Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Bend, OR
Students enrolled: 626

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pilot Butte Middle School 3

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
This school seems like a very typical middle school, thus the average rating. My 8th grader reports a lot of unruliness, and while some of the teachers seem to be able to contain it, others cannot. I think my child has come at a difficult time in PBMS' history (we moved here about a year ago), as they have recently changed to the MYP curriculum, which I feel is a more challenging education, but not all the teachers seem to have figured out how to implement it correctly, and some do not seem to be on board with the program. This school unfortunately has to handle a lot of poverty and special needs, which means both are not handled as well as one would hope for.

Pilot Butte Middle School 2

Posted November 05, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school 6th grade and part of 7th grade until i moved. Some of the teachers were nice but the others didn't teach as well as they should have and got mad when we failed their class. Also it wasn't that great of a learning environment. The majority of the kids there smoked weed and talked about inappropriate things. In 6th grade i knew girls who engaged in sexual activity. Also kids got in trouble for bringing drugs to school. And lastly, there is a lot of bullying. physically, emotionally, and online.


Pilot Butte Middle School 4

Posted March 08, 2011
- a community member
Pilot Butte Middle school is a very nice school with some great teachers with great respect for there job. But just like what was said in the other long article I beleive that the problem is the students, and it is not sex, it is cussing, rumors of drug use, and some verbal and physical bullying.This schools principal, Mr.Michaelson, is a nice man who does care for the students educational success.

Pilot Butte Middle School 4

Posted December 09, 2008
- a student
It is a very good school with very good teachers, however, for me, as a seventh grader that has been in many other schools, i think that they need more extra curricular activities, and need to talk to us (students) about behavior more, why? well to be honest, that one star that is missing is really because of the students, I mean, most are great, many are my best friends. but it seems you can't go one day without hearing less then ten conversations about sex, or sexual conversations from the students, which, to be honest, is not just dis-respectful to some people, but plain annoying. And the students also won't stop swearing and being complete jerks to other students. A lot of peple smoke as well, and, nobody seems to care. there are real nice kids there, but there should be many, many, more.

Pilot Butte Middle School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a student
It is a great school with nice but strict teachers. The principal, Ms. Bennet is involved regularly with the students at PBMS.


Pilot Butte Middle School 4

Posted December 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pilot Butte Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2007
- a parent
Great school! Positive staff and a lot of school spirit

Pilot Butte Middle School 4

Posted August 29, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Pilot Butte Middle School 4

Posted April 22, 2007
- a student
I like the avalability of classes, teachers, variety of after school activities, staff and school spirit!

Pilot Butte Middle School 4

Posted January 24, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pilot Butte Middle School
1501 NE Neff St, Bend, OR  97701
(541) 383-6260
Last modified Pilot Butte Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pilot Butte Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top