Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aloha High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2013

Great community and great teachers! Always helping students and the school is clean also! The Best school I've ever attended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

This has been the best school for my 2013 Graduate. My 14 year old will be a freshman this fall, and my 11 year old will follow suit in a few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

I disagree with your 5/10 rating putting Aloha behind Beaverton and Sunset. Aloha has the best AP classes in the whole district. The staff, students, and the community are wonderful. Aloha is really invested in our kids future. There aren't scary gangs or lots of drugs either as some people think. Its a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

I'm a senior in the class of 2010 and I've found Aloha to be a great experience. I took a math class at another high school as an 8th grader to get a leg up on my studies and found it to be a very scary (and in my case, violent) experience. But my first day at aloha a 7 foot tall senior that people at other schools would (racistly) judge to be a gang member walked up to me and said 'you look lost, need any help?' and explained the hall system at aloha and the best way to get around. i find it interesting that people commend the kind of students who would shove a kid against a wall and spit on his jacket but judge and condemn the kind of students who would assist a student they don't even know.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

It is a school with so much diversity and so much to offer our kids!


Posted October 3, 2009

Aloha is an amazing school. It is a school that helps its community in ways that are not seen. IT is a school that takes pride in all it does. Whether win lose or draw you can bet that these kids are a class act. It is the lowest socio-economic high school in the district but it still does well. The class of 2009 graduated with the awarding of over 7 million dollars in scholarships. This school gives and gives even though we are not the richest school in town. These students raise money to help one of its own through the sparrow project. They adopt over 20 families during the holidays, They raise thousands of dollars for Doernbecher's children hospital. These are the things that people do not hear about. What this school teaches about community at large cannot be measured in school grades.


Posted October 3, 2009

The sense of community is so strong- amazing staff and amazing kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Aloha was my first high school and it was the best way to start a high school year, aloha is so diverse and welcoming. I compared every other school after that to aloha and no other school could compare. aloha is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2009

I graduated there in 2007 and I never wanted to switch schools. I loved how cool a lot of the teachers were and how much they would help with homework that you may not have understood.


Posted October 14, 2008

Aloha is an AMAZING school, by far the best in the state (in my opinion) The teachers are super friendly and the students are so caring and supportive. Just because Aloha looks like a jail on the outside, it is the exact opposite on the inside. I love Aloha and I would STRONGLY recommend ANY and EVERY parent to enroll their child there! GO WARRIORS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2008

I love Aloha high school, I wouldn't want to go to any other. The teachers are great and the school has really improved. We got a whole new lunch room which is amazing, and have tons of banners around school representing leadership. People who think aloha used to be a jail, need to get their facts straight. Yes the front of the school has no windows, but thats because when it was built it was built to keep heat and air conditioning in, instead of it passing through the windows which creates more global warming. I love my school and I try to stand up for it, and share my personal thoughts.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2008

People need to know the truth... I am a 12th grader this year (2007-2008) and I did not like the cliques and peer pressure at Aloha High School. The classes were over-crowded and students sitting on the floors or where-ever. Many of the teachers act as if they do not want to assist us students so they do nothing. I tolerated this high school and its cliques for 2-1/2 years before I said ENOUGH and stopped attending the school; even though I stopped attending classes, some teachers still passed me in their classes. Because I still wanted to learn, I requested a transfer to another school. The transfer took 26-weeks to be processed... I am happy to be gone from Aloha High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2008

Our daughter absolutely disliked attending this high school. The teachers were unavailable during school hours to answer questions from students; the 32+ teachers my daughter had from the fall 2003-to-fall 2007 were not interested in teaching high school students. Our daughter 'gave-up' during her senior year and dropped out - despite good support at home - and enrolled at Merlo Night School where she received the instruction she needed. Aloha High School has cliques and small youth gangs - and does absolutely nothing to break them up. It is my wife's and my view AHS should be closed until it gets better teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

Aloha High School is by far one of thee best schools around. Of course I understand the implications of such a statement, may be heavy, I still conclude that it's true. Point and case, a link to a documentary made about the school. http://myspacetv.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=27442200
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

I have been very impressed with Aloha High School. The principal is a very solid leader, very in touch with the students. She just has a special touch-she conveys great values and really cares about the students. My daughter seems to be thriving at Aloha. All of the teachers are top notch-we are very happy with Aloha.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

Aloha High School is far and away the worst school I had ever attended. The adult staff there does not give a rip about the physical safety of the students. It made it extremely disturbing to come to school there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2007

I am a warrior of the class of 2010 at Aloha. It is a amazing school, the teachers are so helpful and sweet and the sports are great. There is a amount of diversity but the environment is happy and overall a very good school. I lovelovelove the school spirit and pride that everyone has here at Aloha. Its a pretty safe place and it makes me excited to wake up in the morning!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2006

Aloha High School is the best school in the district. Not only do the students have pride in their school, but academically too. The staff is superb and go out of their way to help kids with their work and teach life lessons, as well as the athletics staff. Since going to both Jesuit and Beaverton (both with non-media drug problems), nothing has compared to Aloha. My kids are most impressed, by far, with the entire high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

I do not agree with Barbs comments regarding Aloha HS. I moved from another district and have been nothing but disappointed in this HS. Barb states Aloha has a very diverse community which she feel is effecting the test scores, what she failed to look at was the test scores of the other Beaverton schools which are just as diverse or more so with much, much better test scores then Aloha. When you have shop teachers teaching Literacy workshop there is a problem.. I will say they have top rate counselors who seem to really care, but they feel just as frustrated with this school as I do. I hope more parents step up and voice their concerns as I have to make this school a better place for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

Aloha High is an extremely strong school in academics, extracurricular activities and community involvement. The AP (advanced placement) program is the strongest in the district, testing more students annually than larger, more affluent schools. The teaching staff is outstanding, as it the administrative team. Tests scores published in the paper give a very narrow view of a school. Aloha has a very diverse community, which does affect standardized test scores. Students who are serious about school do very well and are more than prepared for college. The coaches and extracurricular activities directors are top quality, giving students the opportunity to learn life skills through these means. Winning is important to everyone, but so is playing with class and being a good person. Aloha rates supreme!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2010.

2010

 
 
65%
Science

2010

 
 
51%
Writing

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female64%
Male65%
African American53%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial71%
Native American50%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learners17%
Migrant38%
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female85%
Male80%
African American67%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial85%
Native American67%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learners6%
Migrant50%
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students61%
Female60%
Male62%
African American36%
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic39%
Multiracial73%
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted94%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students62%
Female73%
Male52%
African American54%
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial73%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners6%
Migrant<=5%
Academically gifted92%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 65%
Hispanic 29% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Black 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18550 SW Kinnaman Rd
Beaverton, OR 97007
Phone: (503) 259-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Community School
Beaverton, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT