that care about them and hold them accountable in a loving environment. Quality education and extra curricular activities with strong unapologetic Christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

This feels like a family. I love this school! I wouldn't want me kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

I have had kids attending Victory Christian School for the last 13 years. We have been very pleased with the quality of education they have received. The teachers are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

As is the case with most parents, my husband and I are very serious about our son's education. Therefore, choosing Victory Christian was one of the BEST investments we have made for his future, thus far. By attending a Christian school AND being "spiritually-influenced", along with preparing him for college, the impact is both necessary and important. Priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Victory Christian school has been a blessing in the lives of our family. Our son started in 9th grade and did not know a single person at Victory. Because of the atmosphere and culture at Victory, our son has flourished academically, emotionally and Spiritually. Also, our son has been part of the varsity football team for 4 years. I cannot say enough about the positive influence Victory football and the amazing coaching staff has made in his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

My child has been at Victory since k-4, and as we have had our struggles the teachers have been wonderful and have worked with us and not against to help find a solution to work with our child what ever situation arises. We love the fact that the academics as well as the whole man is nurtured and encouaged. We love that chapel is offered as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

The faculty and administration of Victory Christian School are passionately committed to preparing the students to excel academically and spiritually. The way the students respond favorably and respectfully to their teachers and coaches is a sign of the effectiveness and professionalism of the faculty. The athletic, music, and art programs are first rate. My son is a 9th grader. His exceptional scores on the PSAT reflect the excellent job his teachers have done. His biology class takes the students on multiple field trips [museum, fossil digs, etc.]. Each week the students enjoy chapel services. I recently overheard my son telling a friend that he loved to go to chapel. The positive, spiritual impact this school has made on his life is of infinite value to me. This upcoming spring, students have the opportunity to travel to Nicaragua for a missions trip. Regular, useful communication from teachers, coaches, and the principal via attractive newsletters and emails help us stay on top of all the various activities and assignments. Parents are welcomed to become involved in helping the school. This has resulted in a sense of community that is special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Victory is not perfect. There are no perfect people and there are no perfect schools. What I can tell you is the teachers make the difference in the school. Every teacher my daughter has had has believed in her encouraged her worked with her and brought her to a new level. My daughter knows more about the Bible than most adults I know. I credit that to the excellent Christian education she's gotten. I needed someone to love my daughter. Public school didn't these people did. I'm thankful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

VCS is an amazing school. We are so blessed to have the opportunity to send our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Victory Christian School continues to show excellence in education by improving the courses offered and the staff. In 2013, Victory graduated 4 National Merit Scholars proving their motto "Quality without Compromise" is always achieved. Not only is the education exceptional but the extracurricular opportunities are as well. Victory athletics is prominent in the state boasting several appearances at the State level in multiple sports. Victory offers education for the Mind Body & Spirit. A quality Christian education that is both exceptional and well-rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Victory Christian School is the best school in the world. Our kids have teachers who are highly qualified and who love them. Our kids have friends who support them and grow with them. Our kids have classes that challenge them while learning is fun. Our kids have the Holy Spirit in and around them to guide and comfort them. Our kids have AP classes and excellent electives to choose from. No other school could give our children such a firm foundation and well-rounded education as the staff are all members of the same church body, therefore in one accord. The student body is diverse, representing over twelve countries. At Victory Christian School, we parents have security knowing that our children are safe, learning in a secure environment. We parents know that we are getting the best for our dollar. We parents have access to our kids' records 24/7 through the database. We parents have a voice in shaping the rules and regulations each year. We parents have contact with our kids' teachers. We parents have the peace of mind of knowing that our children are getting the Living Word every day and are worshipping God in Spirit and truth while learning how to be a witness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Much better than any public school. No school is perfect, there will always be a problem or two, but I have been happy with their kindergarten class. My daughter is well above the level public kindergarten is at. The tuition here is affordable. She has her love and learning for god nurtured here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Victory is an outstanding school. This is the first year my child has attended Victory. He highly respects his teacher and loves school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Victory has been a Godsend to our family. Our daughter began attending their Mother's Day Out program at age two and, has been there ever since. We love the fact that they not only teach academics but, help her grow as a Christian. The entire staff is so wonderful. She told me that a boy in her class was crying one day because he does not like school. She said "What's wrong? Don't you want to be part of our family? Do you hear the richness of that from a first grader? To our daughter, school is an extension of her home. The staff at Victory Christian does a great job teaching and nurturing our children for life, in ALL aspects. Academically, their program is Above national standards! Bottom line, if you want a school that educates and nurtures well, then Victory Christian is the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

My school is a great place for students to receive an education for the whole person; spirit, mind and body. The spiritual atmosphere allows the opportunity for students to be saved, healed, and grow in their relationship with the Lord. Students excel in sports and academics as they utilize the expertise of their coaches and teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 10, 2013

My school is AMAZING! It is known for having quality education with a strong spiritual foundation. It has a wonderful, loving and encouraging atmosphere, excellent staff, and raises up children with high character and academic excellence.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 10, 2013

My daughter is a "Golden Graduate" of VCS. (K4-12th) She is a spiritually mature, kind-hearted, successful college grad, working as an RN. We credit VCS for helping us instill wonderful character traits in her that are helping her daily as she helps others!! Worth every penny!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Victory Christian School offers a great atmosphere that blends the best of academic, athletic, and spiriutal resources to each student. I've been very pleased with how well the teachers care for each student and is committed to partnering with parents to bring out the best in each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I love VCS. My daughters have attended here since my oldest was in K3. The teachers are loving and kind, firm and talented. I love the spirit that is VCS, it is a place where students are given opportunites and encouraged to find who they are in Christ and what His purposes are in this life. It is strong academically, spiritually, and in elective and sports programs. It is a sacrifice to pay for private school education for two girls but it is a sacrifice that is so very worth it and I can't imagine a better school to send them to than VCS, it is a blessing to our family for them to students here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Victory Christian School was birthed to teach students to live by the word of God, Be Led by the Spirit of God, and Reach out to others with the Love of God. Students are challenged to academically prepare themselves to do whatever God has called them to do. This is done through Fast Track Programs, Honors Programs and AP Academic Tracks. For students who have developed holes in their educational program, VCS offers a regeneration program that will help to foundationally fill the areas where students may struggle. As a parent of two VCS students, it excites me to see that our students excel academically, with 4 students qualifying as National Merit Scholars this last school year. In the Fine Arts, with various students have art projects displayed at Carnegie Hall this last year, and VCS Band program being the first Christian School in the State of Oklahoma to earn the prestigious Sweepstakes Award. In athletics, all of our athletic programs have participate in the OSSAA and our basketball program has been to the state tournament 5 out of the last 6 years. In Spiritual development, each student take a bible class each year at VCS and is required to complete Community Service.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school All Pre K-12th grade
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 89% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 6% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Oral Roberts University
Univeristy of Oklahoma
Oklahoma State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 5 National Merits (2013)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Marching band
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Foreign languages taught
  • All others offered by RossetaStone
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Dennis Demuth
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • www.vcstulsa.org
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Pentecostal
Associations
  • ORUEF

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • All others offered by RossetaStone
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • All vocational skills
  • Plumbing
  • Pre-law

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Car Pooling
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Marching band
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • See website for more items
More from this school
  • Victory Christian School was established in 1979. Over 12000 students have attended, with 3000 graduates. Our World Changers International Student Program has 95 students from 17 different countries. Over student body is from 180 different congregations in the Greater Tulsa Metropolitan Area.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
150
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
165
Students typically come from these schools
All Pre K-12th grade

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Oral Roberts University
Univeristy of Oklahoma
Oklahoma State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 3%
4 year college - 89%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 1%
Workforce - 6%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7700 South Lewis Avenue
Tulsa, OK 74136
Phone: (918) 491-7720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT