Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Corvallis, OR
Students enrolled: 173

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Zion Lutheran School 1

Posted May 30, 2014
- a community member
Went to this school as a child. Was ignored by teachers for not being above average. There were kids in my class who needed more specialized attention, teachers have no idea how to accommodate children who may have learning disabilities or disabilities in general. When I transferred to public school I was below average in math and science from the poor education I received in 6th grade. Does not have different classes for different levels of subjects such as math, so if your child has a hard time in any subject they are out of luck because the focus will be on the rest of the class. Worst experience of my life 5 and 6 grade. I'm glad I left when I did, stay away from this school.

Zion Lutheran School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
We were welcomed into the school and immediately felt like we belonged. The children get up in the morning and look forward to going to school. They come home from school, happy, healthy and inspired to continue learning. We are glad that we chose Zion for our children's education.


Zion Lutheran School 3

Posted December 18, 2009
- a community member
Pros: Safe Christian environment. Nice staff. Walk to Math and Reading- going to appropriate level of Math and Reading in different grades. Cons: No or below par electives such as music, P.E. and foreign language. No science lab, computer labs, nor gym facility. The school is struggling financially and that makes things hard for improvements in implementing new programs that are lacking. Some teachers are excellent and children are expected to perform at a higher level. Some others are simply mediocre.

Zion Lutheran School 4

Posted July 13, 2009
- a parent
Our kids have completed 2 years now and continue to flourish in the above average Christian curriculum. Walking to their reading and math level has made a difference in them being challenged and not bored. The downfall is that there is not a language class and minimal music instruction offered. The new principal is very open to new ideas and improving the school every year. If some of the teachers would follow and agree that change is good too. Our kids love their teachers and having smaller class sizes of around 16 make a difference.

Zion Lutheran School 5

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
This is the best school! My child LOVES it there.


Zion Lutheran School 5

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
Teachers are very dedicated and work together to provide a cohesive education from class to class. The school has a tremendous family atmosphere.

Zion Lutheran School 5

Posted July 17, 2006
- a teacher
Our daughter (youngest of 3 children) attended Zion Lutheran from 5th-8th grade. We were very happy with the level of personal attention she received from the teachers and staff, not to mention the great education! At least 3 times we received phone calls at home, initiated by a teacher to discuss his concerns about our daughter. It was also very easy to talk with teachers after school daily if needed. There was certainly no danger of falling through the cracks at Zion Lutheran. They did a lot of hands-on learning, including re-enacting the first slave trial and a dramatization of travel on the Oregon Trail. A variety of Christian denominations co-exist peacefully among the families represented at the school, including some families without church affiliations. Parents are very involved and many opportunities for extra-curricular activities are available. The price is also very reasonable relative to other schools. I highly recommend Zion Lutheran.

Zion Lutheran School 4

Posted March 13, 2006
- a student
the teachers are fabulous. the give you one-on-one attention and are interested in your opinion on everything. classes are small, and curriculum is hands on. parents are greatly involved, from my point of view- a student. parent-teacher confrencies are held at least two times a year, and are greatly valued.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Zion Lutheran School
2800 Northwest Tyler Avenue, Corvallis, OR  97330
(541) 753-7503
Last modified Zion Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Zion Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top