Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

1 star


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2007

I have to say, I would love to meet the parents that are ready and willing to get involved. I started PTO at the elementry 3 years agoe and cant get any involvement from parents or teachers. I just finished a fundraiser that made the school $9000.00, payed for a new intercom system, teacher appriciation, attendence incentives, and several other things. Still no parent or teacher involvement. I am at my end. I can't keep doing it alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

As a parent I feel the Grade School has improved this last year. I also believe if a parent is not happy with the situation at Grade School, talk to your board members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

All this school cares about is sports. Parents are not welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

This school is spiraling downward. There needs to be change from Superintendent down in order for the school to be of quality. Parents are willing and standing by to help, only if allowed to do so. We feel like outsiders instead of supporters!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

we have no music program. Our parents are made to feel they cannot be involved. The administration is running our school into the ground. they get rid of people they do not like and keep the staff at each other as much as they can. I have never seen a more unprofessional principal. He fails to back the teachers consistantly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

We are loosing good teachers left and right, becuse our administration is lacking to say the least. We need parent involvement to get our school back in the hands of deserving and capable leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 59%
Native American 16% 16%
Black 9% 9%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 166%N/A61%
Special education 218%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 East Chickasaw
Wynnewood, OK 73098
Phone: (405) 665-4371

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jackson Elementary School
Pauls Valley, OK


Lee Elementary School
Pauls Valley, OK



Whitebead Public School
Pauls Valley, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT