Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Conestoga Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2014

In sixth grade, I had been planning to attend one of the option schools, but ended up being dumped in Conestoga after missing my second consideration appointment. I ended up liking the school so much that I stayed for the next two years. Most of the teachers are fantastic and love to get involved in student's education as much as they can. A nameless few are just rude, but nearly all of mine were cheerful and helpful and wanted nothing more than to see the students succeed. The counselors were also great. They were very kind and understanding, and helped in any way they could. The principal was extremely enthusiastic and talked to/got to know the students. The school was the best up-kept I've ever attended. Many of the students were rude and liked to pick on people, though, but that's sort of inevitable.


Posted May 13, 2012

Conestoga was great at the beggining of the year....but I can't say I am impressed by any strand. The teachers are rude, and show no appreciation for the students work. The vice principals get into your PERSONAL and OFF SCHOOL buisness. Also, a specific teacher likes to "accidently" hit kids with the door. I am not ashamed to say that I hate this school.


Posted May 25, 2010

I am in the unique situation of having a child in each grade at Conestoga. We moved here last August and I was looking forward to a good school year after reading some of the older posts. Now that the year is almost over, however, I can say that I am not pleased. The older posts were obviously from an era of better school budgets and teacher-parent-student interaction. Though I haven't had any problems with the 7th & 8th grade teachers, I also haven't had any amazing experiences. They're pretty hands-off. The sixth grade teachers (specifically B house) have been a chore. Most do not respond to requests I make to keep tabs on my son & the principal was no help at all. They are there for a paycheck and do NOT use their technical resources to the fullest. They need add'l training in technology & teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

I think Conestoga is great. I just moved hear and I think this is the best school I have ever gone to. Other schools I struggled and had a hard time in, now I am a strate 'A' student and can say I have an ''A' in math!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2008

I have found Conestoga to be a fantastic place for my son. I can't comment on other's experiences, but we consider ourselves very fortunate to be in such a great school. My son loves to go to school every day. He is taught by superb teachers. I can't imagine a better place for him and his friends to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

I agree this school has really gone downhill . I am very disapointed in the lack of leadership in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2006

This middle school has really gone downhill under the current administration. [A] lack of leadership has subjected students to sub-standard teaching and a lack of extra-curricular programs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

Conestoga is a great school! The teachers are supportive and yet have high expectations for my daughter. The teachers send home weekly progress reports so that the parent can monitor progress. My daughter is a sixth grader and new to middle school. Every teacher knew who she was and had very positive remarks about her participation. This school uses technology to the fullest. The have a large computer lab with new Apples! Conestoga has a band program and after school clubs. The activities range from homework club to scrapbooking club to a robotics club! Beautiful facility that is even getting a rock climbing wall (from fund raising). The teachers use technology to their advantage in evaluating reading comprehension and media lab where my daughter will design a bridge in CAD. She'll build it and see who's bridge is the strongest! My son is eighteen and still has his bridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Conestoga is a great school to go to especially in this time where schools are finding lack of funding.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female78%
Male74%
African American83%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities34%
English language learners24%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation22%

Reading

All Students69%
Female69%
Male69%
African American50%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic39%
Multiracial91%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation18%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female83%
Male78%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities34%
English language learners28%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation34%

Reading

All Students82%
Female84%
Male79%
African American71%
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learners11%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation24%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female87%
Male78%
African American56%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial87%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learners47%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation56%

Reading

All Students77%
Female79%
Male74%
African American56%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial77%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learners39%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation34%

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 65%
Hispanic 17% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Black 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12250 SW Conestoga Dr
Beaverton, OR 97008
Phone: (503) 524-1345

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Stephens Academy
Beaverton, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT