Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arts & Communication High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

VERY disappointed in this school. We had such high hopes! Kids have WAY too much freedom with no real structure. Teachers are not as connected as they should be. My son went from being a TAG student doing great in school to not caring about his assignemnts at all and not having any consequences at school for any of it, just at home. I busted the janitor driving VERY fast and wrecklessly in the parking lot & he never had any consequences for it. He's still there after 6 months. He could have hurt a kid considering there were several outside at the time. It's cool that the kids have special classes, my son loves it there because of that & because of the freedom but this school is the WORST I have dealt with so far when it comea to structure and really helping these kids thrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

i really like it and i love the fact that we get to have all sorts of extra classes but i sorta feel like some of the calsses at my "grade level" aren't challenging enough. although that may just be the whole district as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2012

I totally disagree with a previous reviewer regarding the school being not challenging. I find it mighty challenging - my daughter sometimes spends way into her bed time doing homework. Maybe the difference is that we did look into enrolling her in higher level classes (which is totally possible and encouraged by this school), for example - she is in 9th grade Pre-algebra whereas it is her 7th grade. May be it would be wise to look into something like that instead of complaining about lack of challenge - challenge your child, see how it can be done. Also I do not see how it will NOT look good on college application? Love the school, do not love new grading policy - confusing and discouraging to the students, but it was not invented by this school, was done by the District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

Great at art, which is its purpose, but I realized that won't look good on a college application. School should be fun, but I think their lack of rules here is bad, there is too much freedom, I find students becoming more lazy and irresponsable. There is a lot of bullying between middle and high school student and because its a school where you can be yourself tere are some dffernet people, and those who aren't different are sometimes shunned and not given the power to show their true capabilities. Overall its an okay school, jut wish academics were more challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

I'm a student at ACMA, and it's my first year there. Let me say: I love it. Love it to pieces. I did go to Mt. View last year, and I know that ACMA is my home-I don't belong anywhere else. Creative kids, whether you're a writer or a singer or a band geek, will fit in. Everyone is accepted, and everyone is loved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2010

Our school is amazing! It's a place where you can find your inner artist and express yourself through creativity. Though we are relatively small compared to other schools we make make a huge impact on the students. Art is something that most schools don't take seriously but here our whole curriculum is based on art. Our school's younger students are constantly interacting with some of AMA's oldest and are learning from them. This school breaks down the wall between teachers, students, falcuty and creates and unique learning enviorment where we can be ourselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Active, involved and nurturing staff. Unique student body. Classes that can't be found in other area schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

ACMA is an amazing school, the people are nice and the teachers very friendly, beng surrounded by open minded people and beautiful works of art. I love ACMA it will forever be my home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

ACMA is the best school ever. It provided arts and education that they would not otherwise receive. The have an excellent rating in the nation. The best teaching staff ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Provided exposure to the fine arts and an education my children wouldn't have received at any other school in the district. Exceptional staff in an environment that encourages individuality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

As a student of the school, It is super sepcialized and unique. Very focused on academics, yet all about the arts. I just fell in love with the school and the people there. Amazing school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

My son's experience has been mostly good. However, the 'artistic' attitude throughout this school lends itself to poor organization. Too many of the teachers don't keep up with emails to parents, or they lose kids' homework assignments. The course selection is outstanding. Creative kids will thrive here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

The High school is supportive of its students. Most of the teachers are dedicated and know how to teach outside of the box. The administration is firm but caring. The atmosphere is great as the students enjoy being there. The principal is new so I cannot really comment on his leadership but the vice principal is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2004

I am not a parent at this school, but a student. I am in the 10th grade at ACMA, this is my 3rd year attending this school. This school is wonderful! I feel excepted, important, and most of all I feel like I am learning a ton! This school is the best thing that has ever happened to me, its a nice small environment... one huge family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2004

ACMA has been a great source of enjoyment for my daughter since it effectively combines the normal state prescribed high school curriculum with the study of all forms of arts. I'm constantly amazed by the innovative methodology used by the teachers that integrates arts into history and science. My daughter is quite happy in this school and finds it to be good outlet for her artistic talents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Science

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female74%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial63%
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female>=95%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students79%
Female84%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female88%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial63%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted89%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 65%
Hispanic 14% 21%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11375 SW Center St
Beaverton, OR 97005
Phone: (503) 672-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Beaverton High School
Beaverton, OR



Jesuit High School
Portland, OR



Catlin Gabel School
Portland, OR


St. Stephens Academy
Beaverton, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT