Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Stephens Academy

Private | K-12 | 170 students

We are best known for classical Christian education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Beaverton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $214,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 16 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

St. Stephen's is a unique school with a vision for the future. From the earliest grades, it is apparent that the goal is to guide students toward a successful outcome as a graduate of the school. Children are inspired toward learning and using their minds and talents to their greatest ability and for God's glory. The school uses weekly printed and electronic communication and an online system that allows parents to see what their child's homework is for the week. Families come from a wide area and many different backgrounds, and are encouraged to be active in various roles within the school. The administration and board have outlined a careful plan to grow the school while maintaining the small class sizes and sense of unity within the school that we parents treasure for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

For most students this school provides an excellent education and consistent environment. The teachers are caring and studious. This school is not however is not flexible enough to accommodate different learning styles and disabilities, which can lead to student, parent, and teacher frustration. Communication is also an issue here. It is not uncommon to learn about a field trip or special event less than a week prior to its occurrence. This is compounded by the secretaries utter refusal to use E-mail as a means of communication. Another issue I have with the school is that the leadership does not seem to understand that they are there to serve the school s students and families, not the other way around. Also understand that the onsite church is in strict control of the school, this including who is on the board and who is hired to work here. This has lead to a hiring practice that appears to favor church members over all others, including professional educators. As for parent involvement, there are a few core families that form the primary click. This click does very little to promote additional family involvement, so do not except a warm welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

It s our daughters second year at the school and we have to say that St. Stephen s is a blessing to our family. The school no only excels academically, it also builds the character of a child. The staff is very dedicated and provides a loving and safe environment. Would recommend the school to any family who truly cares about their child s education and spiritual growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

As a parent of very active boys, I was not sure how our boys would do in a very structured classical academic school setting. SSA however has been a perfect school choice for our family. Our boys love going to school; they are challenged and kept engaged throughout their school day. This is not a sit in your seat and do worksheets school. The academics are wonderful and the overall school culture is helping to create boys and girls who are respectful, kind and compassionate people. We love the Christian worldview that our children learn through at SSA. We recommend SSA to any parent who wants a classical Christian education for their child. It would be difficult to go to any other school after being at SSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Teaching the next generation of kids to think on their own, care for others and learn how God plays a larger part in our world. My two boys have only been at this school for a few months and it finally feels that our values as a family continue when they walk in the classroom. The small classroom size also allows for more concentrated teaching. It is a school we are very happy with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

We are very pleased with the small class sizes, the excellent teachers and staff, and the high quality of education or son has received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

St. Stephens provides a world class education in an enriching environment. The faculty to student ratio is kept low enough to allow for the one on one teaching that is required to equip our children for current and future success in their studies. As a Christ centered school the education and comittment to excellence cannot be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

SSA is a wonderful place for children to learn and thrive. Excellent academics using the Classical learning structure, caring staff, and Christian principles make it a school that I hope to send all my children through to graduation. Great facility, and solid plans looking toward the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

If there was an option for 6 stars, it would still not be enough. St. Stephens has exceeded our expectations and desires. Our student has gained so much support and knowledge in such a short amount of time. They don't let a young mind eager to learn, go to waste. They are loving and kind with so much fun, amidst setting high expectations and standards for the kids. Behavior is important, and they address it, but the heart is eternal and that is their priority. I couldn't be happier knowing she learns more about who God is on a daily basis and in everything they teach. I could go on....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

The school is ok. I a. Not sure if my kid happy there . I will stay another year and see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

St. Stephen's Academy the best education around, although the rules are a bit strict. My kids have an excellent classical education and will be well-equipped for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

Our son entered St. Stephen's at 9th grade after homeschooling during his elementary and junior high years. While this was quite a different learning environment, the staff and students helped him make the transition with little difficulty. The teachers at St. Stephen's are wonderful role models who have inspired him to work hard and enjoy learning and have also provided lots of extracurricular activities in the form of sports, drama, and a trip to Washington D. C. During every class, he is challenged by the coursework and learns every subject as an integrated part of the world God made. Throughout the year, I have seen not only his mind change, but also his heart change as he comes to know God and His creation more fully. Because of spending his high school years at St. Stephen's, my son will have an excellent academic education, but most importantly, he will know what is true, good, and beautiful and know why. Every school day is spent internalizing a Biblical worldview which enables him to confidently share his faith with those around him. I am thankful that the money and time invested in St. Stephen's now is preparing my son for the rest of his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Why St. Stephens? There are many schools in Portland. SSA is the only school that complements our educational priorities for truth, virtue, and beauty. The children are educated in God's world in light of God's Word - and love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

St. Stephen s Academy stands out for the caring investment the teachers and administrators make in each child. They take the time to know and understand each student, what motivates them and how best to academically serve them. We greatly appreciate the high academic standards that St. Stephen s employs. The students are taught to be critical thinkers that can analyze, deconstruct and draw their own conclusion to a complex situation or problem. The academics are rigorous at every grade level, and the teachers are fully invested in each student to help them navigate the challenging curriculum. The staff does not let a student under-perform, but rather proactively work with the parents and student to bring the child back to an academically successful level. We have been very impressed with the hands-on stance the staff takes and how this motivates every student to achieve. If you desire to provide your child with an academic foundation that will propel into college, as well as positively shape them for life, then you don t have to search any longer. St. Stephen s Academy will equip your child with the tools of success for today, and for wherever tomorrow may take them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

We could not ask for a better school! Caring & dedicated teachers/staff, small class sizes, curriculum that is relevant to the child's learning style/ability and a warm and hospitable environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Our only child, 2nd grader, began attending St. Stephen s last year. We could not ask for a better school for him. As Christian parents, St. Stephen s provides our son with a Christian worldview, classical education, and an inclusive and welcoming environment. Curriculum is challenging and the school has clear rules and expectations for both students and parents; our son is thriving and we are delighted to be involved in his learning. From day one, St. Stephen s has proved to stand in what its vision is for its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

Both of my children started attending St. Stephen's academy this year. They came from another private school whose curriculum was weak. They had some catching up to do. St. Stephen's has great curriculum and amazing teachers! The teachers are dedicated in their teaching and want their students to learn and thrive. The teacher's take the time to understand how the child learns and they are willing to stay after school on their own time to help them succeed! Great school, great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

Although a great school, SSA is a bit strict with pointless rules. For an example, the uniform rules are against anything modern or "in style". Also the books that we are required to read are very boring and do not appeal to the children. Aside from that, the teachers are very dedicated and do care about the children that they teach.


Posted August 20, 2009

Excellent small private school in the Beaverton Area. We started at SSA 6 years ago when our son was in 1st grade. Now all of our children attend and we are excited for the education they are receiving. They will be well prepared for life after high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • John Breckenridge
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian (PCA)
Associations
  • ACCS
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (866) 459-7715

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Archery
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Archery
  • Cross country
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Fiber arts club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7275 SW Hall Blvd
Beaverton, OR 97008
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 646-4617

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT