Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bend Senior High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2013

I go to HDMS and i'm in 8th grade. next year i will be going to Bend high and i'm really nervous, ya' know being a freshman and all. But everyone says it's a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2013

From the first time I visited Bend High I could tell the teacher and staff were there for the students. There is such a welcome feeling (not found in other schools I visited). This is so very important to open not just doors but the communications it takes to develop relationships for learning. After all that's what we do the rest of our lives. Thank you Bend High !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

A loving family environment. Real comfortable to be yourself. Go Lava Bears!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2008

My name is Amethyst Miller, and I am going to be a sophomore this coming school year. Just from being at the school for 1 year I know that for the rest of my life I will be a lava bear in my heart. The two other schools may be good but there is something that they will never have as much of, and thats tradition and history. As a freshman it was the 100th year, and it just showed all the tradition and how great this school is. I cant wait until next year to be able to go back and see all of the wonderful teachers and staff. I especially love the drama and choir departments. The drama teacher and the choir teacher are both amazing at what they do. This is a great school for anyone to go to. Go Lava Bears!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 29, 2008

Im a junior at Bend Senior High and I love it. I have never felt so comfortable at a school. The teachers are awesome and so are the students.... I love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2007

I'm a junior at BSH. My class is the 100th graduating class, and so that's 100 years of history behind our school. The building isn't that old, but it's still old (we have yellow bathrooms in the Science hall). We have a lot of school spirit this year. Our girls won state in soccer, and the guys lost in the championship game. We've got great teachers (to name a few): Al Hulbert - history, Carmelo Bellavia - french/italian, Chris Kuka - science. Demirelli's jokes are so bad that they're actually good. Our counselors care about us. The cafeteria ladies are nice. Everyone's generally nice! Our student resource officer (the cop that wanders around the halls) is best friends with our janitor. We're like a big crazy family. And I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2006

Bend High has a dynamic staff that truely cares about their students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2005

This is a great school. The kids learn a lot; there's lots of activities; Mr. Whitley is wonderful and other staff members are terrific, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

Great school full of tradition and pride. Fantastic teachers despite the old buildings.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

A wonderful school with great team spirit and history! Amazing extracurricular activities ranging from football to theatre. Very safe and not so large enough that one would get lost in the crowd.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Science

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female87%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female67%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Writing

All Students63%
Female71%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted71%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 65%
Hispanic 11% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

230 NE 6th St
Bend, OR 97701
Phone: (541) 383-6290

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT