Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chehalem Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 510 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2011

The teachers have way too many days off. There are really only 8 months of school now. A lot of the work comes home unfinished and at the end of the year. Hopefully parents have time to help their kids finish......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

I attended this school from 1999-2004, and I had a blast. Teachers I had were awesome, until I got a new music teacher my final year.


Posted April 16, 2010

I have had the pleasure of having two children attend this school. Imho the teachers, office staff and janitors make the school. This years principal needs Donald Trump on the board...To say....:You're fired!! unprofessional, does the old do as i say not as i do. I really am thrlled we are transfering next year because she is driving this school furter into the abyss. I applaud the staff that is wonderful and concerned about he pupils. I dont think the principal even remembers her own name!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

If it wasn't for my child's teacher, I would have transferred him in October. The principal is incredibly unprofessional and does not follow district guidelines. Most of the staff is really lacking in people skills. We are looking for other alternatives for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I see that no one has posted anything about Chehalem for a year. Beaverton School District faced a HUGE budget deficit for this school year and all schools were victim to cuts in budget. That being said, Chehalem has made huge efforts to keep that from effecting the students and classrooms. My son just started Kindergarten last month and I was very concerned because he is so much more advanced than the rest of his class. His teacher, Mrs. Rosenquist, deserves so much respect and appreciation for the work that she does in her classroom. She has made (and is making) a special curriculum for my son to keep him challenged and thriving. I have found that all of the teachers and staff really care and take pride in their school. The new Principal has some great goals for the year. We are very excited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Well I think Chehalem is full of fakes who pretend to care.Except some teachers.They make promises they don't keep.That is what i have seen for the last 2 years.I fell the parents who work there don't give new parents any chance.I guess we all feel different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

We chose to support this school this year as our annual giving project. We found the staff uniformly to be involved, knowledgeable and caring. The school is clean, open, and friendly. And the library is exceptional. The children all seemed to be quite happy and enthasiastic about being in school. I would not hesitate to send my grandchildren to this school.


Posted December 27, 2007

This is a nice school. Some teachers could improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My daughter has been going to Chehalem since last fall. My stepsons used to go there from 2002-2004. This school had made extra effort to make sure class sizes are low (around 18) when other schools in the area are getting overcrowded. I think Chehalem gets a bad reputation because it has high student turnover due to many apartments in the area, and has lower test scores because of the non-English speaking student population. I think that in spite of that, Chehalem has produced well taught children with tolerance for others and our community. I would recommend Chehalem Elementary for anyone that would like their children going to a school that has a lot of parent involvement in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

I've have had 2 children atChehalem .. Principals.Mrs Boohr..Mr Don Martin. Both were very visual in the school .eg: Caffeteria,.Playground ,Hallways and classrooms.It is not in my personality to say. I find our new Principal 'not open door 'What I thought was for for all students and parents , for his office to be approachable and available.I find it the opposite. A dissapointed parent Geraldine Keele
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

My son attended kindergarten at Chehalem in the 2004-05 schoolyear and will be going there for first gradethis year. The school is safe, with many adults (teachers, aides, parent volunteers, office staff and administration) visible and interacting with students all the time. My son's teacher was outstanding. The teachers we met were all warm, but firm, and they really meet the children where they are and move them forward. My daughter will start kindergarten at Chehalem in autumn 2006 and we are thrilled. Though we had very positive experiences with the previous principal, we have already met the new principal and are delighted with his plans for the school and leadership style.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

Chehalem Elementary is staffed with caring and professional educators. Like many other public elementary schools in Oregon, Chehalem faces many challenges that at times are difficult to overcome even by the most highly qualified teacher, specialist or administrator (i.e.: class size, children from poverty). In order to ensure student success a parent must become engaged in the education process and communicate weekly or as often as possible with those staff members that influence their child. Parents know their children best and can be of grate support to the staff by sharing information about their child as well as by making sure that time is spent on homework and reading on a daily basis. Chehalem s academic programs are strong and they focus on quality teaching and learning. However, children will have a much higher rate of academic success when parents become engaged in their education program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

As with all elementary schools, there are quality teachers, and then there are less than quality teachers. At Chehalem, a parent is subjected to some teachers who are more concerned at median level teaching and not to the individual growth of each child. As parents, we have experienced our child start out as accelerated and digress to average or below due to the lack of teaching skills, teacher organizational skills, and teacher communication skills. Overcrowding of classrooms is certainly a concern, but only the best teachers are able to create an adequate learning environment for the children. The office staff is exceptional and very helpful. The library is wonderful and packed with books. The principal is very visible and available, but doesn't handle parent complaints well. The school is clean and posted with many pieces of children's artwork.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2004

I totally disagree with the previous review and i hope that other parents don't base their opinions on the experiance of this parent. I have had two children attend their entire elementary education in the past 5 years. The teachers are excellent with the children, attending to their needs and making sure that each child has a chance to grow individually. The principal as well as the administrative staff is caring and quickly addresses issues about safety and quality of education. The school has provided my child with new computers, a book club, and community activities to enhance her learning. Last year, our children were even able to perform a musical, complete with lighting, wardrobe, soundsystem...And all children, including special needs children were included. It really showed me that chehalem and its faculty are the picture of successful education, community leadership and family involvement. Please support the educators there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

This school is not a good place for a child that has physical needs. The staff doesn't know how to handle the needs of a disable child. They have very poor communication with parents, they take what a 5yr old says and act on it as if it was a fact. This school is only about money and what make their day easier. I had to take my child out of their school mid year to get her to a school that can accomidate her needs. This school is a headach and has made us do the run around to many time then i care to count. I also will be calling the school board on this.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female61%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners22%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%

Reading

All Students65%
Female77%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learners24%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female55%
Male51%
African American33%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners19%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Reading

All Students64%
Female62%
Male65%
African American67%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners38%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female67%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander46%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial86%
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation13%

Reading

All Students64%
Female70%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial71%
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female76%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander46%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 65%
Hispanic 37% 21%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Black 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15555 SW Davis Rd
Beaverton, OR 97007
Phone: (503) 672-3515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT