Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whitford Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 750 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

My child attended this school for three years and it was a nightmare. Most of the teachers dont care about the students and ignore bullying happening right in front of them. My child was harassed and bullied all three years there and hated it. I have talked to several other parents who have had the same experience. BSD doesn't care and wont help you either. I know of 4 other parents that moved just to get their kid(s) out of this school. It is a terrible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2010

I actually currently go here, but I am in an advanced program called Summa South Academy which is within the school. I love this school and the teachers are fantastic. Most of the teachers don't simply teach, but they teach you how to learn. They want you to succeed in life and want to help with anything they can. The teachers encourage questions and are always willing to help. The school is over forty years old but we are all trying our best to make this a green school. Over all, I give this school a big thumbs up!


Posted October 15, 2010

The principal leadership at this school is strong and progressive. I found that the majority of teachers are also active educators with a passion for teaching. There are some teachers who really shouldn't be teaching anymore. They've lost their passion for the job and are relying upon their tenure status to carry them through to retirement. This was not my first choice school for my child, but we didn't win the lottery and so we are attending Whitford. The culture is a little shocking for the parent who 3 months ago had a child in elementary school. Middle School is a big change and it seems to come about quickly at Whitford. I'm not completely thrilled with the school and have implemented substantial inquiry support at home (as the class sizes are just too big to teach to anyone beyond the mid-low range). They want to be better...but resources aren't there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

It's my middle school (although then it was a junior high school) alma mater, and some of the best teachers I ever had were at Whitford.


Posted April 9, 2010

The school does a decent job of educating, which is certainly important, but does nothing to eradicate bullying, which is running rampant at this school. While there are 'policies and procedures' for indiviual incidents, nothing is being done about the continual pattern of bullying by a group of thugs that are allowed to push others around both physically and mentally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

Overall, I have been quite happy with this school. I would like to see more homework assistance, as I believe many students struggle in this area and I would have liked to have seen homework club go thru the end of the year. Also, the adminstration changes have been a bit frustrating, I adored Mr.Dahl, I think he was right on level with the students and while firm, they respected him and he was easy to communicate with. Also, teachers like Mr.Dery and Mr.Seig and Ms.Matthews, and others make the middle school experience a little nicer and add some fun to an often akward transitional time for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

The teaching at this school is fokay, but the way they let kids act is horrible. I have recently been bullied and informed all of my teachers about it and they've done nothing to help. So the bullying at that school is horrible, but the teaching is good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2008

the best school around and they have like the best band and drama teacher mr.dairy
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

This school is a great school with lots of fun activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female70%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learners12%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female63%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial88%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learners<=5%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female69%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial75%
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female84%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial90%
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learners23%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female78%
Male69%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial91%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learners23%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female75%
Male61%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic42%
Multiracial91%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 65%
Hispanic 36% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Black 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7935 SW Scholls Ferry Rd
Beaverton, OR 97008
Phone: (503) 672-3680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Stephens Academy
Beaverton, OR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT