Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Zion Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 184 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Corvallis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $249,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2010

We were welcomed into the school and immediately felt like we belonged. The children get up in the morning and look forward to going to school. They come home from school, happy, healthy and inspired to continue learning. We are glad that we chose Zion for our children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

Pros: Safe Christian environment. Nice staff. Walk to Math and Reading- going to appropriate level of Math and Reading in different grades. Cons: No or below par electives such as music, P.E. and foreign language. No science lab, computer labs, nor gym facility. The school is struggling financially and that makes things hard for improvements in implementing new programs that are lacking. Some teachers are excellent and children are expected to perform at a higher level. Some others are simply mediocre.


Posted July 13, 2009

Our kids have completed 2 years now and continue to flourish in the above average Christian curriculum. Walking to their reading and math level has made a difference in them being challenged and not bored. The downfall is that there is not a language class and minimal music instruction offered. The new principal is very open to new ideas and improving the school every year. If some of the teachers would follow and agree that change is good too. Our kids love their teachers and having smaller class sizes of around 16 make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

This is the best school! My child LOVES it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

Teachers are very dedicated and work together to provide a cohesive education from class to class. The school has a tremendous family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

Our daughter (youngest of 3 children) attended Zion Lutheran from 5th-8th grade. We were very happy with the level of personal attention she received from the teachers and staff, not to mention the great education! At least 3 times we received phone calls at home, initiated by a teacher to discuss his concerns about our daughter. It was also very easy to talk with teachers after school daily if needed. There was certainly no danger of falling through the cracks at Zion Lutheran. They did a lot of hands-on learning, including re-enacting the first slave trial and a dramatization of travel on the Oregon Trail. A variety of Christian denominations co-exist peacefully among the families represented at the school, including some families without church affiliations. Parents are very involved and many opportunities for extra-curricular activities are available. The price is also very reasonable relative to other schools. I highly recommend Zion Lutheran.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 13, 2006

the teachers are fabulous. the give you one-on-one attention and are interested in your opinion on everything. classes are small, and curriculum is hands on. parents are greatly involved, from my point of view- a student. parent-teacher confrencies are held at least two times a year, and are greatly valued.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 73%
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 6% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 2%
Black 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 NW Tyler Ave
Corvallis, OR 97330
Phone: (541) 753-7503

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Good Samaritan School
Corvallis, OR



Franklin School
Corvallis, OR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT