Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Franklin School 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
The school has a reputation for excellence in terms of a majority of committed teachers who have taught at the school for many many years, student test performance (hovers in the neighborhood of 90%tile of Oregon schools) and parent involvement. The principal, Aaron Hale, is entering is 4th year and is very well liked. This is a charter school with a lottery system. A friend of mine is a high school teacher and she told me that the Franklin kids are easy to pick out; organized and successful students, Franklin well prepares them for doing well in high school. More community involvement would be great, and adding effective language opportunities would be appreciated. The school has physical ed., and music twice a week and art once a week.

Franklin School 3

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of a 6th grader, I am shocked at the amount of homework he is assigned. Franklin's official policy is 60 min max for 6th grade, yet they are assigned average of 3 hours per night, including weekends. It is impossible to communicate with one particular teacher, who loses work, does not respond to email from parents, yet is a tough grader who has no problem assigning "Fs" even if it is his/her fault that they misplaced the work. Parents have to photocopy and take pictures in order to document that their child has turned in the work because he/she is flaky disciplinarian. We take meticulous records to be able to prove the work has been completed. On a positive note, curriculum is interesting and enriching. Most taff are kind, willing advocates for the kids. The principle is warm and kind. Could be a fantastic school if they could find a way to incorporate the core knowledge with appropriate amounts of homework. The homework policy is 60 min max for 6th grade and that rule is not respected, usually being 3 hours of homework on average. Several teachers willing to cut back on the assignments, but they are the teachers who are already assigning appropriate amounts.


Franklin School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
terrific with our grandchildren. They are confident learners. We have been in Franklin classrooms when we visit. Each time we are invited to support by reading or mentoring. Franklin teachers are educators with that extra pizzazz that cannot be measured on usual charts. You can see it as they work with our three grandchildren.

Franklin School 5

Posted May 10, 2012
- a parent
Absolutely love Franklin, it is a small school with big goals for the kids and a lot of parent participation. Our kids enrolled in 2nd and 6th in 2012, came from a private school (Zion Lutheran) Very impressed with Franklin staff, curriculum, and this school community as a whole! Fabulous leadership in Principal Hale and caring, thoughtful, challenging teachers. Lots of extras, like music and awesome art program. Also a great PE teacher, opportunities for sports and an active Young Life club.

Franklin School 5

Posted January 28, 2012
- a parent
We've had our child at Santiam and Adams before Franklin. Much of what one reads in the reviews here rings true. Franklin is a small school that relies heavily on a core knowledge curriculum. Kids feel safe here and our impression has been that the teachers are extremely dedicated to the well being of the students. They also seem very on top of what's happening in the classroom in terms of relational dynamics. We actually have two children in this school and I can't recommend it highly enough. You'll be lucky if your child gets in as it truly is better than some of the local private schools I'm familiar with in terms of academic expectations and parental involvement. And by the way, the parents are really wonderful here--little or no airs as this school seems to attract families who are really committed to education and no overly worried about social status...also love the diversity here for such small school The instructors are wonderful and extremely competent. I would consider several of them master teachers. The one downside of the school is the playground facility, which is somewhat meager and crowded.


Franklin School 5

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
We are new to this school and already love it. Everyone has been very welcoming. Behavior standards are high here. Kids are on an honor code that requires respect of fellow students and honest effort. For such a small school it has great diversity. We are very happy.

Franklin School 5

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
WOW! What a great school. So this is what it's supposed to be like. I have two children at Franklin, one in elementary and one in middle school. Private schools in this area can't come close to the education my children are now receiving at Franklin. These teachers are excellent and have the education and track record to back to it up. Franklin's outstanding rating speaks for itself!

Franklin School 5

Posted December 18, 2010
- a parent
We have been at Franklin school for many years and couldn't be happier. We have one child in special education and one who is talented and gifted. Both children are encouraged and challenged appropriately by their teachers. When walking through the hallways kids are seen laughing, smiling and helping others. The older children often help the younger children. The Core Knowlege curriculum is often used in a way that encourages thinking outside the box and the kids are encouraged to share their ideas. Excellent teachers, wonderful students!


Franklin School 3

Posted September 16, 2010
- a parent
In our two years there we found Franklin to work best for mainstream kids across a spectrum of capabilities. However, highly capable kids who think outside the box or were especially shy tended to struggle and many eventually left (as we did after first grade). Curriculum delivery is quite rigid and we found teachers unwilling to veer much from their preferred path even if that meant some kids needs would go unmet. We found the administration excessively bureaucratic and only willing to help if your child was found to have a specific disability or could be labeled as having ADHD, Aspergers, or some other affliction, whether real or not, that would make them eligible for special education services. So I m not trying to be excessively negative. Again, it works well for many kids. But if your kid is one who doesn t simply follow the crowd, it might not.

Franklin School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
The Core Knowledge they have is awesome! I also like demanding and challenging teachers that care about their students learning and maturing in a fine environment. As parents, we can volunteer and be part of their education. ~

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin School
750 NW 18th St, Corvallis, OR  97330
(541) 757-5747
Last modified Franklin School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Franklin School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top