Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 4 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ballston Community School 1

Posted March 26, 2012
- a teacher
This school strongly misleads parents into thinking there child is getting a better education, when in fact it is setting the students so much further behind than when they started. They have no set curriculum and truly don't have a idea of what they are doing. There idea is good, but not not anywhere close to achieving the education these child deserve and need.

Ballston Community School 1

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
Don't read the previous comments and think the staff is really that caring, they only care about your child if you give them something like work there as a volunteer. If your are unable to do something for them, your child gets a bad deal. First off, the number to the school is wrong, the website is awful and full, and they meet in a cold barn out of the way. My son is a great kid, he started getting attitude and his grades came down. When it came around to parent/teacher conferences they never set that up me, so I went to talk to the teacher, she actually walked away in the middle of our conversation! I found out that he was being punished everyday, and they didn't bother to tell me. He gave up on himself, I am still trying to undo what this awful school did! Think twice about field trips, especially if you have a teen or preteen, they are very poorly supervised. I went on one and had to constantly deal with things the staff ignored, and they had no clue that preteens were hid in the bushes! I overheard one preteen say that they only had to mind the P.E.. The P.E. only teaches karate. I know karate, I still wonder what he was doing! THIS IS JUST THE TIP OF THE ICEBERG!!


Ballston Community School 0
no rating

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
It has made a world of difference in my child!!!!! They are like one big happy family and the genuinely care for each and everyone of its children. Thank you Ballston Comm. School!!!!!!

Ballston Community School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
BCS isn't just a school, it is a family. Small class sizes means more personal attention for each student and their individual needs.

Ballston Community School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
They have greatly helped my sister!!!!


Ballston Community School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Ballston helped my son when no one else could. The teachers only have half of the student load of a "regular" school so my kids get lots of individual attention. Having a PEP to know exactly how they learn best is key to a great education!

Ballston Community School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
My son with special needs has been attending Ballston Community School now for 4 years, and his atypical brother for 3. They are both learning in an environment where the classes are small with more one-on-one. The family atmosphere is a definite bonus, along with teachers who are patient and understanding of those who need special attention.

Ballston Community School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
Because the kids get individual attention and no one falls through the cracks of the system just because they don't conform to "normal" standards.


Ballston Community School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
This shool teaches to the child. The staff work hard to make relationships with the kids and from there builds on academics. Great for educationally beat up children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ballston Community School
7575 Bethel Road, Amity, OR  97101
(503) 843-2537
Last modified Ballston Community School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ballston Community School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top