Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lava Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2014

We have three children who all went to Lava Ridge and we could not imagine a better school. Every teacher our kids have had has been A+ in quality and care for students. I am not sure how they manage to have so many good teachers in one school. And the principle and vice principal are two incredible men who serve and love the teachers and students both. I have had so many great conversations with them and my kids can't stop saying how much they love them. It would be hard to imagine a better school for our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2010

Earned Oregon's top rating, "Outstanding" on the 2009-10 Oregon Department of Education State School Report Card. Only 37% of Oregon schools earned the same rating statewide.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2010

TOP NOTCH TEACHERS & ADMINISTRATION guide encourage our children to succeed at Lava Ridge. We hand-selected this school for our child. Teachers and principals take a personal interest in the students as they learn and advance to exceed their benchmarks after each testing. They have a team of seasoned professionals who can see that not all children learn the same way, they are innovative and bring different elements into the classroom to bring out the creativity and unlock any roadblocks to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Wonderful school! Caring staff that does a lot with the little budget they have. We have enjoyed our 5 years here. Our child s teachers have become friends who take accountability in what they are doing. This is a feeling shared by the entire staff. We will miss Lava Ridge and are very appreciative of the experiences we have shared with both students and faculty. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

This school is great! The staff are knowledgeable and fair. They set curriculum to accommodate the kids learning levels. I love that they challenge those that may be a bit further ahead so as to avoid disruptions to those that may need a bit more help. The principle & vice principle stand outside everyday while kids are picked up. Lava Ridge Elementary staff cares about their students and families. We love that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This school is by far the best school in Bend.The teachers and staff really go the extra mile to see that the students receive a quality education


Posted June 18, 2007

Our family moved to Bend, OR last year and Lava Ridge Elementary played a key role in making our move a success. They understood and welcomed our daughter with great care & attention. It was hard to make this move because she'd attended Toler Elementary back in Texas from KN thru 4th grade. She thrived at Lava Ridge. Didn't miss a beat. And the school is so positive in many ways. From the Principal to the Janitor. The PE teacher noticed she might have asthma and the nurse followed up with the upmost care in making sure we addressed the needs our daughter had in adjusting to the climate here and her asthma returning. I don't know what all they actually do at Lava Ridge, but they sure know how to positively motivate not only our child, but others. The teacher quality is superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

This has been a wonderful experience for both of my children in Lava Ridge Elementary. The teachers and staff are committed to the children and provide a wonderful environment for learning. I would strongly recommend this school to anyone. The Elletson Family
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female64%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation43%

Reading

All Students74%
Female71%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female76%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation27%

Reading

All Students86%
Female91%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female70%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation29%

Reading

All Students80%
Female79%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students72%
Female68%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation14%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 65%
Hispanic 9% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20805 Cooley Rd
Bend, OR 97701
Phone: (541) 383-6202

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT