Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barnes Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 763 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

We have been at Barnes for 6 yrs in the English classes. My kids are thriving. Barnes has INCREDIBLE teachers and staff, they care and work hard with what they've got (ie. budget cuts/large classrooms). The thing to ask yourself if you want to send your kids to Barnes is, are you comfortable with different races, socio-economic backgrounds, and exposing your children to diversity? Barnes is full of diversity (Spanish, Somalian, Russian,...). All school meetings are 100% bilingual (Spanish). There is a strong two way immersion program (Spanish). There is a large percentage of low income working class families. The school district works hard to make educations at the different elementary schools equal but know that expensive extracurricular activities do not happen without additional fundraising by the parent board (ie. outdoor school).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2014

I have had my kid's in Barnes since my daughter started kindergarten and now is in 3rd grade. My son is in 1st grade this year has been nothing but a problem because my son is a special need's child. I would not recommend this school for anything, especially if you have a special need's child. The principle is all about the Hispanic children which is not right, ever child is important not matter what race they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

Both of my children are in the Two Way Immersion (TWI) program, both started in kindergarten and are currently in 1st and 2nd grade. We speak English at home and I am very impressed at the amount of Spanish that they are learning. I feel that it is a very positive thing to learn a second language at such an early age. For the most part I have been impressed and pleased with the teachers and staff and what they accomplish despite the minimal parental support. I am an active volunteer at Barnes and there seems to be a small core group of us considering the size of the school, that said, it is easy to understand why the teachers and staff are so welcoming and appreciative of volunteers. Overall I am very happy with our experience at Barnes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

Our oldest is in the TWI program and finally enjoys going to school. The staff has been excellent, very involved and hands on. There are some after school options but could be more. Our youngest will be starting the TWI in the fall and can't wait. This school is a much better fit than the last school attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

Both of my children are attending Barnes and I couldn't ask for a better school. The teachers, staff and principle are outstanding. Given all of the budget cuts they have had to endure they are still able to deliver quality education by the best means possible. The parent involvement has increased since my oldest first started attending, but I wish it was more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

Unless your child is lucky enough to enter in Kindergarten and be accepted to the two way immersion program the education is at a very low level. In my child's case most of the classrom was at least 80 % hispanic speakers made it hard for a english speaking child to make friends and learn at the level my child should have been at. The class was seperated into hispanic and english speaking children. My child had to leave class and go to another class for reading and vocabulary. This made it hard for me as a parent to have to navigate through two teachers and very intimidating to express differences of opinion. As for parent nights everything in spanish and then parts explained in english. As far as the first day of school, welcome to ...well could not tell you it was all in spanish and fend for yourself if you didnt know any spanish. Lunch starts around 9:50am and it is like a military op. My childs teachers both years has had to pack up the classroom and say good bye. The classroom starts dissapearing two weeks before school even ends. As for the Teachers they all care but due to the overcrowding everything is in a rush.. I wish english was something to be proud of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

I was disappointed at how this school handled my son's behavior problems and special ed needs. The part-time school psychologist was useless, the principal kept handling problem as disciplinary instead of providing the special ed services he needed -- she seemed clueless. I did like the teacher and other staff there, but not a good place if your child needs extra help. I really wanted to stay local in our home school but learned the hard way that other elementary schools in Beaverton offer a much better choice -- my son is now much happier in another Beaverton school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

Principal and most of the staff are trying their best. Some teachers are wonderful, but some Spanish Immersion teachers undermine and dismiss native English speakers, regardless of other talents kids have. My son has learned quite a bit of Spanish over the years, but his self-confidence as a learner is at zero.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

My son is a Kindergartener at Barnes in the Dual Immersion program and we love it! Our daughter will be going to Barnes next year. The teachers are wonderful, have very open communication, have lots of parental activities, and let the parents be as involved as they want to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Barnes school is very good. As a parent i am very happy with the management and the teachers .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

Both of my kids attended this school, and they both tell me they loved this school. My daughter says this school is her all time favorite out of all the schools she has ever attended. Awesome school... my kids were very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My granddaughter has been going there since 2nd grade, she loves the teachers and learns alot.


Posted August 18, 2009

My son will be starting his 3rd year at Barnes in the fall ('09) and I am very excited about it. I actually moved out of the district and petitioned to have him stay last year. My son was diagnosed with ADHD his first year and I feel the whole staff works closely with him to help him succeed. His 1st and 2nd grade teachers kept open lines of communication with me about his progress and his needs via e-mails on a regular basis. My son loves to GO to school and has loved all of his teachers and counselors. I love the different cultural backgrounds that my son is exposed to. The only thing keeping me from giving it a 5 star rating is that there isn't a before and after school program. My actual rating would be 4 1/2 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

I am impressed on how every staff member cares for each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

We have been at Barnes for 5 years. Here's my take on the good, the bad, and the thought-provoking. GOOD: all-day kindergarten for all kids (last year they had classes of 15-18 in K, 20-23 in 3rd); amazing teachers who are passionate about what they do; big building project with 10 new classrooms; music, PE, art, and library for all students; good computer lab; BIG improvements in behavior and atmosphere; Two-way-immersion program K-5; homework/afterschool programs. BAD: average kid stays at Barnes 2 years (they get them reading at level, and they move on); more transient community means less continuity in school culture/; little parent involvement; no Head Start/afterschool care. THOUGHTS: Lots of 'white flight' in this area--would love to see stats on kids who went here long-term, not just state test scores--could change school rep and recruitment! Hope this helps!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

This is a school that has done an amazing (for the better) turnaround as far as behavior and climate in the past 4 years. It is a really diverse school, with many, many immigrant children from all over the world attending there. Its boundaries lie within the commercial district; therefore, most families live in apartments and don't stay in the area very long. This hurts Barnes, as it doesn't get to show long-term results on state tests. However, the teachers are phenomenal, dedicated, very skilled! The kids get specials, and my child has all-day kindergarten (which costs $600 at the school down the road). They have a well-known Spanish immersion language option for students. It is not a perfect school (very little parent involvement), but it is doing good work, and my oldest had no problems getting into the Arts/Communication Magnet school upon leaving Barnes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

I am so happy with the Barnes staff. Everyone cares so much about these kids it is wounderful. My son will be in 1st. grade next year. He has epilepsy that was diagnosed this year. Every staff member is very involved in making his day to day life better. They have went above and beyond my expectations. I am very proud that my son attends this school. I feel that all the childeren are treated with respect and disaplined in the same way.Parent involvement is highly incouraged and I have found that the bilangual program is great for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

The children are held up to very different standards as far as disciplinary expectations. There is no such thing as a special education classroom at Barnes. The kids with the problems are right along side the normal children.I could not wait until I could move and get my son out of that school. There comes a point when you have to wonder whether you are guilty of exposing your children to bad influences resulting from low socio-economic families. You have to decide to either remove them from that situation or keep on disciplining them for the actions in which are not up to your own standards. I refuse to allow my second year old to keep getting disciplined in the harshest degree for the same things all the other children are getting away with right in front of his eyes. It's frustrating.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female68%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial91%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners54%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female66%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial82%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners37%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female73%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learners40%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female75%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners40%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female47%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female58%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students59%
Female58%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 21%
White 28% 65%
Black 6% 3%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School social worker/counselors(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13730 SW Walker Rd
Beaverton, OR 97005
Phone: (503) 672-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Agia Sophia Academy
Beaverton, OR




Chiquitos School
Portland, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT