Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Henry Zarrow International School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 29, 2016
- a community member
I can say it over and over, but we have had a wonderful experience with Henry Zarrow International School.

Henry Zarrow International School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 29, 2016
- a community member
Yes, very fair. Son was held accountable with homework and manners. Always working to improve

Henry Zarrow International School 5

Posted June 29, 2016
- a community member
My son had a great first year, even though it was his first time being introduced to Spanish. Two teachers per room in Kinder, which is great. Principal leads with enthusiasm and it's contagious!

Henry Zarrow International School 5

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
Zarrow is an exceptional school. My daughter has a wonderful start at life. The staff is attentive and in tune with the students. Absolutely NO REGRETS!

Henry Zarrow International School 4

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
Zarrow is a wonderful school my son has been going to school there since he was in kindergarten and he loves it. He has loved every teacher he has had. They have wonderful secretaries like Ms. Katlin and a wonderful resource counselor, Ms. Butler she is the best. Great teachers and great parents, love this school. My son is in the third grade now and he has a great group of friends. He got plenty of help when he was struggling with math. Thank you ZARROW!

Henry Zarrow International School 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
ZIS is AMAZING!! We have 2 children enrolled, and couldn't be happier! I believe the reason this school is so successful, is because the principal, and the PTA. Sra. Wester is very hands on, commands attention when needed, and is very empathetic to the students. The PTA is successful as well, they continuously come up with ways to earn money for the school, and invest it in your child's class rooms and education. We have only positive comments about the program as well. It was a little stressful thinking our Kinder student would go into a room where she didn't know anyone, but also, didn't know the language. I believe it is harder on the parents than the students! We adjusted well after a few visits with the teacher, and the explanation that our student's brains are well equiped to handle the challenge, and we should just watch and see how magnificent our child's brain is! WE LOVE ZARROW!! Highly reccomend it!!

Henry Zarrow International School 5

Posted November 14, 2011
- a parent
After reading the other reviews I wanted to make sure that it was known that since then the principal in question has left and new one came and went and we are now under the direction of an awesome principal. Sra. Wester has been highly praised by parents at her former school and they were sad to see her leave. Their loss is our gain. Zarrow is an excellent school and a great opportunity for our children. Parent participation is like none other I have ever seen. They truly take to heart the old saying "it takes a village to raise a child" I'm so thankful to be a part of that!

Henry Zarrow International School 4

Posted May 22, 2010
- a parent
Zarrow offers students the chance to become bilingual which is a great asset. With only 2 classes per grade, it has an intimate feel that cannot be achieved at some of the larger schools. The parents tend to be very involved which is both a blessing and a curse. No school is able to meet every one's needs but being at Zarrow has been a mostly positive experience for our family.

Henry Zarrow International School 1

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
The bad news is this school has performed far below its potential because of the poor leadership. The good news is the principal has now been removed (effective at the end of this school year). Now there is at least a chance for this school to become what it was intended. This bold move by the Tulsa Public Schools administration was the right thing to do and will benefit the kids tremendously. Just think, no more bickering about the principal. And, teacher turnover should now reduce down to the average of other schools. The work of all the parents who spent so much of their time and energy trying to improve this school by forcing a change in leadership has now paid off. Congratulations to everyone who participated. And, to the skeptics, I am sure you will see a brighter future for your children now.

Henry Zarrow International School 5

Posted April 09, 2010
- a parent
I have been a Zarrow parent now for 4 years. I know every school has it's areas for improvement. With that being said Zarrow is a wonderful school with wonderful teachers and a wonderful prinicpal. I am sure some parents who read this comment will not agree and will try to disclaim me but I have been a very involved parent for all the years that I have been at Zarrow and I can honestly say the principal is one of the hardest working prinicpals that I've ever seen. She truly has our children's best intesterests at heart as well as her staff. I have seen her prove this time and time again. I am thrilled that all of my children have had the opportunity to attend Zarrow. It has been a wonderful experience for us and them overall.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henry Zarrow International School
3613 South Hudson Avenue, Tulsa, OK  74135
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (918) 746-9180
Last modified Henry Zarrow International School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top