Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkland Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 1 student

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2012

Parkland was the best school!! I went there from K-5th and loved every minute of it! The teachers really care about the students, it was the best six years of my life!


Posted May 13, 2011

This is an amazing school. Lance Haggard is such as positive principal. It is nice to know kids do come first sometimes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

My grandson went there and pretty soon grand daughters will go. Besides great teachers and support staff, they put on great plays, and musicals have great academics and sports programs and some of the best murals of any school I've ever seen (every hall, library or commune room and cafeteria wall)


Posted May 4, 2010

The principal and teacher really care about the success of the students. This is clearly a group of educators that will continue to make a difference in the lives of the children they teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Best teachers and principal there could ever be. We are sad to be moving on after this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

There's likely not another public elementary school that better prepares it's students. Elementary principle Lance Haggard leads a great team of teachers and volunteers who support some of the best incentive programs in the nation. It's a small wonder that every teacher at Parkland has received a $2000.00 cash award and incentive of their own. The proof s really in the test results, isn't it?! A community where parents also do their job. All others, not wanted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

Love this school! moved from putnam city school district and this school system is more advanced and more involved in the children's lives. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

Great staff, great curriculum and incentives for the kids and a great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

Great School! Great Staff! Great Principal!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

Both my kids went to Parkland and loved it. It's a great school. It was better when Mr. Bunch was principal. Watch out for Independence Middle School and the High School though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

My son as attended Pre-K at Parkland this year and we have loved it. It is a wonderful school with great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

My son has attended Parkland from kindergarden through second grade and we recently found out that we are moving out of state. Our whole family, especially my son, is sad to leave because it is like leaving apart of your family. Parkland elementary school is the best school in Yukon! The teachers really care about the students and strive to see them achieve their goals. Thank you for all your hard work and dedication to our children! We will miss you all deeply and hope to see you soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

2 Kids here. First one graduates in 2004 (this year). Excellent all-round leadership, training & class curriculum. Field trips are well-thought out and organised. Kids are given excellent incentives to participate in extra-curricular activities, which include community service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

I am so excited that my child has had the oppurtunity to get her education at Parkland. In my opinion, this is the best elementary school in the state. The principal is very involved with the students, and the teachers truely care about each and every student. Keep up the great work Parkland!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Black 3% 10%
Hispanic 3% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2201 South Cornwell
Yukon, OK 73099
Phone: (405) 354-7786

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT