Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
167 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
74 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 97 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ashbrook Independent School 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
My children have attended Ashbrook for the past 4 years. We love the school. The teachers are outstanding. The education they are receiving is the best in Corvallis.

Ashbrook Independent School 5

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
My child had a fantastic experience at this school for 10 years and has really missed the quality of teaching since he moved on to public school. I am very grateful for our years at this school. At the same time please be sure your child is a good fit for the school because it can be unpleasant otherwise. And I recommend enrolling in grades 4+.


Ashbrook Independent School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
The answer depends entirely on the student. One of my kids rarely had homework because he completed it in class. My other child was drowning in homework - because the school and her grade were not a great fit for her.

Ashbrook Independent School 1

Posted October 01, 2015
- a community member
My child had a horrible experience at Ashbrook Independent School, but I can happily report that my child is doing great and is much happier at another school now. Our experience had nothing to do with our honor-roll student, and everything to do with the way our child was treated by students and the Administration. The school is not a healthy, nurturing environment. If I could do it all over again, I would not enroll my child at Ashbrook; it is my one regret as a parent. I hope you can learn from my mistake...choose better than Ashbrook for your precious child!

Ashbrook Independent School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 27, 2015
- a parent
'Thank you' to all of the teachers and all of the staff! It has been a group effort and I think we all did a terrific job!


Ashbrook Independent School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 27, 2015
- a parent
A lot of these children are over scheduled in their after school activities and it is up to them/families to employ good time management. The local high schools no longer count/grade homework which could be an issue. My kids averaged around 30 minutes of homework a night.

Ashbrook Independent School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 27, 2015
- a parent
Grades are not inflated. I think it is hard for some students who have heard their whole lives that they are the best to realize there are a lot of children out there who are just as smart/talented.

Ashbrook Independent School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 27, 2015
- a parent
The students are usually the first to celebrate the victories of their peers! The students feel some degree of competitiveness toward each other, but I've never seen it turn ugly, usually it makes everyone work harder.


Ashbrook Independent School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted September 27, 2015
- a parent
The school can only do so much to help the student develop compassion/caring/empathy.... the parents need to also do their part!

Ashbrook Independent School 5

Posted September 27, 2015
- a parent
Four children and 14 years at this school -Ashbrook must be doing something right! Our children were NEVER bored, were surrounded by other successful children and had a solid groundwork that allowed them to excel in their competitive high schools and beyond. The school must fit the child and the child must fit the school in order to be truly satisfied. The middle school electives are pretty amazing and the teachers are excited about their classes and students. This not a 'special needs' school, rather it is a 'college prep' environment which demands a lot from the students. It is small enough for individual attention, but if you're expecting the equivalent of having a private tutor for your child you best look elsewhere! The Administration has always addressed any issues if they were valid- emotions tend to run high among the parents at times. Visit Ashbrook. Make your own decision!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ashbrook Independent School
4045 Southwest Research Way, Corvallis, OR  97333
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 97 reviews. (541) 766-8313
Last modified Ashbrook Independent School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top