Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Beaverton, OR
Students enrolled: 269
 

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Cecilia School 4

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
My kids (6 & 8) have been at this school for 3 yrs. We are really happy with the staff. They are dedicated, caring, knowledgeable about the catholic faith and their subjects. The front office staff are wonderful! The lunchroom staff is great and I am very happy with the variety, quality and nutrition of the school lunches. My kids are very happy here and they are definitely receiving a top notch education. The parent involvement is excellent, many of the school activities are run by parents with little staff involvement. The community is an excellent source of support. The only issues I have with the school is the high tuition rate(although it is competitive with surrounding private schools), the variety of fund raisers that need "your financial help" and the lack of a bus system--that would be great! I also wish their was a better security system at the main doors. I highly recommend this school as we have made wonderful friends and see our children thriving in this school.

St Cecilia School 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
St. Cecilia School is a wonderful school in every way! From the principal to the faculty and staff, the students in their care are happy and thriving. For many reasons--strong academics, good values, a sense of community--we have found it to be the best choice in town for our children and for our family. Highly recommended.


St Cecilia School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
Being a part of this school for 8 years and having a wonderful experience is why we recommend this school. We have seen many families come from public schools and have a difficult time that you actually have to earn your grade. A gem has been finding Mrs.Charmlers a teaching aid specialist who also serves as our tutor for our daughter. Parent involvement is very high and many parent friendships are quickly formed. Earning a honors at this school and obtaining letters of recommendations from the staff will open the doors to any private high school. Give, Live, Love, Learn and Laugh should be this schools motto. Please read Mother Teresa s poem Anyway then you will understand why this school has such high respect for others.

St Cecilia School 2

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
Give this some serious thought before you go this direction and then rethink it again. We are an upper income family- and even we found the community to be pretentious and unfriendly. Not to mention the hypocrisy of how people are treated by what is supposed to be a "Christian" place to send your children. Principal is out of touch- some teachers are ill prepared for the job. Please be careful!

St Cecilia School 1

Posted February 24, 2014
- a teacher
Our family is strong in our faith and in our love. There are teachers and aids who are well aware of problems and keep quiet for fear of losin their jobs. Beware.
1 person found this helpful


St Cecilia School 2

Posted June 01, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately, the leadership is very political and when the going gets tough don't expect the principal to be an advocate for your child. Christian values are taught but not lived by example. If your child doesn't fit the "norm" don't expect any understanding or support. Academics are mediocre.

St Cecilia School 5

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
We feel very lucky to be part of the St. Cecilia community. St. Cecilia is our first exposure to school in Oregon and after visiting and touring a multitude of schools in the Beaverton area we knew we had found the right place for our children's education as soon as we walked in the doors and met the staff. Principal Sue Harris is an amazing leader who is passionate about the school, the staff, the students and the educational programs St. Cecilia provides. Our experience at St. Cecilia has been one of a kind and we look forward to the years to come.

St Cecilia School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
This school not only has great teachers, great opportunties for arts, music, language and technology, but it has brilliant leadership in Principal Harris. Coupled with a strong school advisory committee and an equally strong parent association, we are truly blessed to be part of this school family. Our child has thrived at this school and we really see it as an extension our family. I see a very small minority of negative comments on this blog, but I firmly believe that if you talk to 10 random families at the school, 9 would tell you they were satisfied beyond expectations. All you have to do is look at the final product. The vast majority of graduates of St. Cecilia go on to excel at some of the areas best high schools. Principal Harris and her team are fantastic and the main reason why we would recommend our school to anyone.


St Cecilia School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
St. Cecilia is a wonderful community of caring and giving individuals who are dedicated to providing a quality education. In the midst of hard times in the K-12 education universe, thanks to the leadership of Principal Sue Harris and an amazing teaching and administrative staff, St. Cecilia is successfully preparing youth for high school and beyond as lifelong learners and engaged community members.

St Cecilia School 5

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
St. Cecilia is an out standing school. Incredible academics, pro-active, fair-minded teachers and administrators and great facilities. This school has it all AND it has it's roots firmly planted in a dynamic and diverse parish. This has been the best education we could have hoped for and the best preparation for the area's top high schools. My child transferred in this year and was readily welcomed by the entire class. Thanks to St. C's, she is happy and thriving. We could not have hoped for a better experience for our child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Cecilia School
12250 Southwest 5th Street, Beaverton, OR  97005
(503) 644-2619
Last modified St Cecilia School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Cecilia School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top