Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin School

Public | K-8 | 344 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2014

The school has a reputation for excellence in terms of a majority of committed teachers who have taught at the school for many many years, student test performance (hovers in the neighborhood of 90%tile of Oregon schools) and parent involvement. The principal, Aaron Hale, is entering is 4th year and is very well liked. This is a charter school with a lottery system. A friend of mine is a high school teacher and she told me that the Franklin kids are easy to pick out; organized and successful students, Franklin well prepares them for doing well in high school. More community involvement would be great, and adding effective language opportunities would be appreciated. The school has physical ed., and music twice a week and art once a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

As a parent of a 6th grader, I am shocked at the amount of homework he is assigned. Franklin's official policy is 60 min max for 6th grade, yet they are assigned average of 3 hours per night, including weekends. It is impossible to communicate with one particular teacher, who loses work, does not respond to email from parents, yet is a tough grader who has no problem assigning "Fs" even if it is his/her fault that they misplaced the work. Parents have to photocopy and take pictures in order to document that their child has turned in the work because he/she is flaky disciplinarian. We take meticulous records to be able to prove the work has been completed. On a positive note, curriculum is interesting and enriching. Most taff are kind, willing advocates for the kids. The principle is warm and kind. Could be a fantastic school if they could find a way to incorporate the core knowledge with appropriate amounts of homework. The homework policy is 60 min max for 6th grade and that rule is not respected, usually being 3 hours of homework on average. Several teachers willing to cut back on the assignments, but they are the teachers who are already assigning appropriate amounts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

terrific with our grandchildren. They are confident learners. We have been in Franklin classrooms when we visit. Each time we are invited to support by reading or mentoring. Franklin teachers are educators with that extra pizzazz that cannot be measured on usual charts. You can see it as they work with our three grandchildren.


Posted May 10, 2012

Absolutely love Franklin, it is a small school with big goals for the kids and a lot of parent participation. Our kids enrolled in 2nd and 6th in 2012, came from a private school (Zion Lutheran) Very impressed with Franklin staff, curriculum, and this school community as a whole! Fabulous leadership in Principal Hale and caring, thoughtful, challenging teachers. Lots of extras, like music and awesome art program. Also a great PE teacher, opportunities for sports and an active Young Life club.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

We've had our child at Santiam and Adams before Franklin. Much of what one reads in the reviews here rings true. Franklin is a small school that relies heavily on a core knowledge curriculum. Kids feel safe here and our impression has been that the teachers are extremely dedicated to the well being of the students. They also seem very on top of what's happening in the classroom in terms of relational dynamics. We actually have two children in this school and I can't recommend it highly enough. You'll be lucky if your child gets in as it truly is better than some of the local private schools I'm familiar with in terms of academic expectations and parental involvement. And by the way, the parents are really wonderful here--little or no airs as this school seems to attract families who are really committed to education and no overly worried about social status...also love the diversity here for such small school The instructors are wonderful and extremely competent. I would consider several of them master teachers. The one downside of the school is the playground facility, which is somewhat meager and crowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

We are new to this school and already love it. Everyone has been very welcoming. Behavior standards are high here. Kids are on an honor code that requires respect of fellow students and honest effort. For such a small school it has great diversity. We are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

WOW! What a great school. So this is what it's supposed to be like. I have two children at Franklin, one in elementary and one in middle school. Private schools in this area can't come close to the education my children are now receiving at Franklin. These teachers are excellent and have the education and track record to back to it up. Franklin's outstanding rating speaks for itself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2010

We have been at Franklin school for many years and couldn't be happier. We have one child in special education and one who is talented and gifted. Both children are encouraged and challenged appropriately by their teachers. When walking through the hallways kids are seen laughing, smiling and helping others. The older children often help the younger children. The Core Knowlege curriculum is often used in a way that encourages thinking outside the box and the kids are encouraged to share their ideas. Excellent teachers, wonderful students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

In our two years there we found Franklin to work best for mainstream kids across a spectrum of capabilities. However, highly capable kids who think outside the box or were especially shy tended to struggle and many eventually left (as we did after first grade). Curriculum delivery is quite rigid and we found teachers unwilling to veer much from their preferred path even if that meant some kids needs would go unmet. We found the administration excessively bureaucratic and only willing to help if your child was found to have a specific disability or could be labeled as having ADHD, Aspergers, or some other affliction, whether real or not, that would make them eligible for special education services. So I m not trying to be excessively negative. Again, it works well for many kids. But if your kid is one who doesn t simply follow the crowd, it might not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

The Core Knowledge they have is awesome! I also like demanding and challenging teachers that care about their students learning and maturing in a fine environment. As parents, we can volunteer and be part of their education. ~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

This school is heavy on the homework, but i guess that's good (in certain ways (: ). Some of the teachers could try to lighten up and get more involved (not pointing fingers, just suggesting to try not to loose homework). Franklin tries to get a high parent envolvement for field trips and just helping with grading and organizing. Sixth grade goes to Outdoor School, Eighth grade goes to the beach at the end of the year and seventh grade goes to washington DC; these are really great opportunities for learning and having fun!! Overall Franklin is pretty cool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2009

I am a current 8th Grader at Franklin and have been at this school since Kindergarden and it is great. If you go to any other school rumors are spreading like crazy and new kids are not excepted at Franklin it is the complete opposite. When our school is called Freaklin we can handle it because we know we will be better off in high school than the kids calling our school that but for me having our school be called Freaklin by parents is really offensive. If you are glad you don't go to my school I am glad you don't go to this school either because I can assure you you will not fit in very well at all. Franklin is truly the best school in Corvallis and I am glad to be part of Franklin, Freaklin or whatever you want to call it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2009

Franklin is a great school! The curriculum gives all students a broad knowledge base and is sequenced from Kindergarten to 8th grade so the students receive a great education. The teachers are outstanding and are able to teach to a wide variety of ability levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

I just want to second the review from May 17, 2007. We are SO glad to be out of there. This review is based on cumulative perceptions gleaned from the experiences of my child and several relatives attending Franklin. First, evidence provided by its performance against many neighborhood schools suggests that Franklin's overly rigorous curriculum doesn't always translate to academic superiority. The environment itself is disturbingly institutional and oppressive to students, most of whom honestly don't seem very happy there. Nurturing, inspiring and assisting young learners didn't seem to factor into the philosophies of most Franklin teachers. The approach was intensely serious/rigid and the level of parental involvement was -I have to say it- largely overbearing; it felt like most everyone had an agenda. I caution parents to really consider their options before going the Franklin route. It seems like a lot of unnecessary stress for such a questionable outcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

The sequenced curriculum at this school makes it a unique environment. It is K-8 and that makes the school a great continuum for students following a sequenced curriculum. It is under 350 total school size for a K-8 and that is fabulous. The school has consistently had teams in Science Olympics and at Lego Robotics that have placed in regional and national levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Great school and great teachers! The building itself is old, but then again most school buildings in Corvallis look like trailers. My children loved it here, friends, homework and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

I think Franklin is a great school! Kids are much better and nicer that other places. Unless your asking for it your not going to get bullied. Kids are exceptionally funny and kind and learning is fun. Some of my friends who go to LPMS get no homework but I get an average of 2-3 hours a day. Franklin is a terrific school and I enjoy going there. Franklin allows me to sharpen my skills and get through high-school with flying colors. Sure we're called Freak-lin only because we study twice as much and actually use our brains. I wouldn't go anywhere but Franklin!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2008

I dont know what the person below me is talking about. This is a great school. The reason they probably wrote what they did is because they have a problem child who did not fit into franklin. So they should take thier rants and raves to craigslist. Thank you.


Posted January 19, 2008

the cirriculum is so great it is so much better than all the other schools and the teachers are the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2007

Uses Core Knowledge curriculum. Requires homework and grades at all levels. Excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female79%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female93%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female64%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female82%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female94%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students77%
Female78%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial71%
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female91%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial89%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation33%

Reading

All Students92%
Female>=95%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial89%
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female76%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female84%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female80%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 4%
Two or more races 10% 5%
Hispanic 9% 21%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

750 NW 18th St
Corvallis, OR 97330
Phone: (541) 757-5747

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Zion Lutheran School
Corvallis, OR




Good Samaritan School
Corvallis, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT