Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ballston Community School 1

Posted May 24, 2016
- a teacher
No academic or behavior standards enforced, published policies and procedures not followed, students do whatever they want whenever they want, refuse to come to class, routinely disrupt learning environment and create unsafe conditions for others, teachers not supported by administration, in my opinion, a waste oof taxpayers money

Ballston Community School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 24, 2016
- a teacher
I think they try to work within a very substandard, broken system. They care about the students, but the foundational support is not there.


Ballston Community School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a teacher
Students are given options that dumb down the curriculum and allow them to do the very minimal amount of work to pass, they are often encouraged to get a 'D', because a 'D' is 'passing.'

Ballston Community School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a teacher
The overall attitude from the majority of the students is, 'I have the right to do what I want no matter how it affects others and you can't do anything about it.'

Ballston Community School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a teacher
There is absolutely no emphasis that I saw on helping students learn how their actions affect others.


Ballston Community School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a teacher
Behavior expectations and follow through are inconsistent from student to student and incident to incident. Students often 'talk their way out' of consequences, teachers are often asked to ignore problem behavior

Ballston Community School 1

Posted March 26, 2012
- a teacher
This school strongly misleads parents into thinking there child is getting a better education, when in fact it is setting the students so much further behind than when they started. They have no set curriculum and truly don't have a idea of what they are doing. There idea is good, but not not anywhere close to achieving the education these child deserve and need.

Ballston Community School 1

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
Don't read the previous comments and think the staff is really that caring, they only care about your child if you give them something like work there as a volunteer. If your are unable to do something for them, your child gets a bad deal. First off, the number to the school is wrong, the website is awful and full, and they meet in a cold barn out of the way. My son is a great kid, he started getting attitude and his grades came down. When it came around to parent/teacher conferences they never set that up me, so I went to talk to the teacher, she actually walked away in the middle of our conversation! I found out that he was being punished everyday, and they didn't bother to tell me. He gave up on himself, I am still trying to undo what this awful school did! Think twice about field trips, especially if you have a teen or preteen, they are very poorly supervised. I went on one and had to constantly deal with things the staff ignored, and they had no clue that preteens were hid in the bushes! I overheard one preteen say that they only had to mind the P.E.. The P.E. only teaches karate. I know karate, I still wonder what he was doing! THIS IS JUST THE TIP OF THE ICEBERG!!


Ballston Community School
no rating

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
It has made a world of difference in my child!!!!! They are like one big happy family and the genuinely care for each and everyone of its children. Thank you Ballston Comm. School!!!!!!

Ballston Community School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
BCS isn't just a school, it is a family. Small class sizes means more personal attention for each student and their individual needs.

Nearby schools

Ballston Community School
7575 Bethel Road, Amity, OR  97101
(503) 843-2537
Last modified Ballston Community School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top