Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Leaf Academy

Private | 4, 6-10 | 32 students

 

Living in Bend

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $200,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

It's not an easy decision to send your daughter to a boarding school. The decision is made often when no other options seem viable, or have been exhausted. We searched the entire country for the right school. NLA has been very helpful, everyone working there has been very helpful and caring. I can see positive changes in my daughter already after just two months. I know we made the right decision to send our daughter there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

i had gone to new leaf of oregon and would NOT reccoment sending your daughter there. the staff there were rude, sarcastic, and i truly believe that they didnt care. staff would swear at students, and treat them differently because of their religious beliefs. i believe it was waste of money and emotionally damaging, it is definately a scam and did not help me whatsoever after putting my efforts in to make a change. the staff gave up on me, and did not help me. currently i have been out of new leaf for around 6 months and things are way worse than they have ever been. new leaf didnt help me at all and the environment was emotionally painful. i would not suggest sending your daughters there.


Posted December 3, 2010

New Leaf isn't an easy place to be. I am a 2010 graduate from New Leaf, and I have been at home for 6 months. At first, I had little faith in the program and the staff who work there, but it just took time to adjust. Once I was adjusted to the program and gained acceptance, I was able to work on my issues and family problems. I was at New Leaf for a year and a half. I would consider myself successful. I get along with my family. I have friends. I do well in school. I lead a somewhat normal life. Sure, I struggle at times, but doesn't everyone? Before you parents send your daughter here, you should know: 1) This should be a final decision. Do not back out. Be truly sure that you want to send your daughter here, and no matter how much she wants to return home and says she hates it there, do not feel guilty. It is best for you and your family. 2) Trust the staff 3) New Leaf shows the tools- only you can choose to use them. 4) If under any circumstance you need to pull your child out of the program, be sure to have everything at home well structured to allow the smoothest transition possible.


Posted December 8, 2009

My daughter is about to graduate from this school. She has been there a year and a half. They have been wonderful, gentle and caring and I am so glad that we sent her! She has gained confidence, tools to help her cope, and has excelled academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

My daughter is currently at this school. I wish that I had sent her sooner. I do not recognize the respectful, mannered and well-educated child that greets me on visits. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

This school was a big disappointment. The facilities are quite poor. The food is low quality. The staff are not very well educated and none have advanced degrees in therapy or counseling. Many of the girls have been there for over two years. Getting a girl out of there once she is in is a very difficult task, met with much resistance by the staff. Makes me question their motives. I would not send a child of mine there, to the school in Oregon which is the one I know.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 2, 2005

This school is for our special needs daughters who have been diagnosed with Attention Deficit Disorder, Asperger's Syndrome, Tourette's Syndrome/non-verbal type, mood, bi-polar or conduct disorder, depression or anxiety. They have done a wonderful job at getting through to our 13 year old daughter and helping her finally achieve some academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 73%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 2%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 4% 18%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Excellence in Education (2012)
  • Excellence in Education (2011)
  • Excellence in Education (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Therapeutic
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 1:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Craig A. Christiansen
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • All girls
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Boarding school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (541) 318-1709

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Therapeutic
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Healing Reins Therapeutic Riding
  • Equine Rescue
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Equestrian
  • Gymnastics
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • 4H Club
  • Community service
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Parent Visit Weekends
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
40
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
70

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Loans

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
80% Private Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2750 NE 27th St
Bend, OR 97701
Website: Click here
Phone: (541) 318-1676

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT