Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Beaverton, OR
Students enrolled: 150
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pilgrim Lutheran School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
A family atmosphere. High academic standards! Great test scores! Loving teachers who care about their students' academics, spiritual welfare, and personal lives. Parent volunteers who give countless hours to help make our school shine! Awesome lunch program that features healthy, made- from-scratch, fresh ingredients. A lot to offer for a very reasonable tuition.

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
My son has been attending Pilgrim Lutheran since Kindergarten, and is now in 7th grade. The teachers have all been wonderful, nuturing, caring, and still holding the students to high standards. There is a closeness within the school, even though we don't attend the church. The only change I'd make is that the grades/classes are small, but the flip side is that students receive a lot of individual attention.


Pilgrim Lutheran School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I am writing this review as a former parent, our children no longer attend Pilgrim for a variety of reasons foremost being that we moved quite a bit away. We had 2 elementary age children, one preschooler and had been a part of the Pilgrim family for almost 8 years. That being said, no school is perfect but Pilgrim is definitely above average. I never doubted the quality of teaching staff (in all transparency we only went up through grade 4) or quality of education our children received. The educational needs of our kids were always met and often exceeded, we had a grade appropriate student and an accelerated student, both came out of this facility with strong academics. The part however, that you can't measure on any standardized test is the sense of family, caring, and community that exist here, your child is not a number or just another student. Every staff member has a vested interest in each and every kid that is palpable throughout all that they do. Pilgrim Lutheran School was no longer the right fit for our family but it might be for yours and is worth checking out!

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Our children have thrived at Pilgrim, and we have never looked back. Classroom size is great, activities and programs for the kids are fantastic, and the feeling of family is second to none. We are often asked where our kids go to school when out and about. When we tell them "Pilgrim Lutheran" we almost always hear what a great school it is, or that they are considering visiting to move their kids over from public. I agree with the last commenter. You have to come and see the school, visit the classrooms, and see Pilgrim in action.

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Pilgrim Lutheran School has been great for all 3 of my kids. My youngest started in Pre-4 and went all the way through the 8th grade. They were fully equipped for success in high school and beyond, not only academically but socially, as well.


Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Pilgrim school is a small, family-focused school that cares deeply about their students and it shows. We love our kindergarten teacher Mrs Hafer!

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Great teachers, small class sizes,learn and grow in your faith each day! Academically rigorous. Exciting opportunities for all ages.

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
I do not know where the previous reviewer is coming from. As a parent of students in this school I could not be more pleased. Every single teacher is more then qualified. As far as the technology push, I could not be more pleased, these days you have to be tech savvy and the opportunities pilgrim is providing all students with in this regard will be very beneficial. Many private schools refer out or turn away kids with special needs, pilgrim is more then accepting of all students and will do anything they can to provide students with any sort of specialized care or instruction. It is really unfortunate to see someone give such an inaccurate review of a growing school. There is a new principal in his 2nd year now and he has an amazing confidence in and inspiring dream for this school. Parents of students that have graduated from Pilgrim find that their kids are better prepared come high school then many others and HS teachers in the area have talked about how impressed they are with students coming from Pilgrim. As with any place, product, etc you can't base an opinion off of one "bad" review. You have to check it out for yourself.


Pilgrim Lutheran School 2

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
We have 3 kids attending this school and this will be their last year (we will most likely pull them mid year) The school has steadily declined in the past 7 years, almost as if they are still striving to figure out their identity. There has been a recent over zealous push for technology integration that seemed to come out of nowhere. Staffing consistency always seems to be a problem (numerous times there were grade levels without a teacher right up until August) along with teacher and student retention. Enrollment is declining at an alarming rate and we do not believe it is socially healthy to have our children in a class size less than 10. The quality of the teachers is questionable, the 3rd grade teacher is phenomenal while most others seem average at best. We are in the process of touring our local public school and are blown away by the resources available (Pilgrim has no exceptions for Talented and Gifted students nor for students that may need some extra academic help) along with clubs, sports, and extracurricular special interest groups. Pilgrim is a sinking ship and we are getting out, I would be surprised if they still exist as a school in 5-8 years.

Pilgrim Lutheran School 5

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
Both of my children attended Pilgrim (P3 thur 8th) and when they got to public high school they were better prepared then the other students. Both of my children's high school teachers have comments on the great education the kids received before high school. Love the teachers and staff. Very friendly and always helpful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pilgrim Lutheran School
5650 SW Hall Blvd, Beaverton, OR  97005
(503) 644-8697
Last modified Pilgrim Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Pilgrim Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top