Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Beaverton, OR
Students enrolled: 213
Before care: No
After care: No

5 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Stephens Academy 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
St. Stephen's is a unique school with a vision for the future. From the earliest grades, it is apparent that the goal is to guide students toward a successful outcome as a graduate of the school. Children are inspired toward learning and using their minds and talents to their greatest ability and for God's glory. The school uses weekly printed and electronic communication and an online system that allows parents to see what their child's homework is for the week. Families come from a wide area and many different backgrounds, and are encouraged to be active in various roles within the school. The administration and board have outlined a careful plan to grow the school while maintaining the small class sizes and sense of unity within the school that we parents treasure for our kids.

St. Stephens Academy 2

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
For most students this school provides an excellent education and consistent environment. The teachers are caring and studious. This school is not however is not flexible enough to accommodate different learning styles and disabilities, which can lead to student, parent, and teacher frustration. Communication is also an issue here. It is not uncommon to learn about a field trip or special event less than a week prior to its occurrence. This is compounded by the secretaries utter refusal to use E-mail as a means of communication. Another issue I have with the school is that the leadership does not seem to understand that they are there to serve the school s students and families, not the other way around. Also understand that the onsite church is in strict control of the school, this including who is on the board and who is hired to work here. This has lead to a hiring practice that appears to favor church members over all others, including professional educators. As for parent involvement, there are a few core families that form the primary click. This click does very little to promote additional family involvement, so do not except a warm welcome.


St. Stephens Academy 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
It s our daughters second year at the school and we have to say that St. Stephen s is a blessing to our family. The school no only excels academically, it also builds the character of a child. The staff is very dedicated and provides a loving and safe environment. Would recommend the school to any family who truly cares about their child s education and spiritual growth.

St. Stephens Academy 5

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of very active boys, I was not sure how our boys would do in a very structured classical academic school setting. SSA however has been a perfect school choice for our family. Our boys love going to school; they are challenged and kept engaged throughout their school day. This is not a sit in your seat and do worksheets school. The academics are wonderful and the overall school culture is helping to create boys and girls who are respectful, kind and compassionate people. We love the Christian worldview that our children learn through at SSA. We recommend SSA to any parent who wants a classical Christian education for their child. It would be difficult to go to any other school after being at SSA.

St. Stephens Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
Teaching the next generation of kids to think on their own, care for others and learn how God plays a larger part in our world. My two boys have only been at this school for a few months and it finally feels that our values as a family continue when they walk in the classroom. The small classroom size also allows for more concentrated teaching. It is a school we are very happy with.


St. Stephens Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
We are very pleased with the small class sizes, the excellent teachers and staff, and the high quality of education or son has received.

St. Stephens Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
St. Stephens provides a world class education in an enriching environment. The faculty to student ratio is kept low enough to allow for the one on one teaching that is required to equip our children for current and future success in their studies. As a Christ centered school the education and comittment to excellence cannot be beat.

St. Stephens Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
SSA is a wonderful place for children to learn and thrive. Excellent academics using the Classical learning structure, caring staff, and Christian principles make it a school that I hope to send all my children through to graduation. Great facility, and solid plans looking toward the future.


St. Stephens Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
If there was an option for 6 stars, it would still not be enough. St. Stephens has exceeded our expectations and desires. Our student has gained so much support and knowledge in such a short amount of time. They don't let a young mind eager to learn, go to waste. They are loving and kind with so much fun, amidst setting high expectations and standards for the kids. Behavior is important, and they address it, but the heart is eternal and that is their priority. I couldn't be happier knowing she learns more about who God is on a daily basis and in everything they teach. I could go on....

St. Stephens Academy 3

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
The school is ok. I a. Not sure if my kid happy there . I will stay another year and see.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Stephens Academy
7275 SW Hall Blvd, Beaverton, OR  97008
(503) 646-4617
Last modified St. Stephens Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
St. Stephens Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top