Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

When it came time to enroll my Oldest child, I wanted her to be enrolled in the dual immersion language program so I chose Lincoln even though we live in district for another school. I now have two children at Lincoln. A 2nd grader and a kinder. They truly thrive at school. The have so much fun while they learn. I am a fairly involved parent and have never seen any attitude or treatment by any staff member that I found suspect. My kids like going to school, have good friends, and learn so much. They are constantly coming home enthused about a project, craft or experiment they did that day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Lincoln is a great school. I have 2 kids there and love the dual immersion program. The teachers and staff are so dedicated and always there to help. Our children are thriving at Lincoln and I would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2012

I had heard all the bad press about this school and was hesitant in enrolling my kids here. I am happy to report wonderful things about this "best kept secret" school. Teachers are compassionate, staff are patient. Kids are wonderful. I wish people would stop saying its a terrible place, filled with bullies, it is simple not true. Honestly I think the diversity is greatly needed here in Oregon too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

We had a TERRIBLE experience here. Our twins reported to us that other children in the classroom were being abused. We informed the school. The said they were conducting an investigation but refused to let us know about the their findings. One of our twins ended up with panic attacks over fear that her teacher would hurt or humiliate her as happened to other students and the principal said she was "overly sensitive." We asked to have her transferred to another class and were told there was no room in any other class in the district. We asked about having her tested to the next grade level and was told if she were advanced enough for that the teacher would have already informed the principal. We pulled her out to homeschool and had her independently tested. She tested between 1 and 3 grade levels above where she was in all but one subject, and that was by only a few weeks of work. The following year we learned that the carter school DID have room for her when the district told us there wasn't room in any other school in the entire district. BTW Muddy Creek Charter school is AMAZING!!! I highly recommend it and hope the district will put kids before politics & extend their charter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

incredible family atmosphere. my daughters thrive there. they have looked forward to school every year. 3rd and 5th graders now... and very smart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

Even thought the dated scores make Lincoln appear to be below standards, Lincoln has always been involved with my kids, and great to work with. Patti Ball is an amazing, award winning, teacher for 3rd thru 5th grade class. My daughter has been attending lincoln since 3rd grade is going into 6th grade, entering Lincoln's Middle School program. My son has been a challenging student but gets personal attention from his teacher Jennifer Kreta and his councelor Mrs. Nancy and has shown great improvements in his behavior and studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

My grandson transferred to Lincoln Elementary after Inavale closed down and he was assigned to Patti Ball's class (national award winning teacher). His good experience reminded me what excellence in teaching can accomplish. His sister started Lincoln's dual immersion program at age 5, and is quickly becoming bilingual! Jean Wood


Posted March 27, 2007

Yes it's a little crowded but it's still a wonderful school. They offer a dual Immersion Language Program to teach kids to speak and also be taught in spanish and english. My daughter is now in the 4th grade and she has been in the dual immersion program for 3 years now and she speaks spanish fluently along with english. I think that this will be a very important asset for her future. Lincoln is by far a great school, and I see them only improving. Christy Simpson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

Lincoln has been a great decision for our family. After looking at the other schools in Corvallis and comparing Lincoln fell of our radar. But another parent convinced me to give Lincoln a look. The afterschool program is one of the best that I have every heard of, C.A.E.C. (Cake). The teachers are outstanding. My children always feel encouraged and empowered. The classes are mixed grade. My daughter, for example is in a 3rd/4th/5th grade class. Lincoln has managed to take my kids and get them interested in what they are doing and have them excited about school. I highly recomend Lincoln if you are looking for a school. I suggest adding Lincoln at your visit and see list, before you decide on another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

Great school, It seems as though other schools in Corvallis have more funding though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

My son has been at Lincoln for 4 years now and we love it. There are great opportunities for kids there as well as a welcoming and diverse community of parents, educators, and kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female45%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners23%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation40%

Reading

All Students56%
Female50%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation13%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female67%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learners50%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female>=95%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners79%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female66%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learners<=5%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation50%

Reading

All Students79%
Female75%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation33%

Science

All Students39%
Female31%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learners11%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 65%
Hispanic 37% 21%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 SE Alexander Ave
Corvallis, OR 97333
Phone: (541) 757-5955

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Franklin School
Corvallis, OR


Zion Lutheran School
Corvallis, OR


Good Samaritan School
Corvallis, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT