Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Private
Beaverton, OR
Students enrolled: 163
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


German American School of Portland 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
GSP is a great school and our daughter loves going to there. The teachers and staff are friendly, creative and professional which creates a wonderful learning environment for our daughter. GSP offers a well rounded and challenging curriculum that includes Music, Art, PE, German, English, Math and Science.

German American School of Portland 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
When I first entered GSP almost 10 (yes, ten!) years ago - I immediately fell for the school, and my first thought was: "I would love to have a child so he/ she can attend this wonderful school!" Now I am the happy mother of a GSP first grader who has attended the school since preschool, and we all still appreciate the unique opportunity for bilingual and bicultural education this school offers, along with a few other perks like the extensive library including thousands of German books, the music room with five pianos/ keyboards and other instruments or the huge sports room which allows for much needed exercise throughout the day even when it is pouring outside. The quality of teachers and other staff is just the icing and cherry on a beautifully layered cake, the blending of both American and German curriculum makes the school's program a most thorough and well-balanced educational experience. A lot of planning and outstanding efforts go into providing diverse opportunities for learning and practicing important concepts through different methods, so students with different learning styles and various talents are encouraged to pursue the best that they can be. We love GSP!


German American School of Portland 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is in pre-k and has been at GSP since last year. We only have great things to say about the school. Great teachers, outstanding curriculum, great culture and environment and most importantly our daughter loves the school, the teachers and her friends! She loves going to school and wishes she could go on the weekends. She is fluent in Spanish and English and now she is becoming fluent in German. The great activities that they do including art, gym class, music class and the Second Step program have made her grow and think in a unique way. The two main reasons why we decided for GSP were discipline and curriculum and we have been very impressed with these two areas. Finally, we are very happy with the low student/teacher ratio. She gets more attention and participation which helps her learn and experience more.

German American School of Portland 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
We have 2 kids at GSP and are very happy with the quality of education and sense of community at GSP. Our children are getting an excellent education, learning 2 languages simultaneously and still have alot of fun! We highly recommend GSP

German American School of Portland 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
Mom: "What do you like best about GSP?" 5 year old daughter: "The teachers. They work very hard all year long and so does everyone else." The school is amazingly organized, well ran and great introduction to German language and culture. A truly great language school. Before and after care are also very good.


German American School of Portland 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
This school is more than just a school with great academics. For many of us it is our second home. Parents and students find lasting friendships that enrich our horizons. My son enjoys music and art class as much as spending time in the lab exploring scientific concepts and being a big buddy to a kindergarten student. As a mom I value an education philosophy that cares about my son's personality as much as his academic success.

German American School of Portland 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
We love GSP! It's a very welcoming and nice place. The teachers are very attentive and knowledgeable. Our son is looking forward to each day in school!

German American School of Portland 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
When visiting GSP for the first time (4 years ago!), we immediately felt welcome. The school is made up of a community of involved, dedicated and interested families and staff. We have been so impressed with our daughter's growth (intellectually and socially) since her start here in pre-K. This is a wonderful school, and well worth the investment we've made.


German American School of Portland 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
As a German family living in the U.S. we're very happy to send our kids to the GSP. This way our kids won't have any disadvantage, once they change over to a school in Germany again. In contrary, with the English language added (for grade school) and all the multicultural and multinational aspects that melt together in this school, they have a great advantage now and later on. We truly love the high level of education at this school as well as the extraordinarily friendly, professional staff. We feel like being part of a big family there. In preschool and kindergardten as well as in grade school our kids experience a safe, multifaceted learning environment. Our kids love to go to the GSP.

German American School of Portland 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
Having visited all the immersion schools in Portland, I felt especially welcomed in GSP. My son started in Kindergarten and now he is a 1st grader. I am very impressed with the dedication and creativeness of the teacher in making learning a new language a fun experience. Coming from a non-German speaking family, he is able to converse in German after one semester.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

German American School of Portland
3900 Southwest Murray Boulevard, Beaverton, OR  97005
(503) 626-9089
Last modified German American School of Portland is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
German American School of Portland Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top