Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Lutheran School

Private | PK-12 | 309 students

We are best known for academics & Christian values.

 
 

Living in Bend

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $200,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2013

I have two sons who have gone through Trinity from preschool to middle and high school. It is the most loving and academically challenging school I have ever been exposed to. Teachers partner with parents to form a community of learners. The musical performances witness the collaboration between teachers to value the development of a well rounded student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

As a student who went to Trenity... This is my story and review... I was told to take a test and had a lady come to my house and stare at me the whole test, it made me flunk the test so they put me in a grade lower then I should've been. The teacher informed classmates that I was "Special" due to my Anxiety and I should be treated as "Special" One day I wanted to call home (Issues at home that made my mom in danger from outside forces) the principle threatened to call the cops on my father, forced my father to leave. Then turned his attention to me. Told me that there are parents who are worse off then mine, students who are worse off then me. (Despite neighbors trying to hurt us) I told the principle I will get my call, and he said I wouldn't. Eventually he forced me up the flights of stares and pushed me in class. I wouldn't stand for that and I stood up. He grabbed me shoved me against the wall and told me to go into school.... Needless to say I had bruises and I was taken out of that school soon after. But I stood my ground to him. (I heard he did that to other students too) Personal experience. I'd never have my kids there! Might be different teachers now


Posted December 10, 2010

I have four children enrolled at Trinity. My kids are 3, 9, 13, & 16 years old. I can say, without reservation, that my kids are getting the best education in town. From Pre-K through high school, Trinity is allowed to teach character AND academics, and they do a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2010

I feel my children learn more than the traditional "school subjects", they learn human kindness, conflict resolution, and personal accountability. These are areas that are vital for them when they reach adulthood. I love that the teachers partner with parents with the child's best interest at heart, willing to "adapt" the classroom for the best of the children. I can not say enough good things about Trinity and the impact they have on our family...blessings abound!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

Trinity lutheran is an amazing school! we are in our third year as a family there and are looking forward to many more. The teachers and Mr Fowls have been amazing and have made our experience there so great. My daughter loves school and thinks it is a great place. Her depth and knowledge of Jesus has grown greatly which is what we are here for! it truly is one big family who is there when we need them and we are here when they need us as well!! I love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

Trinity is a great school w/ supportive staff & teachers, Mrs. Scholz is the best teacher there ever was, I am sad she is moving
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2006

Awesome School with caring faculty. The principal is very friendly and open. I found him to be genuinely attentive to my sons needs and desires. We have previously homeschooled and found Trinity Lutheran to be very accommodating. They believe in parant-teacher partnership. They welcome and incourage parent involvement and boast of a very high level of parent attendance at meetings and events. Their academic programs are of the highest quality, offering AP classes in their new H.S. They have strong music, art and sports programs along with offering several extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

I have a daughter at Tinity in her 1st year of preschool. She seems to really like it alot. Her teacher Mrs. Weber seems to be very helpful with the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Overall best elementary/middle school in Bend both spiritually and academically. Teachers are very dedicated to their work and the children. The head of school, Mr. Fowls, received the Principal of the Year Award for all non-public schools in the nation this past school year. This is a Christ-centered school where the children are taught biblical principles and how to put them in to practice in their everyday lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Hispanic 4% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best of Bend for Religious Schools (2010)
  • Best of Bend for Religious Schools (2009)
  • Best of Bend for Religious Schools (2008)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Hanne Krause
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (541) 382-1850

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Trinity is an amazing community of great parents, wonderful students and dedicated faculty who all contribute to making TLS an incredible school!
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2550 Northeast Butler Market Road
Bend, OR 97701
Website: Click here
Phone: (541) 382-1850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT