Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bear Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 466 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

I absolutely love this school!!! My kids are super happy every day. This school is not just safe, fun and responsible but also bilingual. There is Not any other school that offers all this. They really care about the kids and they feel safe at their school. Keep it up Bear Creek! Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Bear Creek has been rated an "Outstanding" school for the past 4 years in a row & is the only dual immersion school in Central Oregon which has a very elite waiting list. Bear Creek provides the opportunity for amazing & positive diversity for children as they begin their school career & personal lives outside of school. The staff & teachers are outstanding as well, giving children the best possible beginning in life & caring deeply for each child & their families. Our family has had so many wonderful experiences through Bear Creek & have met so many wonderful kids & families! This school definately deserves a much higher school rating!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

I absolutely Love this school, I as a child attended this school and last year my daughter attended from kinder to 3rd grade, we had to move states but we miss bear creek and all their wonderful staff and amazing principal Mr. Montoya! Just wish the district would value this school more and not just the "rich" schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

bear creek, we miss you!!! this is the most wonderful school my children have ever been to. i never felt so welcome and some of the teachers were the nicest individuals your kids could ever hope to meet, our principle was efficient, friendly, and mostly fantastic, but i think she retired right after we left. i hope bear creek never falls victim to these other school's problems of rude teachers left unchecked, or unfair and biased principles who dont believe a word students say when theres a problem. after all, its easy to be happy and get along when everything is mary sunshine. its how we interact when we have problems that makes us worthwhile or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

Earned Oregon's top rating, "Outstanding" on the 2009-10 Oregon Department of Education State School Report Card. Only 37% of Oregon schools earned the same rating statewide.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 16, 2009

My daughter was at this school for 4 years and my son has been there since Kinder.... this is such a wonderful school... The families here tend to be on the poor side and the teachers give them even more then the yuppies think. My son was a premee... he had a speech problem that mad it so that was so bad that only his sister and ourselves understood him... in the last 3 years my son has been given the gift of speech, confidence, and knowledge. The programs and the love at this school are amazing. It is little, and old, but it is a jewel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

We have three boys at Bear Creek and the teachers and staff are wonderful. They have gone out of there way to make sure our children have every thing need to succeed as well educated students. Our children love their school and we are trying to buy a house in the area so our children can stay at Bear Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female88%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learners54%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female>=95%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learners54%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female70%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learners53%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation67%

Reading

All Students85%
Female80%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners53%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female60%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners11%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation20%

Reading

All Students76%
Female80%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation40%

Science

All Students69%
Female63%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners11%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 66%
Hispanic 27% 21%
Black 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 4%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

51 SE 13th St
Bend, OR 97701
Website: Click here
Phone: (541) 383-6120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT