Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Hills Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 146 students

Our school is known for being a regional leader in Christian Education
 
 

 
 

Living in Cornelius

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 22 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Over the years, we knew many kids who had gone through Forest Hills. I was impressed with each and every one of them. When my daughter neared the age to enter Kindergarten, I researched the school further and toured the facility. I was impressed with every aspect--the setting for the school is simply bucolic, the class size is ideal and the teachers are top-rate. When comparing Forest Hills to other private schools, Forest Hills comes out head and shoulders above the rest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

We have been FHLS parents for 10 years. Our oldest child attended Kindergarten through 8th grade. He has since moved on to public high school and has excelled academically & socially. We attribute this to the high academic standards, the teachers and the staff who care about the students that they mentor as well as providing a strong Christian foundation to our children. Our daughter currently attends FHLS. She loves going to school. It is a safe, secure & nuturing environment that has shaped our children into responsible & caring young people. Our memories and experiences at FHLS will be treasured forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

Forest Hills is an amazing school that we have been apart of since 2009. The staff is dedicated, nurturing, and exceptional. They all have a heart for teaching the whole child and want each student to excel and become lifelong learners. Primary teachers work collaboratively together to provide integrated thematic instruction and adapt instruction for all instructional levels. Intermediate teachers have done an amazing job challenging students and teaching them how to set goals and make the necessary steps to achieve them. My children have learned so much from the art program and continue to practice art techniques at home. FHLS provides many after school opportunities that the kids love. If class sizes are a concern for you in public school , then stop by and see this school. My kids are in classes of 14 and 16 which is wonderful. The teachers can give individual attention in order to meet each child's needs. This school provides Christian education which my children love to be a part of. They are learning strong, moral values that will last a lifetime. Please come and visit our school. It will be a decision that will ultimately change your family's lives forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

My school is Forest Hills Lutheran school. We love it for many reasons. First love the class size. We are in a class of 14 kids! Our public school would have been 32! We love the multiage classroom! What an incredible environment to learn in. Love the faith based teachings and the country location! We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

We love Forest Hills! The class sizes are wonderful and the staff is very caring. We love the country setting and the after school programs are fun! We are very happy with the decision to send our child to FHLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Our daughter has been attending Forrest Hills since 1st grade and loves it. She has gone from a hesitant, unsure reader to someone who is confident when called upon to read in front of her 3rd grade class. Christian values are taught throughout the school day. The curriculum includes daily prayers, PE, music, and weekly chapel. The lunches are H3G : Healthy, Homemade, Hot, and Good! The physical campus is amazing (12 acres) located just south of Cornelius Oregon that has been maintained with loving care throughout the years. You've got to see it to believe it! I would highly recommend a visit/tour, but be prepared, once you see it you'll want to have your child(ren) attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Our daughter has been at Forest Hills since she was a first grader. We like the Christian values that are included in the curriculum. Once a week the children meet for chapel. The small class size gives are daughter more opportunities to succeed in her academic endeavors. The school offers library, music and physical exercise during the week. Forest Hills does offer after school programs: such as legos, music, science, spanish. The lunches are healthy and homemade. The campus is a beautiful and spacious location. We would highly recommend that you visit the campus and take a tour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Forest Hills Lutheran school is a diamond in the rough... from the wonderful country location to the amazing staff, faculty, curriculum and programs it is a fantastic place for your kids to grow spiritually and academically. We have been there 2 years now and have thoroughly enjoyed feeling like a part of a community with the common goal of doing the right thing for our kids and the Forest Hills Community. We could not have been happier with our choice to attend Forest Hills and look forward to when our 2nd child is old enough to start attending. Check them out, they are definitely worth the trip!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

My family has been a part of the FHLS community for almost 5 years. In this community, our children are growing spiritually, excelling academically and enjoying high quality friendships. They feel safe at FHLS and know that their teachers care about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Forest Hills Lutheran is an amazing school in a beautiful country setting with wonderful and dedicated staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

We have two children that attend Forest Hills and we love this school! The teachers and administration are easy to work with, very good with the children, and appreciate parent involvement in the education process. Even though it is a small school, it has lots of extra-curricular activities for the children as well as a cafeteria and gym. Classes are small which provide for an excellent educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

We really are extremely happy with Forest Hills Lutheran School. And what is equally important, our 2 kids are loving it! The administration, teachers, and all of the staff are great. Other parents have been very welcoming during our first year. And the kids are thriving in their classrooms and enjoying extra-curricular activities. Even the drive to the rural picturesque campus has turned out to be enjoyable. We highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Forest Hills Lutheran school is simply...amazing! We have been so blessed to have found this school. 3 years ago we enrolled our kids in 1st and 3rd grades. While we are not of the Lutheran religion, we were welcomed with open and loving arms! We love and are loved by this amazing family. The teachers and staff are fabulous, easy to get a hold of and talk to whenever needed. The families that attend our school believe in it's community and place where are kids are safe. The class sizes are fairly small, allowing for VERY individual attention. My kids feel like EVERY child in their class is important and a friend. They are all very close. Time for art, P.E., music, library, band, and other activities puts our school above others! This dedicated time is very special and so important to round out character in our children. The homemade lunch every day is un-matched! Our lunch lady (and Mom of children at FHLS) cares what goes into our kids bodies EVERY single day. This is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Forest Hills is an amazing school where the staff and administration are committed to caring for each child and helping them succeed to their full potential. Families are vital to the success of the program, and parents give freely and generously of their time. As an educator, I can attest to the fact that the curriculum is solid, and the students entering public school from our program are consistently ahead of the game, and those moving onto private, college-prep high schools are well prepared for the work ahead of them. The strong foundation Forest Hills offers sets the students up to successful academic leaders. Forest Hills is also dedicated to the faith life of each child, helping them grow in the knowledge of Christ and his love for them. This is what sets Forest Hills apart from other private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Forest Hills Lutheran is a school that builds a strong sense of community support. My children are treated with respect and love. I love the option of the multiage classroom and the dedication to literacy. I feel my children are getting the best education in the most important years of their development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Forest Hills Lutheran School is exceptional! We were looking for a school that offered small class sizes and a well rounded education for our son. Art, music, PE and library are offered on a wkly basis along with extra-curricular activities during each season. There is a sense of community among parents and staff-we are all in this together! They say it takes a village to raise children and we have found that at Forest Hills. You won't be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

This is a small class size, nurturing and FANTASTIC school! I am a non-Lutheran, but I feel very comfortable with my children in this kind environment. Fantastic academics as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

i love this school and my kids are so happy here. I really like the family atmosphere and how even when I am not around, I feel like my kids are with someone who truly cares for them. The academics are also top notch and I love the reading program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

Forest Hills Lutheran School (FHLS) is a hidden gem. This amazing school is tucked away in western Washington County and once you see it I am sure you will react the same way I did, "Wow! I had no idea this beautiful school was here". You MUST put this school on your list to tour. The campus pulled us in but the amazing staff solidified our family decision to stay. Our family is in our fourth year with two children attending. I am more than happy to participate with the other committed parents and staff working together to a common goal: maintaining an excellent educational environment and the continued pursuit of improvement. FHLS has created a family environment where my children are excelling and I am personally more involved than I ever expected. Thank you to the staff and the amazing dedicated parents. If you are looking for a home for your children's education DO NOT MISS FOREST HILLS LUTHERAN SCHOOL! We will welcome your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2014

FHLS has been a tremendous blessing for my family. My son started in the Multiage program this year as a Kindergarten student. As an early childhood educator, I was specifically looking for a nurturing program that allowed students to be challenged in their areas of strength as well as supported in developing areas. The teacher of the Multiage program not only makes each child feel valuable, but truly takes the time to get to know them on an individual basis so that their learning is meaningful and challenging. From the admissions process to the hot lunch program, the children at FHLS are treated with respect and kindness.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 65%
Hispanic 6% 21%
Black 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Nathional Accreditation (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Daniel N. Seim
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Fax number
  • (503) 357-2213

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • 7 Habits of Highly Successful People
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Carpool between FHLS parents
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Girl scouts
  • Robotics club
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer in the lunchroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Local Public High Schools
Valley Catholic
Faith Bible Christian School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4221 S. W. Golf Course Road
Cornelius, OR 97113
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 359-4853

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Create Alternative School
Forest Grove, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT