Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oregon Trail Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 383 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2014

My grandson attended this school. My experience w/ the office staff, principle and teachers was very positive. I saw a willingness to help students in every way possible. The principle and teachers went over and above to help my grandson learn when he had difficulty. The teachers, and principle helped my grandson tremendously. I have great respect for the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

I should have known after reading the majority of the reviews that our experience at Oregon Trail elementary was not going to be enjoyable. The principal is a joke. As a parent, to voice concerns about your child's education and concerns are important. The response from her has been nothing but rude. She does not care about your opinion and will be the first to show it. We will not be returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2011

Great School with a hard working staff. The new principal is enthusiastic and helpful. Even though the classrooms are jammed with students, the teachers work tirelessly to help each child. I could not be happier with my children going to OTE>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

We are not happy with the teachers at Oregon Trail. One word that describes them well is LAZY. Or maybe it is just unorganized. My son's teacher doesn't even know if he turned in his homework. She has no classroom management skills, and blames the kids for the chaos. This school year has been the worst year ever, for both myself and my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

My daughter is in her third year at OTE. There are a FEW wonderful teachers at Oregon Trail. It seems as if the teachers are required to cram so much information on too many subjects into one day. There is no time (or ROOM, with 30+ kids per class) for individual attention. There is no TAG program. As of this year, there is no small-group learning that matches kids with similar abilities. Everyone is taught the same thing, at the same time. My daughter is now just another face in the crowd, and is no longer excited about school; In fact, she dreads it. We will be enrolling in a charter school next year because OTE has simply gone downhill: The principal is impersonal, the teachers don't seem happy, and the kids and parents are becoming more "rough around the edges." The positives don't outweigh the negatives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

My son transfered to this school in January and has made the transisition with ease. The school staff has ben most helpful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

Very discouraging school. We were moved into this school during the boundary changes our district has made. We will not be sending our three children to this school again. The principal is a joke. As far as I can tell he really does nothing. The teacher that we have dealt with is really proof that the teachers are kept by seniority and not by ability. A negative environment, very little growth for a high achieving child. I would NOT recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

We had a very difficult time transitioning out of Oregon Trail because the teachers and the staff were so wonderful. It is a LARGE school and it runs so smoothly you would never know it had so many children! We made the decision to move our daughter because the standard educational system was not working for her. Multisensory intensive phonics was not taught, classroom management was a difficult area for some teachers and the math program seemed to be very weak. For the general populus of children, a bright child can get a good education here. TAG is almost impossible to get tested for an gain entrance to, which is fine because there are so many other things going on, there isn't much time for it. The parents are VERY committed to this school and very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female74%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial86%
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners58%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female64%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial86%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female89%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learners75%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation50%

Reading

All Students81%
Female82%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learners58%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female63%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female85%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 4%
Hispanic 11% 21%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Black 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13895 SE 152nd Dr
Clackamas, OR 97015
Phone: (503) 353-5540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Carver School
Clackamas, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT