Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Mary Star of the Sea School

Private | K-8 | 122 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Astoria

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $171,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $735.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2013

This school has closed down :(. It was a part of the community for over 100 years. How sad.


Posted December 5, 2009

I went to this school for 6 years, and after I switched to public school, I had already learned the things that they were teaching there. I loved all the teachers and I had fun learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2008

St Mary Star of the Sea is an amazing school the fraze 'in this place we are blessed with gods grace' is so true there. Their mission statement 'a christ filled learning community witch fosters love, integrity and academic excellence'fits the school to a T.I know because i went to star preschool- 8th grade. The teachers and staff at star are amazing, they will grow to be more of a friend that a teacher. it really helps out a lot because then they are easier to talk too and learn from. St. Mary Star of the Sea school is an excellent school that i highly recommend to all parents that are seeking a good education for their child. Now when people ask me where i went to school i am proud to say i went to Star of the Sea school. Joe Mueller alumni
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

We have been very happy with the education we are getting by using Star of the Sea. I grew up on the Long Beach WA peninsula, and wanted more for my children then what Ocean Beach School dist 101 could give. I have high expectations, and they MUST be met! Both the wife and I have extensive backgrounds in science and math at Oregon State, and could not be more happy with the education that our daughter is getting! So much so that we are sending our son this year to Kindergarten at Star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

Great school, caring, motivated teachers. A very special place for a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

Star is a great school for K-4 and maybe up to 6th grade but then it falls down. As a parent I pay for performance and the value of the learning environment. I no longer feel Star offers that and am expolring other avenues of education for my child where challenges in learning and creativity are expanded. I can get mediocre anywhere for free and I feel that what Star offers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

Star is a winning school for us because my children are receiving a quality education. Star is a winning school for my children because they love going to school. For them it is more than a quality education, it is a lifestyle of learning, fun and friendship. Ethics are a part of the equation and these children are stronger for it. The principal, Dr. Terry Campbell, is an outstanding leader. The children love him. He is involved at every level. The teachers at Star give the children individual attention and allow them to grow and learn at their own pace. The parent involvement at the school is fun. I always look forward to helping out and feeling a part of the Star community. The Vetters
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2006

We love SOTS! We moved from the public school to here last year and the difference is dramatic. Our children academic skills improved greatly. Their music program is very very good. We were impressed at how much this school, its teachers, and specially its principal enriched the lives of ouf our children. The Simmons'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

LOVE THIS SCHOOL! Teachers are exceptionally focused. Principal genuinely cares for not only the students, but the staff. Although Religion is taught, it is not forced on anyone. We've been at SOTS for 2 years now, and wish we could stay forever. I'm amazed at what she has learned at the 'K' level and am confident that it is much more than public school. Price is very reasonable for the amount and quality of education received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

This school is a gem. The teachers are excellent and nurturing. The parent envolvment is extraordinary and it is all held together by a great principal. My son loves his school and can't wait to go every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 73%
Asian 6% N/A
Black 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Portland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1411 Grand Ave
Astoria, OR 97103
Phone: (503) 325-3771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT