Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
My daughter entered this school two years behind in math. Now, in only two years of attendance, she is a year ahead. The fact that the school is arts-focused doesn't in anyway lessen the other academic standards.

Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted March 23, 2009
- a student
ACMA IS AMAZING. Sure, we're poor , that's who we are. Quirky and weird and brilliantly artistic and smart. Everyone is so close and we're not blood, but we're like a big family. Teachers and students also have good relationships and if your child wants a place to explore and see what they are capable of, then ACMA is where you need to be. Careful, don't take it for granted. ACMA is happy and weird and wacky, you are given the freedom you yearn for, but it is only a place for people that can be serious when it is required and that can be themselves when no seriousness is in fact required. In the last 6 years, all ACMA Seniors have graduated and gone onto a secondary learning place. Most of our students are qualified to go to places like Summa. I'd rather be Da Vinci than Einstein.


Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School 5

Posted March 17, 2008
- a parent
The combination of small size and a focus on a particular track (in this case, arts, music, dance) attract passionate and committed students, faculty, staff and parents. The challenges include an old facility, no lockers, poor cafeteria building, almost no sports & PE. But great people focused on their passion will always trump a nice building with a generic program. But facilities do help and the performing arts center due in Fall 2009 will help the program bloom.

Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School 5

Posted February 12, 2005
- a parent
This school has provided an amazing academic setting for my 8th grade son. The high academic expectations and the sequential arts curriculum has given him a pre-professional arts experience in a very caring environment. We came from a private school to ACMA. The school is small and that is part of the great experience.

Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School 3

Posted January 19, 2005
- a student
Good school, but the kids can be very immature to others. The highschoolers can be the definition of bullies to the middleschoolers. Dont recommend it because of the horrible experience you could potentially have. Okay education.


Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School 5

Posted September 23, 2004
- a student
This is a really great school for people who wouldn't fit in at othre schools and who want to express their creativity. The diversity is really great.

Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School 3

Posted September 01, 2004
- a parent
While this school is great for performing arts they are demanding alot from Junior High students without evaluating each students potential. It is sad that it has to struggle like this as it could be one of the greatest schools in this area. My daughter will be going for her second year, but she will not go for high School as she wants an International Baccalaureate type program for her high school years. For a magnet academy there is a severe lack of Organization in the way that the school runs. I believe taht alot of this is based on space. There are no lockers and they don't have the solid state of affairs that you would expect to find in this type of school.

Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School 3

Posted December 11, 2003
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School
11375 SW Center St, Beaverton, OR  97005
(503) 672-3700
Last modified Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8
Arts & Communication Middle Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top