Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Yukon High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2013

My brother and I grew up in Yukon schools and loved it. I was in the last graduating class at the old building, so I don't have an opinion on the new building. But in my case, going to YHS was amazing. Generally, the teacher quality is superb. There was a definite divide between the harsher teachers and the calmer, friendlier ones and in the end I think it was a good balance. Personalities aside, the teaching methods at Yukon have helped me so much in college, and I appreciate it even more now that I'm about to graduate from university. I had a great experience as a student there because my other classmates were great. It was very easy to "mesh" with everyone, and I have to note that it was especially prevalent with new students. We are a very welcoming charm about us. Yes, there is a party scene but it's certainly pretty easy to avoid it if you want to. All in all, I'm shocked at how great YHS is considering Yukon as a town isn't all that great. Great staff, great students. I'm really thankful to have gone here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2013

My children started at this school this year I am not pleased with what is going on. I moved my children to this district after i thought the last one was bad i was wrong. They may have nice things but I was wrong they do not truly care for their students its what they can get to make them selves look good. To me places that are more into their look are not in it for their students they are for the money that they can get out of people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

I have had one daughter go through and graduate from Yukon High in 2012 and love this school. I have a second daughter who is a Junior this year and is excited about graduating from Yukon. The teachers, principals and staff are wonderful. The new high school is phenominal. It looks like a junior college instead of a high school and they aren't finished yet. They still have a ball field and swimming pool to add. I feel any child would be lucky to attend Yukon High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

As a junior, I have gone to school in Yukon since kindergarten and I really enjoy it. We got a new high school this year (which is way to extravagant) and its really nice. As for the "drug" problem, there are drugs but people don't go around selling drugs to people, and not everyone does drugs, you just have to pick the right crowd to hang out with. And all schools have drugs and alcohol. Every single one of my teachers I have enjoyed, they all really care about the students and will help you succeed. I also noticed that most of the negative reviews on here come from parents who don't go to the school so they have no idea what its like, and the students seem to enjoy it. As for the policies, they go through the entire handbook at the beginning of the year so students know what's expected. At the beginning of my Freshman year I was surprised to find that Freshman really weren't bullied, you always hear horror story about kids getting picked on and you don't see it happen. I would reccomend this school to anyone and plan on sending my kids there when I get older. It really is a great school, and if you are skeptical about sending your kids there make them take Leadership with Mr. A!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2011

This school is a very pathetic excuse for an educational learning center. The only education they are concerned about giving is athletic education. The curriculum is poor, the teacher quality is poor, and they waste money on to many unnecessary things. They need to put more emphasis on academic learning and less on extracurricular activities. The new school building was not needed as the old one was not unusable and already nicer than many other schools have. It was a complete waste of money for the Yukon tax payers who are only interested in keeping up with appearances. This school needs to get back to basics. My child had received such a sub- par education at this school that we had to remove him and take him somewhere else where they were more concerned about teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

District has beautiful schools, but could do a better job of encouraging parent s involvement with education. All my children attend this district and graduated, some with good grades and some with great grades, but feeling that the teachers and staff REALLY wanted us to be involved with our children s education and ask questions was largely lacking, in fact very difficult. Good district, but has a lot of potential to be a GREAT district. Today s parents are more educated and more vocal about their children s needs. Education is on a cutting edge of new expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

I am taking my three kids and moving out of this district. District isn't the same since Dr. Dean and Dr. Speath are gone. Administration isn't putting kids first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I am a jr. at Yukon High School. I've gone to Yukon from kindergarten and I will graduate from Yukon High School. Parents can complain all they want about the schools policies and what not but the truth of the matter is Yukon is a wonderful school district. I have read complaining pertaining to everthing from smelly bathrooms to teachers bullying. The teachers don't bully students. That is possibly the most rediculous accusation in the world. Yukon teachers are amazing. Most of my role models have been Yukon teachers.Yukon is the best school you could send your son or daughter to. I've truly enjoyed it so far. There are more positives than negatives. (test scores, activities, class options, friendly students, and many, many more)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2009

moving from Midwest city high I really like yukon more, there is more of a challenge in the education, and atheletics are superb
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

Well I am a student at Yukon highschool I really enjoy it after moving here from a different state. I can Honestly say that I have learned a lot more education then I ever have before and I strongly recomend that you would place your student in this school because the fights here are kept to a minimum and I really have never seen any bullying around and the Athletics are very awesome and they keep up to date with technology and I really enjoy this school and thats all I have to say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2009

I have children in evey level of school elem, middle, and high school. we moved to this district because of the school system and I have to say my kids are getting a much better education than they were before we moved here. The classes are challenging, every time I have had a concern the teachers and principals have been more than willing to talk with me about them. I have seen no evidence of so called bullying by teachers and my children are by no means angels. I highly recommend this district to anybody!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

I'm a sophomore at Yukon High School and I have to admit I really like it. The classes are challenging, but it's a fun challenge. There are tons of electives to choose form, for everyone to get involved. It's a very clean school, there are hardly any fights, and things are just nice here. Mrs. Sturgell is an amazing English teacher, also :]]
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

I am a student of yukon highschool and can say that yes classes are rigorous and rules are strictly enforced. I have been enrolled in all ap classes up until my senior year. As someone that moved to the district though from a different school and talking to other student who have moved here, the classes are much more rigorous than any other school (regular classes are comparative to ap classes at other districts) The school also has higher graduation requirments than those set up by the state. The school prides themselves in there 'academic success' and pushes it first and formost for better or for worst. Yukon runs a tight ship, and if you can't handle it they won't be afraid to tell you to take easier classes or go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

I'm a former of student of Yukon High, Yukon has tons of school spirit, Fights are to a minimum, Its a very clean school Very up to date school too, academics are in various categories, so everyone can be in them. Its a very friendly school. I do miss it very much and the schools atmosphere. I would definitely recommend to everyone!


Posted August 7, 2008

This school has rigorous AP courses and teachers who team together to help students. I have been very pleased with the administration and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

I am a Junior at Yukon High School and have lived in this wholesome community my entire life. Yukon is a well respected community that prospers and flourishes with every beat of each humble citizen. Our school system is renound and is known city, state, and nation wide for it's jaw dropping achievements and success in scholastics and activites. Yukon's teachers, staff, and administration display their unmatched passion through their highly accoladed work in the persuit of student fulfillment. I have never encountered such problems listed variously on this site such as students being treated unfairly and unsatisfactory teaching. I am a Student Council Representative and have gladly worked with students, teachers, and administration only to notice and highly regard their fairness a remarkable attitudes. Many students put such problems and 'trajedies' upon themselves because of their careless ignorance thus blaming the fault on their superiors and others, creating a scapegoat.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

Ok...Parents? Yukon is an amazing school. The people are super cool and the faculty is really nice. Bullying is barely a problem at yukon and if your child is getting bullied then someone is always there to put a stop to it. I mean some of you haven't even gone to that school and i remember when i first moved here i didn't like it because it was a new place and i had to get used to it and make friends. And i know i made up stories to my mom about how i didn't like it and people were rude when they weren't i just wouldn't step out of my shell and most of the time i didn't have too! the kids there were really interested in me in a good way! i made wonderful friends to whom im still friends with and we have never had problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2007

I attended this school and loved it! I'm going through college now and because of the wonderful teachers I've decided to become one myself. my hopes are to teach at Yukon when I graduate.


Posted November 25, 2007

I removed my son from Yukon 9/10 at the beginning of 10th grade, two years ago. We've owned our home since 1994 and were not ready to sell, so he's attending Oklahoma Virtual High School online. I would not recommend Yukon Schools past grade school if at all. My son received two truancy tickets for leaving campus at lunch, with no missed class time, and one for sitting on a step outside the cafeteria, in the middle of campus, across from his next class waiting for bell to ring, in addition to the appropriate detention for each offense. Truly a bizarre interpretation of the truancy law. My son felt stalked and targeted. After a very scary runaway incident, while we were still figuring out the details, my son's principal told him, right in front of me, that 'school would be just like prison for him now' - then I understood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

Yea, well I recently graduated from here and I just wanted to say that this is an amazing school. Contrary to what some parents say, teachers do not pick on the kids here. In order to make that statement, one would have to attend the school and we all know how students exaggerate things. Now, there are a few teachers who joke with kids but only in good fun and if they see it is actually hurting the student they will stop. And kids picking on kids...come on,. that will happen anywhere you go. This is a great school to send your child to


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

422 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

504 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

497 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 59%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Native American 5% 16%
Black 4% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A61%
Special education 12%N/A15%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Yukon Ave
Yukon, OK 73099
Phone: (405) 354-6692

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





New Life Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


Bethany Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT