Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Corvallis, OR
Students enrolled: 185
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Corvallis Waldorf School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
After visiting the Corvallis Waldorf School, our decision to enroll our child was easy, despite the financial and logistical challenges. Few schools offer a robust curriculum that balances science and art and academics. Fewer schools are focused on whole child development. All dimensions of the human being are nurtured and each child is honored. At every level of the school, I see children thriving and eager to learn. Things are taught in a way that engages the children. The students are learning in a way that is meaningful to them. In the 7th grade when learning about physics, the students worked in teams to build Rube Goldberg machines, directly applying their knowledge of levers, wheel and axles, pulleys, inclined planes, wedges and screws. Project-based learning whose outcomes readily surpass the pedagogy of standardized testing. From the early childhood programs through to the 8th grade the students learn in ways that excite and inspire them.

Corvallis Waldorf School 5

Posted June 14, 2010
- a parent
It is a fantastic school for pre-school and kindergarten aged kids. From our experience, it is a place that nurtures in children caring for others, confidence in engaging with the world around them, and an excitement for learning. The teachers know each child as an individual and are able to adapt the teaching model to help each child flourish. There is great emphasis on imagination, listening to stories, and singing songs. The children learn how to care for themselves and their belongings, and how to make snacks for everyone to enjoy. And they spend lots of time outside on nature walks and on the playground, every day, rain or shine. There is a also great degree of diversity in the children that attend Corvallis Waldorf, each one of them bringing something special to the class. We'll write another review as our child moves up the grades.


Corvallis Waldorf School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
This a a wonderful school where education is approached in a humanistic and developmentally appropriate manner. Children are cared for by their teachers and learn in an environment that is rich, supportive and dynamic. They actually learn HOW to learn and gain a love for learning that is rare to find in today's educational system.

Corvallis Waldorf School 5

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
My kids love to go to school! Their teachers are amazing and genuinely care about the success of the children that they teach. The math, history, language arts and spanish curriculum are woven together into a very rich learning experience for the children. My children are nurtured and feel safe. I have one child in high school and her teachers and principal love her because she's excited about learning, not just competing for a grade. Graduates of the Corvallis Waldorf School are a special and appreciated part of the greater Corvallis community.

Corvallis Waldorf School 4

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
My daughter loves going to school, and the after school care program. We like the diversity of families who send their kids to CWS, the sense of community, the arts-based curriculum, and small class sizes. As college professors, we see kids all the time who have been trained to do well in school but flounder when it comes to finding their place in the world. While other schools prepare children 'to compete', CWS prepares children to know themselves, develop deep relationships, and choose work that is fulfilling.


Corvallis Waldorf School 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school. The children are engaged in their schoolwork and classroom. There is lots of individualized instruction. As my daughter said when she switched from public school in the fifth grade, Mom here they don't just tell about it, you actually do it!

Corvallis Waldorf School 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Corvallis Waldorf School 3

Posted March 06, 2007
- a parent
it is not a place where your child will learn to compete. The chidren there are very calm, but on the other hand if your child is a high energy type 'A' personality - she/ he will not fit there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Corvallis Waldorf School
3855 U.S. 20, Corvallis, OR  97330
(541) 758-4674
Last modified Corvallis Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Corvallis Waldorf School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top