Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jenks East Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 29, 2012

There is lots of Bullying that goes on at this school, my son has had things stolen out his desk with no follow up from the teachers/staff. my son has went from straight A's from all his other schools to C's & D's at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

This is really is an OK school. Teacher could be more friendly and helpful for kids who need more advance school work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

I am a parent of a 6year old whom just completed the Kindergarden program. I am VERY upset with the school due to the fact that my son is not ready to go to the 1st grade and have requested him to be held back. The school has not worked with me on this matter. I have had to go to a child psy. to get the matter taken care. What happened to doing what is best for the child? Why are we waiting till he gets in the 2nd grade and then hold kids back due to law requirements? I have also changed school district since Jenks does not have my child's best interest in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

I have 2 children in JEE and so far we love the school. Most teachers are wonderful. The site principal is involved and truly cares for this children. We also love the school diversity. The test scores are unsatisfactory for reasons the staff will be glad to discuss, but the school is taking every measure to address and solve this problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

JEE is a wonderful school with great teachers! I am moving and refuse to leave this school district.sc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

This is a great school! My little one is in pre-k here and he loves going to school everyday! His teacher is excellent with kids of this age and she makes learning fun!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Wonderful leadership and education for your childern
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I loved this school because my teachers truly believed in each and every one of their students. Every faculty member made the utmost commitment not only to the education of their children, but also to enriching each life by instilling the desire to be lifelong students of the world in which we all continue to learn and coexist. Never have I experienced in all my successive education such a priority in action towards educating kids to create, explore, inquire, and embrace character and active citizenship--and all this takes place at the elementary school level, but not without fundamentally immeasurable value beyond these most formative of years!


Posted August 19, 2005

I went to Jenks K-12th grade and graduated in May of 2000. I have the most wonderful memories of my education and growing up within the school system. I went on to the University of Oklahoma and am now a teacher myself. I would send my children to Jenks in a heartbeat because it fosters the needs of all types of children and encourages positive development in all areas.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2005

My 2 daughters started at Jenks East and went through the High School. Both the University of Notre Dame and University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center are glad they did well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2004

I graduated from Jenks Public Schools in the spring of 2003. I was very pleased with the teachers, and the quality of the education I reveived. The teachers were friendly and knowlegeable in the fields they taught. I look forward to sending my children to Jenks in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 54%
Hispanic 17% 13%
Black 13% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8925 So Harvard
Tulsa, OK 74137
Phone: (918) 299-4411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Holland Hall
Tulsa, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT