Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilson Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 345 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2014

This school is NOT an environment you want your kids in. Some very good teachers. However the support from the administration is horrible. The "New Principle is arrogant, unsupported and should not even be in a elementary environment. I pulled all my children from this school, after finding out they were essentially left behind in there classes because teachers had to deal with other behavioral problems. Lets not mention the continued lice epidemic that the school refused to do anything about until the last month of school. The atmosphere is unwelcoming. And make sure you ask if your child will be placed in a pathways classroom. They put ELL, ESL and behavioral problem kids all in one classroom with no supports for the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I really believed this school would be a good fit, but I am quickly becoming disillusioned. There is an overall unwelcoming feeling. The office staff will barely greet you, and have an air of irritation at any questions one might have. If this is how I, as a parent am being treated, how are you treating the children? I am beginning to regret this carefully thought out decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

Principal Brew is amazing. What he has done with this school make my life and the education of my children a happy thing. The students are amazing and the majority have a desire to learn. The parent contribution is unlike any other school I've seen. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

My grandson is doing very well in this School. He has had good teachers and they help him with anything he needs. He likes the School very much and the activities as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

I am the head secretary at Wilson School. Some of the reviews posted here have misinformation. If you would like accurate information about our school, please call the school office. -Myrna Campbell
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

It amazes me how misinformed parents are, by their children. There is no school-wide 'yellow card' disciplinary system. A couple of individual classes do use that system, so talking to your child's teacher should be a first step. There also isn't a quiet room. There is a break area in the Transition room, which is only used by those students. Discovery Nights were initiated and run solely by parents and is not billed as a TAG program. It's strictly enrichment for all the kids. I went to every one and saw kids there from every grade. It was hugely successful. The presenters are all parents, most of whom work during the day. Thus the need to have the demonstrations in the evening. They were wonderful experiences parents could share with their children. This wouldn't be possible if they were held during the school day. Submitters need to get their facts straight!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

I belive that all parents have the right to express their own experiences(thru their children and from their own point of view) with Wilson..and even the 'positive' reviews have undercurrents of negitivity. We have not had a welcoming experience at Wilson, have had problems with our teacher, not been responded to inkind by the principle. We will be home schooling next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Wilson school is a wonderful environment for my children. They are learning, engaged, and feel proud of themselves. Upon reading the comments regarding Wilson, it is really frustrating to hear so many negative comments. The PTA has already stepped up and volunteered their time and efforts and are appropriately delegating activity positions to those who would volunteer. Frankly, you can complain until you're blue, or you can volunteer and be the change you want to see. I'm signing my name because I'm proud of my kids and I won't hide behind words. Amelia McCullough
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

It saddens me that this forum to rate a school has become a forum for complaining. Greatschools is a way for people to gain information. So, I hope that everyone is reading the disclaimer 'don't believe everything you read.' Do your own research. Visit Wilson, get involved and form your own opinions. Wondering about something you've seen posted here? Ask someone who knows - perhaps a teacher or staff member, the principal, or involved parents. Children (and some parents) are not always the most reliable source. If you are already at Wilson and choose not to be involved, then please stop complaining about the people who are working hard to make Wilson a better place for ALL students. I appreciate our PTA board who is working so hard to include and involve new families. Four people should not be solely responsible for every event in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

I too appreciate 'going green'..however this does not overshadow the issue of poor managment...Discovery Night does not replace TAG..TAG programs should be included everyday. Parents are pulling their kids out of Wilson, especially at the lower grades. Wilson is trying to become a Title One school, a survey was sent out to parents asking opinions, lots of negative feedback was expressed towards the principle and some of his disciples..maybe these issue should be addressed before the school takes more goverment money. Sadly, Wilson has a very negative vibe, which has been expressed to the principle, and the district at large, with no action taken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

Regarding your clarification, here's mine. A monthly newsletter devoid of news isn't communication. It says 'spring is here, your kids are growing, the teachers are working.' Meanwhile I hear from my kids that there's some new yellow card disciplinary system running for months that the principal still hasn't told the community about. He's never explained the track being a mandatory exercise during lunch. Never explained the quiet room to the whole school. He can't require our presence at evening meetings to get news. He needs to send it all home. not just the puffery. TAG isn't my concern but I agree that is shouldn't just be evening requirements. It should be regular classroom enrichment. People don't volunteer because they disagree with the school atmosphere of exclusivity and what feels like a school that is all about adults if only these pestery kids would get out of the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

Love Ms. Meyers, Mr. Harris, Mr. Hart, miss Ms. Bugbee-Reed, Ms. Binek, Ms. White. But some of the things mentioned are also long gone. No Book Exchange, No Principal coffees (which were much more valuable, a million times than Discovery Nights which are for K-1) No carnival, no student directory, no room parents. The school mascot was changed. The newsletter done away with. The teachers try their best in an environment of too much change that is confusing to a lot of us. Harsher than it needs to be too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

There are excellent classroom teachers, libarian and custodial staff at Wilson, who really care for the kids. Overall however, there is a very unwelcoming climate. This starts with the principle and is apparent in some of the staff. There is no more Core Knowledge, principle's coffee, school directory, class coordinators, carnival, running on the playground..more whistles and stoplights. The track IS not an incentive program, but rather mandatory, cutting into the kids social time at lunch. There is no TAG program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

Although there are some great positive forces among the senior staff, the last few years have seen the shift that causes two different worlds to be experienced by the community. There is no TAG program period. The Wilson track is a mandatory lap running program during recess, not an incentive. The PTA is canceling traditional events like the carnival due to lack of volunteers. The focus seems to be all on the adults, not on the kids. It used to be the other way around. We miss the old Wilson school that built Wildcat park, not the new one of whistles and stoplights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

For me, the quality of teaching is the key to my child's education. I have had two children attend Wilson and have found the teachers to be committed and talented, unique and creative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

We love Wilson Elementary! We have been here for a couple of years and are continually impressed by the Principal's commitment to the kids and staff; staff dedication; an excellent literacy center; parent volunteers who have instituted a Volunteer Center, Discovery Nights, Clothes Swap as well as gettting Wildcat Park built a few years ago and there is a vibrant PTA! I feel welcome in this school and my children, both TAG kids, are getting challenged in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

I agree with poor communication, lack of support for the students, not upholding student academics, overall 'uncomfortable' feel at the school. Sadly it has not been a good experience for us. :( I think this school has the potential to do much better. Really poor moral, teaching the kids the wrong overall outlook on their education. Good Luck to Wilson, I hope this can turn around for the better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

My child has attended Wilson for almost two years. I feel this school lacks leadership and is prejudice against children who don't fit into the 'normal' category. This school however does have a few very good teachers but the negative aspects out weight the good. My child has been identified as talented and gifted and is not getting an adequate education to make him succeed in his education. This school does have a large amount of Parent volunteers and has a great PTA who sponsor many fun activities. However I am disappointed in the over all lack to meet My child's Educational needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

Wilson is a terrific school. With 3 children, my family has had lots of experience with both public and private schools in the 509J district, and I frankly believe Wilson is one of the best elementary schools in town. The atmosphere is extremely friendly and welcoming to youngsters, and I've had nothing less than excellent experiences with office staff, administration, and teachers. Any specific problems I can think of are more relevant to the district itself, and therefore apply to the other local elementary schools as well, rendering them moot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I have had constant issues with this school. The lack of communication, the regular negative output and overall feel of the school. On a positive side, I have had a good experience with my son's individual teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female74%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%

Reading

All Students76%
Female85%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female69%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female91%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female67%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%

Reading

All Students87%
Female91%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation33%

Science

All Students84%
Female82%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 65%
Hispanic 12% 21%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2701 NW Satinwood
Corvallis, OR 97330
Website: Click here
Phone: (541) 757-5987

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Franklin School
Corvallis, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT