Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elk Meadow Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 579 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2013

Our son is in his second year at Elk Meadow. We moved from another state and it's been a great experience! The teachers he has had have been wonderful and caring. He has made friends and is excelling academically. We feel a part of the Elk Meadow Community. The one fundraiser they do is the Great Pumpkin Race so our kids don't have to go door to door selling things. I recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

All I can say is that we spent 3 1/2 years here, dealing with bullying, an incident with a teacher who should not be teaching elementary school, complete apathy from the staff, not including Sue in the front office who is great, and just a general feeling of being unwelcome. We were constantly being called at home regarding our child's "behavior" and response to difficult situations, and never ever felt validated, or heard. Our child fell behind in critical academic subjects. School was a daily stress and we thought our child had serious problems and wondered if he/she would make it in society. After moving our child to a different school, we cannot believe the difference!! We are completely baffled at the changes we see for the positive! Our child has many friends, a school full of loving staff who have made the most amazing differences in our child!! Our child is excited for school every day!!! This is something that never happened! Our child never felt safe at Elk Meadow. That's what apathy will do to a building. I am grateful everyday that we made this move for our child. The future is bright for the first time since pre-K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

I would like to bring up a safety issue regarding the 'commute options' program going on at Elk Meadow Elementary. I am a resident of river rim, which I enter and exit River Rim drive and Brookswood daily. Last week, during a very busy traffic day (before Memorial Day Weekend) I was attempting to exit River Rim onto Brookswood Blvd. There were children all over the place (dozens, maybe 40-50) on bicycles with orange pinnies. Some had crossed the road and were back on school property, some crossing the road (in the road), some where lingering far behind on River Rim drive. I bring this up as a concerned parent. I've witnessed some speeding drivers fly up and down Brookswood at dangerous speeds. I've found myself having to run across the street with my dog to feel safe as speeding cars approach. I only could pinpoint one adult supervising all these children, with children in front and behind her. These kids have NO busines being on busy streets while in school. If you're a parent of a child at Elk Meadow, give this a second thought. I would never want my child to be off school property learning how to commute via bicycle. Too dangerous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

Elk Meadow Elementary School continues to excel and offer exciting and innovative programs for kids! This year, The Bend-La Pine School District has approved Elk Meadow's proposal to become an "Integrated Arts Focus School." This is an exciting way to integrate the arts (visual arts, performing arts, etc...) into all areas of study. Congratulations to the staff for being innovative and making school relevant and fun for students! Thanks for your hard work and dedication. What a wonderful school!


Posted June 13, 2012

This is an exceptional school! Bruce Reynolds is the Principal and he is the current Principal of the year for the entire state of Oregon!! He is introducing lots of exciting changes. We are so lucky that our daughters attend this school. Please don't let the one review below sway you from this school. ALL schools these days are focused on state standards and standardized tests. However, this school is filled with empathetic, creative teachers who work HARD. The population is filled with plenty of hard working families who take afternoons off to help out in the classroom ! The hallways certainly are NOT scrubbed of creativity!! The events are well attended and there is a dynamic PTO who work together to create fun events that raise money for the school! If you are looking for a place full of empathetic teachers and an award winning Principal who is smart, approachable and forward facing, then Elk Meadow is your place. And, if you want to complain...and no school is perfect so I expect there to be complaints.... then why not attend a PTO meeting or two rather than hiding behind your computer and writing an unfair review that has scared families away from Elk Meadow?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

Hoping that the new principal will improve the school's learning environment and encourage teachers to get creative with the dry, uninspiring district-imposed curriculum. The school is unwelcoming of parental input regarding most aspect of learning, with very few exceptions. Advanced, gifted learners are neglected, as most teachers are busy instructing children to prepare for the Big Test in the springtime. Most of the hallways' walls are sanitized and scrubbed clean of any evidence that creativity and excitement for learning exist within the building. School community activities are poorly attended, yet the teaching community haven't a clue as to why there aren't more parental participation? Of course, there are exceptions of some great teachers who are able to inspire children to learn. But these teachers are a rarity in a school that adopts the school district's mandate to push children through an educational assembly line that ultimately numbs a child's desire to investigate knowledge for knowledge's sake, and extinguish the creative spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

My girls just finished a partial year with Elk Meadow, and it was out first at this school. We all really liked it there. The teacher and staff welcomed them and they did awesome. We have been to two other schools in the area (one public, one private) and this was definitely our favorite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

Earned Oregon's top rating, "Outstanding" on the 2009-10 Oregon Department of Education State School Report Card. Only 37% of Oregon schools earned the same rating statewide.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2009

The staff is excellant on every level.The teachers work with their students by constantly pushing them to do more and do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

We have been at Elk Meadow for four years now. We really like Tim Comfort, the principal and Teri Friesen, Vice Principal. We think they do a great job at this school. We like the diversity of this school. The only complaints I have is that the academics seem a little behind. I have one child that goes to another elementary school here in Bend and there is a big difference in what is taught and how they advance the kids. I would highly recommend that Elk Meadow step up there academics to those children that are ready and willing so that these kids don't get bored and lose interest. I also would love to see the teachers more willing to accept parent volunteers. I think because in the past, not a lot of parents volunteered here at Elk Meadow, the staff got used to this. They need to adjust.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>95%
Writing

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female76%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female93%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female83%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female68%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female84%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students85%
Female82%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 66%
Hispanic 9% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian 1% 4%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60880 Brookswood Blvd
Bend, OR 97702
Phone: (541) 383-6420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT