Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vose Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2014

We LOVED this school and the staff there. We moved to Beaverton from out of state and found a wonderful family here of caring staff and many who have become life long family friends. This school was both an incredible academic and social environment for our children. Not only are my children both well skilled at speaking Spanish they also have an appreciation and comfort for other cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

While they do tend to show preference to spanish speaking families, this is likely the result of the fact that the majority of the school comes from the hispanic community. That said, my child has been in the immersion program since first grade and, while I haven't like all the teachers, the program itself is wonderful and my son now can read, speak and write in spanish very well. They also have some fun activities, such as their unicycle club (which rode in the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade this past year). There is a lot of parental involvement, there would probably be even more but they tend to schedule family activities at rather early times. My big peeve is that if you send a child to school with a coat, there's a decent chance that child will leave without a coat. Coats lost on the playground do not ever make it to lost and found.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great teachers & staff, wonderful immersion program and a community asset.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

I completely disagree with the second comment. Who is responsible for teaching your child? You are the teacher at home. There is only so much a teacher can teach every single child, to pull out your child from a school that strives to help every single student seems a little hypocritical to me. This school gives parents the option for Spanish Immersion and if you choose not to go with it, your child will have plenty of attention from a regular/normal English speaking school setting. I am a parent of both the immersion and non-immersion classes and both are equally great! All children deserve the opportunity to learn English or Spanish and is up to parents to continue this teaching/learning experience at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

This is a wonderful school which has truly blossomed under Principal Flores' leadership. The teachers and staff truly care about the kids and it shows in their teaching. My son has been in the Spanish immersion program since Kindergarten and while it has not always been easy for him it has been a wonderful opportunity. There is not a lot of parent participation - but if you have the time you are sure to be welcomed and appreciated for it. I have seen that letting a child help other children in class is a wonderful skill builder - it solidifies known skills, is an example to other children and builds self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

My son has been attending this school since Kindergarten. He is non-Spanish speaking and excels in most all areas of academics. Most of the teachers'' time is spent with non-English speaking children trying to get the state scores higher. Where does this leave my child? He helps teacher the other children but who is teaching him? We will be changing schools next year. If your child needs help with English, this is the school for you. If not, you may want to transfer as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

Our daughter started 5th Grade at Vose with very limited English ability a year ago. She has had an absolutely excellent ESL program and the most caring, understanding and professional teacher one can imagine. The school has a very well run after school program with HS volunteers who truly enjoy spending time with the kids. Most parents we've met work full-time, so their involvement is limited for obvious reasons. Yet there are numerous activites at school when parents are invited. A relatively large number of students is Spanish speaking and the school's overall character reflects that. We have never had a single problem with safety, discipline, or any other routine school activities or otherwise. Our daugther couldn't wait to go back to school every single day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

My daughter was in an Spanish-English immersion program in Kindergarten, and I feel like it is a valuable skill to learn multiple languages at an early age. Now she speaks more fluent Spanish than me and I have studied the language for years as an adult. I would assume that there are also Spanish speaking children that are benifiting from this program also. She just started second grade and I liked the fact that she had the same teacher for Kindergarten and First grade. She did complain of some inappropriate behavior by some of the students on the playground. I feel that improvements in supervision may be benificial to students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female32%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners24%
Migrant<=5%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Female48%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners32%
Migrant<=5%
Academically gifted88%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female44%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners39%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female60%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners37%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female51%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learners30%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female58%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners23%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students56%
Female53%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learners26%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 75% 21%
White 18% 65%
Black 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11350 SW Denney Rd
Beaverton, OR 97008
Phone: (503) 672-3590

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Stephens Academy
Beaverton, OR




St Cecilia School
Beaverton, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT